View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Judd's Worth

G'day Fellow Demons Supporters,

Imagine barracking for the Demons as a kid.

You dreamed of winning the Premiership with the Demons and captaining the side.

You are also very close to your family.

But when you turn 17/18 you get drafted by another club on the other side of Australia (The West Coast Eagles).

You become a superstar player. You win best and fairests for the club, a brownlow, a premiership and make lots of money. You also have a beautiful girlfriend! ;)

But deep down...you still remember your time as a kid barracking for the Demons. You remember your dreams of winning a Premiership with the Demons.

Then your contract finishes and you have a chance to go back to Victoria.

You get the chance to be close to your family again.

There is also the chance to play for the team you barracked for as a kid (The Demons!).

But you also have lots of other clubs offering you heaps and heaps of money to play for them.

What would you take? The money or the chance to fulfill the dreams you have as a kid?

If I already had everything....I know what choice I would make. (The Demons).

Lets hope Chris Judd wants to make his childhood dreams of being a Premiership player for the Demons a REALITY.

1964 was a long time ago.......... :(

Chris Judd could create history and be remembered as one of the GREATEST PLAYERS EVER if he helps the Demons break the Premiership drought.

Let's hope Chris believes in making dreams come true. :)

TO CHRIS,

PLEASE COME AND PLAY FOR THE TEAM YOU BARRACKED FOR AS A KID, THE MIGHTY DEMONS!

Juddy went to my school at Caulfield Grammar, he was a couple years ahead of me. A great bloke he was, he would always say g'day to ya in the change rooms, very modest, and he's got a brain too. 96 for his VCE score. On top of that a great leader. Captained the CGS side in 2001 and our season had high hopes. However our only loss costed us our premiership hopes, beaten by 1 point to Xavier, and guess who was missing in our team? C.Judd. Shoulder injury restrained him the top pick in draft. Caulfield Grammar coach Barry Rowlings (played for Richmond) insisted Hawthorn to grab Judd as he was "the one they wanted". Rowlings has good connections with Hawthorn. But Juddy picked no.3 to WCE in 2001 draft.

Though for him coming to play for the dees would be something special. He's nominated Melbourne as his preferred club so hopefully something can work out. Garry Lyon's got a half mongrel thinking about it.

He's nominated Melbourne as his preferred club so hopefully something can work out. Garry Lyon's got a half mongrel thinking about it.

lyon wouldn't be the only one.... :D

Has he nominated us as his preferred club???????????

How do you know?

Man this post has me excited but excuse me if I take it with a grain of salt

The MFC has to do everything in its power to get Judd. We need to get Ian Johnson to get His girlfriend a Job at channel 7( Eddie will offer this at Collingwood), we need Garry Lyon and Ronald Dale to take him to the best restuarant in Melbourne and sell the club. John So to give him the key to the city, Joe Gutnick to offer shares in one of his mining companies. It is going to take more than the standard contract to get him to Melbourne.

In regards to what we give up it will be pick 4 and Robbo, WCE want another goal kicking forward, they have Lynch and Hanson they need another player that can kick 50+ goals. Carlton sit in the box seat they will offer pick 3 and maybe Fev, but the Eagles will want pick 1 and 3 with Josh Kennedy. The MFC has to pull at Judds heartstrings hopefully his family support the Dees also and we sell that he can return the club to where it belongs at the top. Hopefully Bailey can pul another awesome presentation out and convince Judd to come to us.

Who cares about finals bring on Judd week.

Right but ... the trade period starts on Monday 8 October and ends at 2pm on Friday 12 October.

Judd has some sort of a groin injury. I've read many contradictory reports that suggest that it hasn't even been satisfactorily diagnosed yet (and I'm leaving aside his ankle problem which hopefully will go away in time). According to the newspaper reports (WORSFOLD: WE'LL LET JUDD GO)

"And the injured star is investigating overseas medical procedures for career-saving surgery to repair his ravaged groin."

What guarantee is there that he will have that overseas "career-saving" surgery and then be able to get a medical clearance for that "ravaged groin" within four weeks for it to be considered by the clubs that will be involved in the coming trading frenzy over him?

Absent that medical clearance, who would underwrite the massive cost of getting him to the club and what would it do to our plans of list improvement by targetting our areas of weakness if instead, we put all of our eggs in one basket and finished up with a Stephen Powell of 2001 or a Brent Moloney of 2006/7?

Whispering Jack - this is clearly the best contribution in the thread. But why did you bother penning it? There is no point adopting a common sense approach when everyone's imaginations are running wild.

Yes, I would love Judd to become a Demon, but I wouldn't want the Eagles to extract our life-blood in return.

Recruiting stars, Tilbrook-style, is no substitute for far-sighted list-management and guys like Craig Cameron who know their stuff.

We would have to gamble with our next decade, if not our very existence as a club, to secure this one player. The Last Chance Saloon indeed.

Remember Tilbrook. Those who forget the past are condemned to repeat it.

Biffinator.

We would have to gamble with our next decade, if not our very existence as a club, to secure this one player. The Last Chance Saloon indeed.

Biffinator.

The element to all this that i will be very interested in is how MFC go about it.

With the appointment of a coach we took a very deliberate and ordered manner together with due dilligence. The benefit to the club was viewed in an ovrall holistic manner. Despite a high profile coach available for all but the asking ( an d I wanted Sheeds..but am happy with Bailey ) the club pondered and went about the decision in a controlled manner.

I wonder if the same sanity etc will prevail with Judd. Whterh all facets of this will be looked into and a decision made on the overall benefits versus drawbacks ( or uncertainties) ??

Happy for him to come.. but not at any cost...or just blindly.

Imagine barracking for the Demons as a kid.

You dreamed of winning the Premiership with the Demons and captaining the side.

But deep down...you still remember your time as a kid barracking for the Demons. You remember your dreams of winning a Premiership with the Demons.

What would you take? The money or the chance to fulfill the dreams you have as a kid?

If I already had everything....I know what choice I would make. (The Demons).

Lets hope Chris Judd wants to make his childhood dreams of being a Premiership player for the Demons a REALITY.

1964 was a long time ago.......... :(

Chris Judd could create history and be remembered as one of the GREATEST PLAYERS EVER if he helps the Demons break the Premiership drought.

Let's hope Chris believes in making dreams come true. :)

TO CHRIS,

PLEASE COME AND PLAY FOR THE TEAM YOU BARRACKED FOR AS A KID, THE MIGHTY DEMONS!

Ah, yes, the sweet fulfillment of a secret longing.

Let's hope he remembers

While a fully fit Judd at Melbourne for the right price would be exciting I personally cant seeing happening (pick 4 or nothing), why don't we think out of the box?

why don't we try to take advantage of those teams that are scrambling to get Judd through their door? My mind drifts back to the Geelong Ottens deal and getting Moloney to the club.....

Why wouldn't our focus during trade week be trying to improve our position come draft day? Why would it be trying to sure up a list that after the recent delisting is now very young?

Anyone agree with this statement??

By "giving" Carlton pick one and three we may have cost ourselves any chance of trading for Judd. Coupled with that the fact the we have lost a top 20 draft pick and gone from pick 2 to 4 has made our trade position very difficult.

I tend to believe that playing Robertson, Johnstone etc (all players under injury clouds) in round 22 will come back to hurt us.

I did not think it was wise to play anything close to our best available team in round 22 to allow for a loss. Now I am sure.

Why wouldn't our focus during trade week be trying to improve our position come draft day? Why would it be trying to sure up a list that after the recent delisting is now very young?

Because if the best player in the AFL says he wants to play for your club, you make it happen!

FFS, this is CHRIS JUDD.... say it with me... CHRIS JUDD.

He is the arguably the best player the AFL has ever seen, and if he wants to play in red and blue, we are damn well going to please that man and get him wearing the Melbourne jumper.

We are crying out for star players, for players who can bring interest back to this club, a player who can help us win a premiership... remember those?

You do not let Chris Judd slip away before you exhaust every avenue to bring him to your club. He will make every player around him better, and he will put us back on the map. Suddenly people will turn up to our games to see Judd in the flash. Remember, he's been playing away his entire career.

If we are even a remote chance to get him, he has to be our soul focus this trade week and we have to go hard.

I am sick of Melbourne always being the nice guys, and always missing out. We've lost a star player to his home state before (Thompson), time we got one back.

It's history now........if we want him badly enough, we can still get him.

If he doesn't want to play for Carlton, it won't make any difference.

The draft picks don't guarentee them anything.

I'm sure Judd will be thinking to himself- "I really want to play for a club that tanked half the season to get the number 1 pick"!

The man wants to play finals, not 'tank-a-match'.

:rolleyes:

I know this may cause a stir but.......

Judd won't come to Melbourne. Therefore im right on the get DANIEL WELLS plan.

He is what I want, he is a superstar waititng to get out of a blue collar team and shine brighter than all the AFL stars.

Wells to Melbourne in 08!!!

My trade:

robertson to western bulldogs

farren ray and pick 4 to WCE

Judd to Melbourne

dreaming, the talk is he is definitely going to the boo boys

I know this may cause a stir but.......

he is a superstar waititng to get out of a blue collar team and shine brighter than all the AFL stars.

I guarantee it wont.... ;)

Why would Wells leave a well performed blue collar team to join an underperforming blue collar team that has had no flag success in 43 years and has not produce a star since Flower retired 20 years ago? <_<

Because if the best player in the AFL says he wants to play for your club, you make it happen!

FFS, this is CHRIS JUDD.... say it with me... CHRIS JUDD.

He is the arguably the best player the AFL has ever seen, and if he wants to play in red and blue, we are damn well going to please that man and get him wearing the Melbourne jumper.

We are crying out for star players, for players who can bring interest back to this club, a player who can help us win a premiership... remember those?

You do not let Chris Judd slip away before you exhaust every avenue to bring him to your club. He will make every player around him better, and he will put us back on the map. Suddenly people will turn up to our games to see Judd in the flash. Remember, he's been playing away his entire career.

If we are even a remote chance to get him, he has to be our soul focus this trade week and we have to go hard.

I am sick of Melbourne always being the nice guys, and always missing out. We've lost a star player to his home state before (Thompson), time we got one back.

Chris Connolly and Dean Bailey are different to the wet fish in ND, they will go all out to try and get Judd, I reckon the boos will have to give the number 1 draft pick because they will be forced too

WCE will want Carlton to put its best deal onto the table and since they've got pick one, WCE will want that.

Swan says they won't give it up. Stalemate coming for the blues.

dreaming, the talk is he is definitely going to the boo boys

Is this media talk, because they don't know squat... is it supporter talk, because they know less. Judd hasn't indicated where he's going. The deal isn't done he's weighing up the options.

I guarantee it wont.... ;)

Why would Wells leave a well performed blue collar team to join an underperforming blue collar team that has had no flag success in 43 years and has not produce a star since Flower retired 20 years ago? <_<

I know it probably won't.

Said I want him to come to the Demons.

I think he would leave if given the oppurtunity.

Last year when people thought we were trying to get him he was asked and said it would be good to play alongside Aaron. They are cousins after all.

Im just saying I would rather Melbourne go after him, because he is more realistic, than Judd.

So Melbourne getting Wells is more 'realistic' than Melbourne getting Judd ? Hmmm

I'll let CAC know.

So Melbourne getting Wells is more 'realistic' than Melbourne getting Judd ? Hmmm

I'll let CAC know.

There is a better chance that we could get Wells than Judd.

We cannot afford JUDD!!!

If we do not get him during the trade week. As long as he doesn't go to the blues then I will be alot happier :lol: