View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Tom Scully Rising Star

I reckon 1 of our boys will win it this year. NicNat only shows flashes of brilliance. Sculls n Trenners show brilliance consistently. Get on both of them , you can`t lose.

Sensational game Sculls

I agree it was a great game, but his shocking turnovers by foot really hurt at times. He really needs to work on that. Fortunately, he seems to be the type who puts a lot of work into his game, so we can hope that he will get better.

A kid in his 7th game has almost 40 possessions in the teaming rain and we are discussing the quality of his foot disposal. What a joke.

That's the first situation where I've seen a player get twice as many disposals than his age

Haha great hit.

Rising Star Nomination- lock it in. Won't be topped - pretty much impossible to beat you'd reckon.

I'm not that old but I'd have to say Scully is the best young player I've ever seen at MFC... scary to think he's only going to get better because he was almost unstoppable tonight. 18 in the last FFS!!!!

Scully... sheer brilliance in a night stuffed by umpires

Im already worried how Melbourne are going to have to cover their salary cap breaches to keep him in the Red and Blue. hahahahaha!

A kid in his 7th game has almost 40 possessions in the teaming rain and we are discussing the quality of his foot disposal. What a joke.

I'm waiting for some mid-week "drop Scully" brilliance B)

Perhaps, but I have simply stated the truth. His turnovers, particularly when he was running under no pressure, were very poor and cost us.

I will add that he also kicked a pinpoint pass into the 50 for a mark and goal that took my breath away. The kid is amazing, but I stand by my call. He needs to improve his consistency by foot to compliment his other abilities and then he will be a multiple brownlow winner.

Calling it.

without a doubt, I turned to my mate and said the exact same thing when the siren went.

Perhaps, but I have simply stated the truth. His turnovers, particularly when he was running under no pressure, were very poor and cost us.

I will add that he also kicked a pinpoint pass into the 50 for a mark and goal that took my breath away. The kid is amazing, but I stand by my call. He needs to improve his consistency by foot to compliment his other abilities and then he will be a multiple brownlow winner.

Read what you quoted.

Petty in the context of the performance on the night.

18 possessions in the 4th...

That's unbelievable. Jesus.

Not sure if Jesus had much to do with ...but maybe he did :)

Tom Scully proved why he deserved to be number 1 draft pick tonight...

only two things i'd like to see him improve on...kicking and bulking up...both will improve over time...

Outstanding game, enjoy the ride !

This kid will be an elite player of the competition, what a game from a kid who had played 7 games and who Sam Newman on the Footy Show made fun of his size.

If he plays 22 games not a soul will get close to him. Absolute freaking gun.

He's one of the most couragous players i've seen, but he's not stupid. He'll take a hit to the body to protect the head.

He's been clobbered every week and he just gets up and keeps going. and oh those hands are fast.

Loved everything about him tonight. My biggest highlight was win Brian Lake and him bumped each other, both went down Scully got up and Lake was in the hands of the trainers

i reckon Scully and Trengove must have been water births, they were sublime.

Cruel way to lose, but i drank all night and just looked at my glass, and it remains half full.

Its a grand old flag.

Now, if anyone needs me, i will be at AFL house waiting fro Geishan to arrive so i can.. well, you know what i mean.

Locked and loaded for the Rising Star this week.

Is 100x the player NikNat is. Maybe Sculls should grow dreadlocks....

If he plays 22 games not a soul will get close to him. Absolute freaking gun.

if he plays all 22 games and has a full preseason for next year he will win the brownlow...

You better not be joking.

7th afl game...18 touches in the last qtr...melb are on the up...all he needs to do is work on his kicking and bulk up...2011 brownlow...T Scully.

On TV, the camera panned across to Ron Barassi watching as Scully tore the game to pieces. It was a nice moment.

Absolutely incredible effort – never seen a first year player do anything like that. This kid has enormous heart, enormous tank, enormous courage, obviously loves a big stage, and is already an on-field leader of our football club after 7 games. It was extremely disappointing to lose tonight, but boy, you have to be excited about the midfield we are building. Congratulations Tom Scully!