Posted

It's an implication. Only the listener can infer.

I offer my sincere condolences for my error, thought this was a footy forum, not an English course by correspondence

Posted

I offer my sincere condolences for my error, thought this was a footy forum, not an English course by correspondence

Don't take me too seriously! Just thought you might like to know for future reference. I certainly understand that this is a footy forum.

Posted

Myself and four mates arriving midnight Friday. Is there a pub within walking distance of TIO?

Posted

Don't take me too seriously! Just thought you might like to know for future reference. I certainly understand that this is a footy forum.

I wasn't taking it seriously, hence my out of context reply......I had a good laugh..first reply I typed was 'what are you implying'.......just annoyed me that somebody was possibly s*** stirring about a function on the board...... lot's of posters going to support the team in Darwin and don't want it spoilt.....

Posted

Yep - me and a couple of boyrs from up here in Brissy are flying up Friday morning! Cant wait! Then down to Melbourne in a few weeks for Queens Birthday! There's my 2 interstate trips this year!

This weekend will be great though!

Do we wear a Demonland badge for recognition or what? :lol:

Posted

sure you dont wanna come steamin. Just dig into that ashtray of yours. Its still not to late.

Posted

Couldn't resist. Booked my ticket this afternoon and off to Darwin TONIGHT!!! Actually about to go to the airport for my red eye special. 1st interstate game ever for me. I'll be trying to get to training at 19:30 Friday evening if I can. I'll be wearing a Demons guernsey (as I'm sure all the others will as well). Anyone going for post match bevvies? Maybe post a venue if you know a good one and some of us demonlanders can meet up.

Posted

Couldn't resist. Booked my ticket this afternoon and off to Darwin TONIGHT!!! Actually about to go to the airport for my red eye special. 1st interstate game ever for me. I'll be trying to get to training at 19:30 Friday evening if I can. I'll be wearing a Demons guernsey (as I'm sure all the others will as well). Anyone going for post match bevvies? Maybe post a venue if you know a good one and some of us demonlanders can meet up.

Not many pubs near the ground so your best bet will be getting back into the city and head down Mitchell Street there are lots of pubs down the street. Monsoons, Shenanigans and The Tap are a few good ones.

Posted

going up tomorrow arvo, cant wait, staying for the week, going to kakadu for a few days and on a fishing charter. will try get to the function on fri eve, what time is it at???

Posted

Just got here it was a big walk from melbourne to darwin.

I hope it will be worth it.

Red Bull didnt give you wings?

Posted

I'm at Monsoon's on Mitchell St. They do a good pizza...

We just had a bit of rain just before... Nothing too heavy, but pretty refreshing with the humidity!

It's been pretty random this week though and they dont' reckon it'll be gne until about Monday or Tuesday so it looks like it will make for pretty tough conditions come Saturday night...

I also rang AFL NT before and have been told that training is at 19:15-20:00 (pretty short session!) at TIO Stadium Friday night, so once again, if anyone's keen, I'll be there, drop me a line on D.L.

So pumped for the game, my mate works up here for a local radio station (Mad dees supporter) and is doing the MC ing for the game!

PS where is everyone sitting? I'm in 'Green 2' in the stand...

Posted

Does anyone know if TIO has a electronic scoreboard..ie: for replays??

lol...sorry im a local...that made me laugh.

Sadly we do not...

Though if you do have questions about Darwin ask away.

This rain is not normal for this time of the year. There is usually less humidity and the weather is perfect.

Posted

lol...sorry im a local...that made me laugh.

Sadly we do not...

Though if you do have questions about Darwin ask away.

This rain is not normal for this time of the year. There is usually less humidity and the weather is perfect.

so i've heard... (bout the weather that is) I went to Mindil Beach Sunset market tonight and it was cancelled from the rain! Sick sunset though...

Question...

Why is the bloody NRL footy show on up here instead of the better one?! It's a disgrace lol

Posted

can we expect fresh cold cans or airated mcg plastic cups? On the way to airport now. Go the deez

Posted

Great to see a few Melbourne lads making the trip up here to support. The last time the Deez came up was for a NAB cup game and to be a Darwin Dee and see a crowd full of Melbourne supporters was quite a spectacle. And just a quick heads up. The boys will be picking up their afternoon snacks from Nando's Chicken on Smith St in Darwin City at 4.30pm for anyone wanting to catch the lads. The weather up here was actually quite cool a few days ago but when Aussie was selected the rain came back. He is 'Da Rainmaker!!!'

Posted

There has been a bit of precipitation about, but it generally only lasts for a short period. Kakadu was sensational. Back in Darwin and pumped. For those who aren't aware, there are free buses to the ground from Cavenagh Street outside Woolworths. I found this out from the lady at the Darwin Entertainment Center where I picked up my tickets. You just line up with the other fans and get on the buses that will be running regularly up to gametime. Also, there were heaps of dees fans on my plane up here Thursday night. Looks like the ground will be a sea of red and blue. Shame Liam Jurrah isn't playing. The locals would LOVE to see him in the red and blue and would flock to the ground.

Posted

At training right now, so good. Arrived before the players so got to have a good chat to Scott west, brad Miller, green, and had a hoot chat with the man himself DB! He didn't seem to happy with the ground condition lol. Mathew Primus is hidden in the crowd spying on us too

Posted

Well that was a good bit of fun, albeit a very short training session,

Big emphasis on the slippery conditions tonight with the players practicing a lot of ground level kicks and drills.

The boys then headed straight to the freezer room next to ground for about ten minutes straight after and were nowhere to be seen after that...

As for the ground, a lot different to anything you'll see down south, rather a very spongy 'couch' turf up here (most pitches in melbourne are rye) but very slippery and wet from the rain we had earlier today... Looks like it'll be more or less the same for tomorrow night, should be a cracker.

had a good chat to Scotty West too and said the gloves helped him when he played the last few years so expect a few to be wearing them tomoro night.

Interesting to note that Spencer at the shops today when I spoke to him told me that he was an emergency... Possibly Nev Jetta will take his place , when I asked Dean Bailey tonight he was pretty coy and said that Spencer "is every chance to play".

He also said that Wona "has played two games in the VFL and we could have waited another week, but he needs to play some senior football"

lol straight from the horses mouth, hopefully Jetta gets the nod.