McLean to confront Demons

if/when there's trouble I expect to see Moloney's stumpy legs and enormous arms in pole position.

Moloney looks like a fridge... or is that just me?

I wouldn't be surprised if Sylvia tried to instigate a fight with McLean.

One because it's Sylvia's style, and also because rumours have it that those two didn't have the best relationship.

I'm so looking forward to this game. Going with my best friend who is a Carlton supporter, and we're going out afterwards, so I need bragging rights or it'll be a very long night.

Doesn't matter who he is on, he's not capable of staying with them.

Brock has a large tank to be able to run all day. He just gets found out in the 0-10 and 0-20 dashes and is a risk at losing opponents in the first 7 to 10 strides from a standing start.

Well, yeah, this is what I was trying to refer to.

If Brock is tagging one of ours it'll have to either be a plodder or he'll be chasing arse all day.

And I'm not sure who we have now that you'd classify a "plodder" that McLean could stay with in bursts.

Well, yeah, this is what I was trying to refer to.

If Brock is tagging one of ours it'll have to either be a plodder or he'll be chasing arse all day.

And I'm not sure who we have now that you'd classify a "plodder" that McLean could stay with in bursts.

Could match Jake Spencer for the first three metres, then hurt something trying to keep up.

Rhino....for a guy that likes to argue the point with everyone on everything (if people want to hypothesise over Gysberts playing on McLean....let em have some fun about that possibility, doesn't have to turn into a "i think like a coach and am correct" argument that you like to throw around...."shoddy self serving one up manship supporters".....please give it a rest mate and let some other comments through to the keeper..... )you are way off the mark here....Brock 'just' gets found out in dashes? Give me a break....he is seriously limited not only in pace, but foot skills because not only can he not break lines but he cannot penetrate with his kicking. Large tank? Debatable, as he does not run games out at all and those 7 to 10 strides become 10-15 pretty quickly.

Today's football has passed Brock McLean by......this was evident at Melbourne, is evident to the majority of Carlton supporters. Good luck to him if he couldn't see the wood from the trees at Melbourne. This weekend I might just give him a razz or two......many supporters will and whats wrong with those one eyed demon supporters venting their frustration at a bloke who walked out.....not everyone is aware or is impacted by donations etc etc, they care about what happens on the field, that Brock chose to up and go to another field to play will see some vitriol come his way and so it should.

He is no longer playing in the jumper I love and thumbed his nose at this club to achieve success. I don't appreciate that.

I will appreciate watching Gysberts as much as anyone and am certain we will come out winners. I will enjoy giving Brock a razz or two, I will enjoy it more if we can get a win against his 'now beloved team'.

I am going to boo him until my throat is sore and I'm coughing up blood.

Get over it. Don't forget Brock busted his gut for the Red and Blue. Just be smug that he openned the door for Jordie Boy. We are the long term winners. Just know on this Saturdie the Blues will be a bit slower than usual.

What was is past. We are now about the future and am sure a few D players will gently remind him about that :)

What was that? Did you say 'run' all day? Or did you mean to say 'waddle?'

McLean is a notable distance runner with very good aerobic stamina. His times with MFC on pre season runs were always good. At Carlton this year he was one of the leading runners on a distance time test beating home Chris Judd. The issue is his acceleration from a standing start to 20 to 30 metres. He might have one speed but he can maintain that all day and I think is an accumulator of possessions rather than the a contested ball winner.

Yeah I agree - but is 'slow' endurance enough in todays footy?

Don't underestimate Brock- he is a hell of a lot fitter this year than, say the past two/three years. I think he will play well against us at Casey.

Edited by jayceebee31

Don't underestimate Brock- he is a hel of a lot fitter this year than, say the past two/three years. I think he will play well against us.

He hasnt done much for carlton so far pretty much due to injury, wouldnt surprise m if he doesnt play. Didnt look to impressive against the eagles i think he's still carrying an injury.

Brock was interviewed last night on Fox 1 , 2 or 3 , and was incredibly positive about his time at Melbourne , commenting about the eternal fondness he'd feel for the club because it gave him his first chance .

He was extremely forthcoming also about his admiration for the new blood at Melbourne , citing Gysbert's impressive debut , McKenzie ,and the Scullgoves ,as reason for great excitement amongst Demon fans .

All in all Brock handled himself impressively and professionally .

I had previously thought of him as a [censored] , but now he's only a half [censored]

I can't wait for Saturday Afternoon. It's going to feel a bit like a final i reckon.

Bring it on!!!!

I still love Chook, but I love the Demons a hell of a lot more. Does anyone even think he'd still make it into our best 22? If not, then I would say he did us and him a favour by leaving.

I can't wait for Saturday Afternoon. It's going to feel a bit like a final i reckon.

Bring it on!!!!

Yes- a long way to travel to Casey,hey?

I wouldn't be surprised if Sylvia tried to instigate a fight with McLean.

One because it's Sylvia's style, and also because rumours have it that those two didn't have the best relationship.

Is this right? I was under the impression they were really good mates.