Posted (edited)

This must be the only Scully thread where America De cali hasnt jumped on and questioned TS motives.....funny how ppl can talk it up n then disappear...even our own here in Demonland...

Edited by Footynut

• Replies 71

Posted

This must be the only Scully thread where America De cali hasnt jumped on and questioned TS motives.....funny how ppl can talk it up n then disappear...even our own here in Demonland...

He certainly has been conspicuous in his absence!!!!

Perhaps his head has re-entered the sand......

Posted

ADC is on a holiday brought upon by his obnoxious posting habits (chiefly flaming and provoking other posters) that went against Demonland's clearly outlined COC that the majority of posters on here find it easy to abide by.

Posted

Hmmm... clearly i didn't write that clearly enough. I'm not saying all answers are true. Im asking which one of the options do you think is true.

Why wouldn't GWS have approached Scully?

Possibly the most obvious answer - GWS have tried to approach Scully, but his management have rebuffed their advances at Scully's request because he wishes to concentrate on football in the season finishes.

Not rocket surgery.

Think a little.

Posted

ADC is on a holiday brought upon by his obnoxious posting habits (chiefly flaming and provoking other posters) that went against Demonland's clearly outlined COC that the majority of posters on here find it easy to abide by.

Thanks for the clarification...

Can't wait for the return.

On a different note, it was interesting reading the HS. In his video coverage last night, Mike Sheehan changed his opinion and believed Scully would stay. That is until it comes to printing his "opinion piece" this morning where he clearly didn't have the balls to back up that stance (as the print obviously has a much wider audience than his video post did). At least John Anderson remained true to his word...

Everyone is entitled to their opinion however Sheehan is clearly a stubborn man who refuses to admit or acknowledge when he gets it wrong. His article insinuates that Scully either blatantly lied or was blatantly deceptive in his press conference. FFS Mike. Give it up. I was going to suggest that it is clearly a case of MFCSS however i truly question whether he still has any allegiance to Melbourne whatsoever.

Posted

Mike Sheehan has miraculously changed his opinion. Scully Interview

Don't know what you are basing that on. There wasn't one piece of Sheahan's opinion in the article.

Posted

Possibly the most obvious answer - GWS have tried to approach Scully, but his management have rebuffed their advances at Scully's request because he wishes to concentrate on football in the season finishes.

Not rocket surgery.

Think a little.

I have thought about it. And while I have thought about your opinion I was asking the question to see what other people on this forum thought.

Thanks for your response and also for the little put down at the end.

Posted

Would have thought it was pretty obvious! It just makes no logical sense for them to pursue Scully or someone like him.

GWS have more than their fair share of young guns. Why on earth would they need to spend heaps on one more young gun who's just a year or two older? They're going to have enough trouble in the years ahead holding onto the young guns they've got - if they want to keep those guys, the last thing they'd want to do is to spend several hundred thou a year on someone at a similar stage in their career.

Any competent recruiter or list manager will be looking to spend big on more established "top-20" players in their low-to-mid 20s ready to step up into a leadership role. Such as ... oh, I don't know, guys who would fit the bill perfectly are Dane Swan, or Pendlebury, or Daisy Thomas maybe.

Frankly, we just don't have enough likely players in that bracket, the one exception being Col Sylvia. But I don't think he really fits the bill from the leadership angle. Perhaps if someone like Bate or Warnock struggles to get a game, that's the sort of player they might look for at a lower level, but our bunch of players in that age range just aren't what they'd be chasing.

There's really no mystery about it.

FWIW, I think Gold Coast did an excellent job of picking up exactly the sort of players they need to complement their young guns. GWS would do well to follow their example.

Yep. Think you might be right.

But they had a period at the end of last year to approach a player from every club. I don't think they would be doing there jobs if they hadn't at least approached anyone from our side.

Posted

I have thought about it. And while I have thought about your opinion I was asking the question to see what other people on this forum thought.

Thanks for your response and also for the little put down at the end.

Well you didn't think about it enough, because you missed the most obvious answer.

Unless you purposely left that out because you were trying to skew the situation to suit your own agenda...

Posted

Well you didn't think about it enough, because you missed the most obvious answer.

Unless you purposely left that out because you were trying to skew the situation to suit your own agenda...

How am I trying to Skew the situation? How would I skew it to my own agenda? why the hell would I have my own agenda?

This isnt an episode of days of our lives.

Posted

It's London to a brick that GWS approached Scully's management, who would have said "We'll wait and see how things are at year end with the new salary cap deal", and then didn't bother to tell Tom about the approach. Thus GWS aren't the fools we may think, but TS wasn't lying because he knew nothing about any approach to his management.

Posters may complain that this scenario puts player managers in a bad light, as devious, money grubbers with no principles whatsoever, but I can live with such complaints.

Posted

There is nothing new here as Scully said it as much himself. Merged with Scully's Interview thread.

Posted

http://www.triplem.com.au/melbourne/sport/afl/news/blog/melbournes-brad-green-hopes-tom-scully-wants-to-be-a-oneclub-player-and-reject-gws-giants/20110317-bpm9.html

I reckon Brad Green is clutching at straws here.

Personally I reckon Scully is gone as much as it kills me to say it :(

I reckon the straws you're clutching have less merit than the straws Brad is clutching.

And in that event - I will take this young man on face value.

Posted

I reckon the straws you're clutching have less merit than the straws Brad is clutching.

And in that event - I will take this young man on face value.

Very commendable.

Hopefully the young man is also.

He is Max Gawn.

Posted (edited)

McGuire can't let it lie, can he?

Edited by 3183 Dee
Posted

I'm not so convinced that GWs has made a formal offer to Scully, they can only afford a few top line players. What they need the most is big bodied midfielders to help protect the group of talented youngsters they'll pick up in the next two drafts. Scully does not fit that category. If I was GWS I would target Sylvia from Melbourne

Posted

Very commendable.

Hopefully the young man is also.

He is Max Gawn.

I'm glad you can be so glib...

And what an excellent play on words you have created...

I understand what you're doing - it helps when bad things happen if you predicted/expected the bad thing.

That way you can be pleasantly surprised no matter what doom follows...

Posted

Just read this on Twitter

Garry Lyon has just revealed on Triple M Footy that under the pump young gun Tom Scully is being mentored by Shane Crawford.

Good news considering Crawf was vocal that he thought Scully should stay. Crawf also received some big offers to switch clubs.