Jordy Gysberts

mate gawns got a knee reco thats why he hasnt played and thats why he went at pick 34. dont worry gawn will be good for this club

I agree. The closest thing to Paul Salmon, well....since Paul Salmon.

The russian and PS, what an amazing combination, particularly with Scully and Trengove at their feet.

Now i know its not very wise to be judging someone who hasnt played a game yet but did we make the right decision to pick up gysberts before a bigger key position player like talia or black? sheedy wrote during the week how a club needs 12 or more midfielders but was it worth giving up a big body who can also play forward or down back? feedback on gysberts form for casey would be appreciated

Stupid%20thread.gif

At the Members information night - it was mentioned that with the game is currently moving toward this large pack, moving scrum.

Which then resulting in a quick breakout and move into open play.

It was said that Gysberts has the best hands that have ever gone through the AIS - even better than Scullys! And we all saw Sculls creative hands on the weekend...

So not only that Gysberts is quite tall, round the 188cm mark so when he fills out he will provide alot of size around the pack. Combined with McKenzie I think they will be winning alot of contested footy for us in the future.

If you have a look over Scully and Gysberts videos on YouTube, when they play for Vic Metro, Gysberts is often feeding it to Scully - releasing it into space.

Can people please just relax with all these kids and stop slating them and writing them off so early? its ridiculous...

Some of our recent guns have been late developers off the rookie list - Davey, McDonald, Bruce, Robbo etc.

Not everyone can have a breakout year in year one of football.

Can people please just relax with all these kids and stop slating them and writing them off so early? its ridiculous...

Amen !

I'm starting to think this Jack Viney kid isn't cut out for AFL football...

lets face the facts if Watts does not kick anything less that 6 goals in his first game this season he will be torn apart from all media and forums. Gysberts will be the same, I assume no less that 30 disposals his first game will be good enough.

As if.

I'm sure 4 and 25 respectively would be fine.

As if.

I'm sure 4 and 25 respectively would be fine.

it is hard to covey sarcasm on these forums.

BANG!!! I bet he wasn't expecting that Reply!!! (That Got me Laughing Big Time!) B)

Pretty good pick up WYL. I thought you were clutching at first but I am now a believer.

Why are you laughing?

I was serious.

Freo doesn't count. B)

Why are you laughing?

I was serious.

I wasn't laughing at you, i was laughing at the guy who you replied to.

I like the looks of Gys. The kid i'm unsure of is tapscott. Will give him time cause of that cannon of a foot.

This is just a stupid statement. During pre season - I thought he was going to become our best recruit.

Can people please stop posting dumb threads about rating draft picks after 4 games of the season, some of whom have not even yet donned boots at all for us!

Recruiters look at these kids with development in mind and try to see at least 3 - 4 years ahead.

It's not an exact science and there's more than an element of risk with all of them, but all you can do is have faith in the people that call out their names on draft day.

If Gysberts, Watts, Blease et al turn into good senior players, we pat them on the back and maybe give them a pay rise.

If they turn out to be duds 3 or 4 years from now we sack them and try again with new recruiting staff.

Simple as that.

Edited by Spirit of Barassi

To quote comic book guy from the simpsons, "Clearly you are unfamiliar with the word sarcasm". I think the original poster was having a laugh..

OK ... my bad

see signature

This is just a stupid statement.

That honour goes to the poster who had a sook about how ridiculous the MFC don't update James Frawley's height and weight everytime he eats a pound cake or how a practice match was the most critical to MFC's fortunes this year or a sook about how we won't win a game this year.

VFL Player Review

Casey Coach Brad Gotch gives his player review of the Scorpions’ win over Gold Coast, played in Queensland.

Jordan Gysberts -

I thought Jordan had probably his best game for Casey. He had about eight clearances, and they were really clean clearances. The reason we got him was for his cleanness and his quick hands, as well as his ability to read the play, so his midfield work was exceptional. Then he got 22 possessions as well around the ground. He worked really hard, and I think the week off might have helped him to freshen up and have a really big game.

Gysberts in for the West Coast game next Sunday. Please :)

He'll get his run soon enough don't worry about that, I have no doubt he'll play at least once this year, even if it's just to give him a taste.

It's notable also, that the Sydney Swans had him firmly in their sights.

I think you will also find ... Port where a big worry at 16. They had their sights firmly set on both our Eastern Rangers boys.

Think they hoped Essendon would let Melksham slide ... Demons would take Jake. Then they would have jumped at Gysberts.

Edited by hangon007

At the Members information night - it was mentioned that with the game is currently moving toward this large pack, moving scrum.

Which then resulting in a quick breakout and move into open play.

It was said that Gysberts has the best hands that have ever gone through the AIS - even better than Scullys! And we all saw Sculls creative hands on the weekend...

So not only that Gysberts is quite tall, round the 188cm mark so when he fills out he will provide alot of size around the pack. Combined with McKenzie I think they will be winning alot of contested footy for us in the future.

If you have a look over Scully and Gysberts videos on YouTube, when they play for Vic Metro, Gysberts is often feeding it to Scully - releasing it into space.

Some of our recent guns have been late developers off the rookie list - Davey, McDonald, Bruce, Robbo etc.

Not everyone can have a breakout year in year one of football.

Just what do you think your doing here, you'll spoil our fun talking common sense. Sheesh, party poopers.;)

I love having an ace up my sleeve. People know about the kids we have playing, they don't know about the Gyz and Blease who are yet to lace up the boots.

Adds to the buzz of having new kids to develop to take the club up a notch.

Need something to look forward to, can't have all your presents in one xmas!