Whos Playin out of position?

Posted

Which players are playing out of position do you think? Could we be wasting a talent because we havent tried him in other positions? What changes can we make for a better result next year?

Chops goes forward?

Whelan to rover? (hes got the toughness to win us the ball)

Newton bulks up and goes back????

Yze back in the guts?

whats your thoughts?

1.Green up forward.

2.Dunn in midfield for entire matches.

3.Yze to rotate off the bench.

4.Green up forward

5.Rivers forward and back ( the guys a gun)

6.Green up forward

7.Holland when in the play primarily forward.

8.Green up forward

davey must play forward & crumb shithouse on ball. Newton to play in backline big leap & punch & spoil as in carlton game could be key defender lacked since Ingo. Green to play only forward. Yze off the bench pinchhitter forward. JONES in the guts works his arse off. White CHF ineffectice ruckman.

If you have to use the abysmal expression "pinchhitter", then Yze should pinchhit at Sandy.

Wheels was tried as a midfielder years ago. The experiment was an abject failure. He is a terrific back pocket and should stay there.

Green was a great forward and should play there again. He would be good for 2-3 goals a game.

Dunn has great potential; could play anywhere, back forward and onball. Same with Bate, although I like him on the half forward line because he presents well.

Would like to see Rivers play up forward occasionally. I really liked it when he occasionally wandered up forward during matches + kicked the odd goal.

Whelan as a small defensive forward

Green to half forward flank

Bell to midfield (if we can find a replacement for him down back in the form of Bartram/Petterd).

Not sure Bell has the awareness for a midfield role, but you never know.

Green is pointless as a HBF, Wing at the least but I prefer FP - make him work for his touches.

Dunn should play anywhere and everywhere, as should any young player, don't develop when they are doing the same thing every week. Slight exception may be Newton at CHF, but the way he played that role (especially under Riley) was FF, FP, and time on the wing, so he got to play a variety of roles.

If Miller thinks concentrating on one position (I heard he would like this) will serve him better, he is kidding himself. He has to be versatile or it's hit and miss for one position.

1.Green up forward.

2.Dunn in midfield for entire matches.

3.Yze to rotate off the bench.

4.Green up forward

5.Rivers forward and back ( the guys a gun)

6.Green up forward

7.Holland when in the play primarily forward.

8.Green up forward

MINE

1: Dunn in midfield

2: Pettard off the bench to midfield like geelongs selwood

3: Newton only in attack (need to condition him here for when our older forwards retire)

4: Yze off the bench

5: Bate at CHF

6: Miller as a tall defender

7: Rivers as the loose man in defence or CHB

8: Green and Bruce through the midfield with good delivary to the forwards

9: Whelan in defense only

10: Holland only in defense or as a last resort forward

11: Carroll only in defense

bruce and green are half forwards and small times in the midfield.

white forward or back, cant ruck, paul johnson was a forward as a junoir, tac cup and at west coast why nd played him in th ruck i have no idea!

davey forward pocket or sandy same with yze!

Whelan as a small defensive forward

Green to half forward flank

Bell to midfield (if we can find a replacement for him down back in the form of Bartram/Petterd).

I agree with all of these, and I think Juice to the backline is a ridiculous idea, he will been an awesome forward for the MFC for years to come...

Rivers needs to be given more free reign - so someone else will have to step up soon to be a true CHB.

Carroll needs to either tie it down or be moved to a more flexible position than FB. He may be mentally playing out of position.

Whelan is a back pocket and is good at the position, but I'm not against the idea of trying him out as a trouble-maker up forward.

Davey should be instructed to make opponents so nervous when they are trying to get the ball back out of their defensive 50 that they need to have a little sit and cry at half time. Because that is priceless.

Green, Bate, Sylvia, Newton should become a rotating HF / Midfield that would make opposition coaches reconsider their career shoice. They can all be effective HFs and mids, but each in different ways. Match-up nightmare.

Dunn might end up as another in that HF rotation, but I see Dunn, Petterd and Bruce being a really useful utilty group.

Chris Johnson and Simon Buckley will make it on a wing if they make it.

Bartram is HBF and tagger, with the long-term prospect of being our replacement Junior.

Right now, I see Frawley and Wheatley as our tall but rebounding defenders, one stays to cover, one goes to do some damage. Frawley is also a longer-term prospect for Key Defender, we'll see.

Bell is a match-saving defender, and I think he likes it. Don't move him.

Paul Johnson is the most likely of our rucks to actually turn out to be a rucking/backup KPP. The next Ben Holland.

And that is my rant, all jammed into one post. Enjoy.

Chris Johnson- Wing

Dunn- Middle

Whelan- Back flank

Bate- Forward Flank

Rivo- Back Flank/CHB

Bell- Back pocket again please

Moloney- Middle

Sylvia- Middle (sometimes goes missing in the Forward line, and has a good enough body to go in and get the footy. Can go forward also, but could shine in the middle)

Brad Green- He is a forward. Should line-up with bate on the Forward flank.

Brad Miller- Needs to be made a permanent CHF. Bate and Green either Side of him.

Newton- Forward, but COULD go anywhere. Moving him back is a risk, he is SUCH a good kick at goal.

Neita- Full Forward. Newton and Flash Beside him.

Frawley- CHB/FB. Needs to be groomed for either CHB or FB. That is his destiny with the MFC. A key Defender! Hopefully CHB so Rivo can be freed up to float.

Bartram- Tagger

Carrol- Would be better as a back pocket, but due to lack of full back, he is our full back rotating with Buckets who will take the very odd gorilla.

Meeson- CHB prospect? If not, need the Nod in the ruck.

• Author

I like, i like

One thing that could be powerful next year.. is our CHF line.. or even our whole forward

Bate - Newton (?) - Green

Davey - Neitz - Robbo

and you cant even fit Miller and Yze in there

I like, i like

One thing that could be powerful next year.. is our CHF line.. or even our whole forward

Bate - Newton (?) - Green

Davey - Neitz - Robbo

and you cant even fit Miller and Yze in there

We just need to get it out of the stoppages now. That is why i like the sound of Masten for our no.4 pick.

Much depends on what style of game plan Bailey adopts, and the commitment of the players to do the 1 percenters, which was lacking this season.

If the players aren't prepared to put their head over the ball and commit to tackling and chasing, how the team lines up is an irrelevancy.

Having said that, we need to be more creative on the forward line, rather than relying on players who get their goals by taking marks on the lead. We can't have 2 stay at home forwards like Neitz and Robbo, plus Newton. The other forwards spend all their energy chasing the opposition backmen, rather than being creative. This will shock a few, but i'd only play Robbo against weaker backlines, such as Carlton, Richmond, Bulldogs, and possibly Collingwood. My preferred forward line is:

HF - Dunn/Bruce rotating on the ball and bench

CHF - Newton leading forward who stays within forward 60

HF - Bate leading forward who can also push back

FP - Davey crumbing forward who stays within 70

FF - Neitz leading forward who can crash and bash

FP - Green/Sylvia both can mark on the lead and rotate thru the middle and bench

1. Davey forward all game - There is no point playing him up the ground, he's our only natural crumber (Yze can crumb as well but whose to say he'll even be in Bailey's best 22)

2. Dunn midfield and occasionally up forward - Very smart, tall, mobile and has good skills. I actually think Dunny could be a fantastic onballer (He's better than just a tagger)

3. Make Green a forward and Sylvia a midfielder - Green isn't a natural midfielder IMO, he's alright sweeping off half-back but is a very good lead, mark and kick up forward, and Sylvia has the size, speed and skills to dominate in the middle

4. Play Newton at CHF and Bate on the HFF - Bate is too small for CHF, Newton has the mobility to play either FF/CHF but I reckon he could be a great CHF, and he could still move to FF when Neita retires. Bate would be very dangerous as that other option we have up forward

• Author
Much depends on what style of game plan Bailey adopts, and the commitment of the players to do the 1 percenters, which was lacking this season.

If the players aren't prepared to put their head over the ball and commit to tackling and chasing, how the team lines up is an irrelevancy.

Having said that, we need to be more creative on the forward line, rather than relying on players who get their goals by taking marks on the lead. We can't have 2 stay at home forwards like Neitz and Robbo, plus Newton. The other forwards spend all their energy chasing the opposition backmen, rather than being creative. This will shock a few, but i'd only play Robbo against weaker backlines, such as Carlton, Richmond, Bulldogs, and possibly Collingwood. My preferred forward line is:

HF - Dunn/Bruce rotating on the ball and bench

CHF - Newton leading forward who stays within forward 60

HF - Bate leading forward who can also push back

FP - Davey crumbing forward who stays within 70

FF - Neitz leading forward who can crash and bash

FP - Green/Sylvia both can mark on the lead and rotate thru the middle and bench

Your kidding me right... we are one of the best creative teams in our forward line... we dont have any really strong mark and goal forwards.. Neitz tends to drop them and we rely on davey, yze and robbo to make something out of nothing. Robbo is a superstar, you need to give him ALOT more credit then that mate

Any debate is futile..........

• Author

Hahaha.. whatever mate.. he is a strong lead, good kick and adds that sense of unpredictablity to our forward line.. whats why he is soo hard to match up on

If Judd nominated us as his preferred club, Robbo would also have been put up for trade. Hopefully, our new coach doesn't share your rose coloured glasses, and tells Robbo a few home truths.

• Author

Next year is my proof...... IMO there would have been a huge gap left in our forward line without robbo... He can turn games

Newton- Forward, but COULD go anywhere. Moving him back is a risk, he is SUCH a good kick at goal.

I actually reckon he's pretty inconsistent in this department, and needs to address his kicking over summer.

He stikes me as a 2 goal 3 full foward rather than a 4 goal 1 full foward.

I actually reckon he's pretty inconsistent in this department, and needs to address his kicking over summer.

He stikes me as a 2 goal 3 full foward rather than a 4 goal 1 full foward.

Yeah I agree with that at this stage. He's still young and I'd probably take an inaccurate season of 2.3s and 3.4s if it benefits his development in other areas, though. He has a good action, and I don't think I've ever seen him spray one horribly. Even from tight angles, he always seems to score with set shots, so his radar isn't too far out.

1. Davey forward all game - There is no point playing him up the ground, he's our only natural crumber (Yze can crumb as well but whose to say he'll even be in Bailey's best 22)

2. Dunn midfield and occasionally up forward - Very smart, tall, mobile and has good skills. I actually think Dunny could be a fantastic onballer (He's better than just a tagger)

3. Make Green a forward and Sylvia a midfielder - Green isn't a natural midfielder IMO, he's alright sweeping off half-back but is a very good lead, mark and kick up forward, and Sylvia has the size, speed and skills to dominate in the middle

4. Play Newton at CHF and Bate on the HFF - Bate is too small for CHF, Newton has the mobility to play either FF/CHF but I reckon he could be a great CHF, and he could still move to FF when Neita retires. Bate would be very dangerous as that other option we have up forward

i liked every single thing you said