View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

59 minutes ago, sue said:

Simple. They have a bigger membership than us.

That covers it perfectly!

19 hours ago, The heart beats true said:

How are you feeling about Curnow going, and what seems to be the feeling amongst the fan base?

I am fine with Curnow leaving as we got a good trade in return (and I would say a majority of other supporters are too), this would have been unthinkable 12 months ago but Charlie been quite poor in his mindset, attitude the whole of this last season. He responded poorly to some justified criticism of him inside the club. A supremely talented footballer but also an immature manchild at times.

I think our forward set up was way to Curnow centric, when he was out towards the end of the season we became more unpredictable up front and gosls came ftom a greater spread of players.

Will be interesting to see how it all looks like next season 🤔

Harry McKay to win the Coleman medal 💪😁

2 hours ago, Lucifers Hero said:

I reckon we will bounce back to contention faster than most people think ❤️💙

I agree mate. Shall we activate the GF guarantee for 2027? I think so.

2 hours ago, KozzyCan said:

Would call it a B. Cashed in on Petracca, picked up a couple of cheap AFL ready players and made the best of a bad situation with Oliver, although it's impossible to look at that positively given we had the chance to move him on last year on much more favourable terms.

Sure, a late first round pick is more favourable than a F3, but to my understanding the salary absorbed by Geelong would be no more or less than what GWS have taken on...

38 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

I agree mate. Shall we activate the GF guarantee for 2027? I think so.

My GFG is active every year.

But I sure won't be booking GF weekend city hotels!

Having reflected, I actually think we’ll be better next year. I feel like we kept banging our heads against a brick wall with the same mix of players and expecting us to magically get good again.

Next year, we’ll have some new players and players in different positions which, who knows, might lets us jump a bit.

Rivers in the midfield for a full season might av 27 and kick a goal a game, Windsor an Kozzy playing 50% mid time each might add a different sort of transition with pace, and culley, Lindsay, Langdon on the wings provides us with some style to transition. I’m optimistic but I think the main thing we’re going to see is different.

Different game plan, different players, different roles - it’s a refresh I really needed as a dees fan.

Today's Age (McGowan, Ryan, McClure) has us at 'third best', at B+, behind GC and GWS, both at A, and ahead of two other B+ (Blues, Saints):

20251017_131501.jpg

3 hours ago, Lucifers Hero said:

I give us an A:

• Steele replaces Oliver, bringing leadership and able to play a more flexible role

• Mihocek for Spargo - a different type of fwd but brings balance and experience i50 we were lacking

• Jiath for McVee - a different type of defender and we have others to fill the gap

• Heath - much needed back up for Max.

• Three first round picks for Petracca plus free up sal cap

I see much better connection to i50 especially with a revised game plan and better fwd structures.

We covered our departures with equal or better suited players, except for Petracca. Hopeully, Langford can start to fill his shoes! If he does our list is much better than it was last week.

And we add 4 1st round draftees over 2025/2026.

Good post!

Spargo was ineffective this year, so Mihocek could be a big plus.

McVee had a bog ordinary year, Jiath should be able to cover McVee 2025!

Agree Petracca missing piece, someone needs to step up significantly!

Agree on Steele and Heath!

While sad to see Clarry and Trac go, both have a significant amount of improvement to get back to their best! As hard as it is, feels the club have made the right decision! Can only thank both players for 2021 and wish them good luck except when they play our Demons!

Fingers crossed King can get the dynamics working between defence and offence, more goals per game would be great! A bit of JT magic in the draft won’t hurt either!!

Edited by D4Life
Extra comment

6 hours ago, Demonsone said:

It’s a joke that a premiership team can get simply too up with free agents to remain strong! No to mention their academies they have in qld & nsw.

We needed a player from the Suns, they know it’s a week draft so it will only be a win for us if pick 7&8 work out the rest of who we traded are good additions

The media wont agree, all boys club, they're all interested in cash not accountability

Top 10 clubs who improved in trade period:

Brisbane, Gold Coast - a lot, with Academy players to come: A

Sydney - a decent amount: B

GWS, Fremantle - marginal: C

Top 10 clubs who didn't improve at all in trade period:

Adelaide, Hawthorn, Geelong, Bulldogs - no improvement and each has a clear problem list problem, but did at least retain a latish first round pick - E

Collingwood- no improvement and no first round pick - F

11 hours ago, Lucifers Hero said:

I give us an A:

• Steele replaces Oliver, bringing leadership and able to play a more flexible role

• Mihocek for Spargo - a different type of fwd but brings balance and experience i50 we were lacking

• Jiath for McVee - a different type of defender and we have others to fill the gap

• Heath - much needed back up for Max.

• Three first round picks for Petracca plus free up sal cap

I see much better connection to i50 especially with a revised game plan and better fwd structures.

We covered our departures with equal or better suited players, except for Petracca. Hopeully, Langford can start to fill his shoes! If he does our list is much better than it was last week.

And we add 4 1st round draftees over 2025/2026.

To add to this; somehow Jack Steele is being paid by St Kilda with them covering a portion of his salary so we nabbed him for peanuts as a ex-skipper. Big win.

It looks like we will be in a better position next year than last, although not really pleased about the path.

Steele and CJ and picks seven and eight should be good. Unsure about the rest.

I never get tired of posting ESPN's Knightmare's 2019 Report Card:

Collingwood

Improved their draft hand slightly in the latter half of the draft to increase their involvement without losing a lot. Jay Rantall represents strong value as a basketball convert with elite endurance who does his best work inside winning the contested ball, distributing by hand and moving through traffic. Oakleigh premiership captain Trent Bianco is a second selection who represents strong value as one of the best kicks in the draft and the most advanced outside player in the pool. Trey Ruscoe at 192cm with his versatility to play defence, midfield or forward, is a third solid selection with his skills, mobility, ball winning capabilities and the way he reads the ball in flight and takes marks. Though the question of whether Collingwood should have retained pick 51 to draft key forward Jake Riccardi rather than trade it to GWS who used the pick to draft the VFL's Fothergill-Round-Mitchell Medal is a question that will be asked given Collingwood's lacking key position stocks.

Grade: A

Most footy followers would never have heard of their selections in 2025.

Here's his view on Melbourne's draft haul.

Melbourne

Traded wisely and secured value in their trade with Fremantle. The move back allowed Melbourne to add pick 28 and a future fourth round pick without a meaningful move back down the order from pick 8 to 10. While Melbourne's trade looks on paper like value was acquired, their first two picks of ruckman Luke Jackson and small forward pressure specialist Kysaiah Pickett are arguably reaches. Jackson, a sub 200cm ruckman is athletic, plays with aggression and follows up well but was arguably not the best available player. Similarly, Pickett while the forward pressure he applies is of a best in draft standard and he has speed and is damaging with ball in hand, his low scoreboard impact and product makes him a difficult sell so early on. Trent Rivers, who Melbourne secured thanks to their trade with Fremantle represents strong value at what after bidding became pick 32. Rivers is a classy ball user off half-back who moves well and can push through the midfield as a ball winner.

Grade: C

Edited by Gator

2 minutes ago, Gator said:

Collingwood

Improved their draft hand slightly in the latter half of the draft to increase their involvement without losing a lot. Jay Rantall represents strong value as a basketball convert with elite endurance who does his best work inside winning the contested ball, distributing by hand and moving through traffic. Oakleigh premiership captain Trent Bianco is a second selection who represents strong value as one of the best kicks in the draft and the most advanced outside player in the pool. Trey Ruscoe at 192cm with his versatility to play defence, midfield or forward, is a third solid selection with his skills, mobility, ball winning capabilities and the way he reads the ball in flight and takes marks. Though the question of whether Collingwood should have retained pick 51 to draft key forward Jake Riccardi rather than trade it to GWS who used the pick to draft the VFL's Fothergill-Round-Mitchell Medal is a question that will be asked given Collingwood's lacking key position stocks.

Melbourne

Traded wisely and secured value in their trade with Fremantle. The move back allowed Melbourne to add pick 28 and a future fourth round pick without a meaningful move back down the order from pick 8 to 10. While Melbourne's trade looks on paper like value was acquired, their first two picks of ruckman Luke Jackson and small forward pressure specialist Kysaiah Pickett are arguably reaches. Jackson, a sub 200cm ruckman is athletic, plays with aggression and follows up well but was arguably not the best available player. Similarly, Pickett while the forward pressure he applies is of a best in draft standard and he has speed and is damaging with ball in hand, his low scoreboard impact and product makes him a difficult sell so early on. Trent Rivers, who Melbourne secured thanks to their trade with Fremantle represents strong value at what after bidding became pick 32. Rivers is a classy ball user off half-back who moves well and can push through the midfield as a ball winner.

After his raging success in the talent ID world he moved on to providing financial tips and advice on his YouTube channel

Melbourne did well,really well.got rid of 3 guys that brought the club down this year in Trac,Oliver and Goody.,McVee leaving but looks like there's coverage.Steele and Mihocek will be very good for the kids

5 hours ago, Gator said:

Collingwood

Melbourne

None of the 'Like' emojis would do this justice, Gator.

We need this: 💎