Carroll Suspension

Posted

Just heard this on the channel nine news. Does anybody know anything about this?

Pushing his luck a bit IMO..

It would have been a tough decision to suspend one of their own but a good move by the leadership group.

I think Carroll got in trouble for alleged drunkedness and brawling at an inner city hotel in the last week or so.

Its not the first time that Carroll has had off field issues. Its another reason why I hope we develop better options down back.

I think Carroll got in trouble for alleged drunkedness and brawling at an inner city hotel in the last week or so.

Its not the first time that Carroll has had off field issues. Its another reason why I hope we develop better options down back.

Brock McLean helping make decisions about players involved in alcohol fuelled incidents . . . . interesteing.

disappointing, is 26/27 years old, should know better than to spend all pre-season boozing...

does give garland/frawley/mcnamara ect a go in the NAB cup though

interesting on a day we announce support for a campaign to stop boozing through the month of Feb

http://melbournefc.com.au/tabid/7415/News/...px?newsId=54755

some bloke on Demonology reckons he saw him at the Windsor Castle on the w/end blind drunk trying to pick fights with everyone (including this bloke who looked at him for just that second too long !)

You reckon with a new coach around the guys would want to do everything they can to impress him, not act like a [censored] and do something like this.

Brock McLean helping make decisions about players involved in alcohol fuelled incidents . . . . interesteing.

Big difference mate Brock's indiscretion(s) were during his holiday time. From all reports Carroll was making a spectacle of himself last weekend (not for the first time) during the preseason.

Nathan Carroll needs to seriously pull his head in.

There are too many unsightly stories floating around in regards to this guy and it does nothing for our club's reputation... or his.

Very glad the leadership group decided to suspend him. Hopefully it'll be a lesson to him and every other player at the club.

Big difference mate Brock's indiscretion(s) were during his holiday time. From all reports Carroll was making a spectacle of himself last weekend (not for the first time) during the preseason.

And it was also at a Lionel Ritchie concert. So there were mitigating circumstances. :P

Brock was on the leadership group that disciplined Pickett last year. I think it is good that he is there frankly.

Exactly, it means that he has to abide by the rules that he sets. It puts a lot more pressure on him to behave by the standards that he creates as a leader and as a consequence, if he steps out of these boundries his punishment should, and will be, more severe as a result.

"AFL Players Support Youth Drug Service Providers" - Could have thought of a better name

But Carrol's behavior is disgraceful and its good to see that he has been adressed quickly and set an example of

If that's your line of thinking then what do you think of David Neitz?

i think nathan carroll will be seriously looked at when his contrct expires...he is not having a good run...what he needs is some good form on a personal and a team level and try to get back into the swing of things as soon as possible...not to disagree with the club, but it is pretty soft to suspend players for the pre season cup because not many players take it too seriously

I disagree.

Someone like Carroll really needs the pre-season to prove himself again.

This way, he misses the first two matches in which Frawley and maybe even Garland take over his position. If they perform well, they're half way to taking his spot in Round 1.

He is far from safe in our backline, basically he is in our best 22 out of necessity moreso than ability. This combined with his off field behaviour means that Carroll has to really fight for his position in 2008. Missing the pre-season will seriously damage his standings going into the season.

personally l don't think theres anything wrong with having a firebrand in the team, suspend him and hopefully he channels his aggro to the field

Good move and shows the leadership group is serious and means business. Personally, I'd give him another two weeks for the haircut as well.

Hell be right

No he won't. He hasn't got the talent or youth like Steve Johnson to turn things around. For mine, this is a godsend.

Although many posters here disagree, he's an average fullback who was just filling in time until the likes of Frawley and Garland are physically capable at senior level.

I can now see Dutchy Holland being a permanent fixture in the side this year, whilst Carroll rots away at Sandy, and enjoying a beer with the boys on Can Hill!!!!

basically he is in our best 22 out of necessity moreso than ability.

Holland has carved out a respectable few years at MFC "out of necessity." He has about as much talent as Carroll, but you could argue he has a better attitude.

No he won't. He hasn't got the talent or youth like Steve Johnson to turn things around. For mine, this is a godsend.

I can now see Dutchy Holland being a permanent fixture in the side this year, whilst Carroll rots away at Sandy, and enjoying a beer with the boys on Can Hill!!!!

Yes he will. Godsend? You'll be screaming for his inclusion when the monsters in the other squads tear Frawley, Garland, PJ etc etc to pieces... If Carroll doesn't play you'll see 4 different players play the position of FB a game. many of them will get smashed to pieces physically, and if they don't, they'll have big bags kicked on them. You'll be begging for a 20-something lunk of a lad who has a bit of resilience.

It never ceases to amaze me, the rose couloured glasses that pop up in teh preseason. Are people seriously saying that Garland and Frawley will take Carroll's spot this year? Wow...

Garland has thus far done about as much as 426. He's had his first few matches where he was completely out of his depth. In the few minutes he had to play in defence he was lost. later in the season he was played forward. We don't even know for sure if DB wants to play him in defence. When I've seen him play at Sandy, he's ALWAYS played forward and has certainly shown he has the skill set to play there.

Frawley is a good solid ordinary footballer. I like watching him play, and think he'll carve out a nice career, but there'll be days when he cops it from supporters in the future. He's also one who is NOWHERE NEAR holding down FB full-time.

I love me some Dutchy, and he'll certainly play some footy this year, but how much longer does he have left? He's got to be nothing more than a pinch hitter at this stage.

People have got to be kidding if they thing we're going to have a group of KP backs that are 23, 19 and 19. Especially when the two 19 year olds have shown only that they'll be players many years into the future.

Carroll is the ONLY player besides Rivers who has put it together for a whole season in the past. He's also the only one in his footballing prime. He took well into his twenties before he was strong enough physically to match it with the Lloyds and Gehrigs of the league.

I'm all for developing the youngsters, but not if it means embarrassment for MFC. Carroll has to play. Maybe he's a peanut off the field, but he works hard on it.

Dappa, I'm amused with the notion that Frawley is a good solid ordinary footballer. Please explain how you judge his current expereince, output and Potential. also reference his height, build and legspeed.

HE HAS PLAYED, WHAT, 8 GAMES?!?

If he is good, solid and ordinary now, he may be full back of the century by the age of 26.

timD i think i agree with dappa dan somewhat in that from watching frawley, it looks to me like he make make a good solid full back, but not be a matthew scarlett or SOS style world beater. i could very well be wrong, but what ive noticed with frawley, is that while he doesnt do a whole heap wrong, he doesnt seem to do anything extra special. he gets his job done quietly, nothing more. maybe he will develop something special. i think he was a great pick because i believe that he will play lots of games for the club as a successful KP defender, but i just don't see him being something out of the box.

Throwing the kids down back could work. It depends on the supply through the midfield. If our midfield plays like 2007 the kids will be smashed. I would suggest anybody mentioning Garland are living a fantasy. Rivers in 2003 and Frawley in 2007 showed more in their brief forays into the AFL and VFL than he did. He needs to learn how to play, his footy background is pretty limited and it shows at times. Play some senior footy in 08 and build for 09.

Frawley isnt even a good ordinary player at present. He is very average, but he is extremely quick, has a body that has more development left in it, great hands in close and loves to take on his man and use his pace going forward. His only weakness is his awful kicking technique, otherwise all the tools are there for something pretty good. Its up to him and the coach to make it happen. My hope is for a Darren Glass type full back but with more running.

Carroll needs to leave. He is a flawed fullback. He has no touch with his foot skills, makes terrible decisions, gets turned inside out with ease and generally makes plenty of errors. Add to that his off field issues and we have a player who should be playing either state league or suburban footy.