View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (โ‹ฎ) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

ย 

We need to pick Campbell and play a second ruck, allowing Gawn to play more behind the ball, to give the backs help with their talls.

13 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Who knows with selection ? Itโ€™s a lottery

Their forward weapons

Darcy. Prefer Petty to play back on him but Goody will keep him forward, so itโ€™s probably Tmcd

Naughton. Probably Turner

West. McVee.

Midfield. Bont. Libba. Richards. Kennedy. Sanders. Williams

Versus

Oliver Trac jv7 Kozzzzy Langdon Langford Windsor

Big matchup in midfield

Defence. Runners. Dale. JJ. Freijah

Need to stop Dale we let too many HBF run and run and kick and run etc etc

Chandler Sparrow Fritsch need to tighten up on their rebound

Defence. Talls. Lobb Busslinger Oโ€™Donnell Cleary

Can JVR and Petty and Melksham have any influence ?

Miscellaneous. Bramble McNeil Poulter. Vdm. Dogs weakness or strength is also their 20-23. Dees can identify this also.

Yehโ€ฆ donโ€™t like Chandler, doesnโ€™t position correctly , wouldnโ€™t be worried about him at all as an opposition player

Sorry to be horrible, but that Eagles game was always going to mean less than nothing. They were abysmal and totally incapable of bringing the game to us. I suspect Goodwin won't change much because he knows he needs a scalp to present to the board at the end of the season as evidence we're going okay.

With that in mind, I suspect it'll just be Lindsay for Sharp and Culley to sub.

What I'd do, given I support Melbourne and not the ambition of a group of coaches to keep their jobs by running older blokes into the ground, is as follows:

McVee - Petty - Turner

Lindsay - McDonald - Bowey

Langford - Viney - Langdon

Petracca - Jefferson - Chandler

Melksham - JVR - Culley

Gawn - Windsor - Rivers

Campbell - Oliver - Salem - Howes

Sub - Mentha

Out: Melksham (managed), Sparrow (omitted), Sharp (omitted)

In: Jefferson, Campbell, Mentha

9 hours ago, Trident22 said:

We need to pick Campbell and play a second ruck, allowing Gawn to play more behind the ball, to give the backs help with their talls.

It's not a bad idea...was thinking similar.

1 hour ago, Pirlo said:

Mentha

He's nowhere near ready, only just starting to find his feet at VFL level.

10 hours ago, old dee said:

Sadly BB I think the only left to decide is the winning margin. Dogs by 7 goals 2 behinds. I cannot see our Forward line with the key forwards of JVR and Petty kicking a winning score. Fritz, milkshake and Kossy will need to kick 4 each to give us a chance. It's no big surprise but their forwards will slaughter us. It might be a wild thought but next Sunday how about we play Petty in the backline. Yes a wild thought forget I mentioned it.

PS predictive script! If I wanted to type Kissy I would have typed Kissy on the first try, after the 3rd try it finally got the message.

I do agree its really just the margin. I did pre-empt with " i don't expect to win" . Our "game" won't be afforded the freedom it was on Sat and i don't think it ever will when pressed by more able teams.

Petty is ok fwd if not 'manned' which of course makes him less than useful under more trying conditions. Doubt Goidy will put him back ( where he belongs lol )

Wonder if Windsor will be afforded another run in the middle where better suited. Hopefully JC returns ( intentional lol ) . Let's trust Kozzy is feeling better.

Can't recall who needs/betting on 40 pts but they might get their returns. Im leaning more towards 20/30 unless the Dogs get a hold of us.

Still think it'll be a game worth watching. You know ...there'll be learnings to be had ๐Ÿ˜‰

20 hours ago, Nasher said:

I donโ€™t agree that we have nothing to play for. Dog and Hawks are both hanging on for dear life and potentially competing for the last spot in the 8. Feathers are available for ruffling. From a supporter point of view that adds a huge amount of intrigue. Iโ€™d love to finish the year in good form.

Tis curious, and please bear with me, that many lampoon ne castigate any and all that seem remotely negative about our position. What you're wanting is to be the epitome of 'negative' . Don't get me wrong it is actually a kind of worthy incentive as there can be no other (?) but it's very sad really if this is all we can aspire to. A peculiar choice of sorts.... play new talent in the hope of discovery and looking forward.... or..... play what we know in the hopes of producing a negativity !!

I've no faith at all that we can achieve much ( there i am mr negative ) but I'd rather play fair dinkum and have at it with some who surely have earnt a chance . I think that's more positive in attitude.

Go us !!

ย 
27 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Tis curious, and please bear with me, that many lampoon ne castigate any and all that seem remotely negative about our position. What you're wanting is to be the epitome of 'negative' . Don't get me wrong it is actually a kind of worthy incentive as there can be no other (?) but it's very sad really if this is all we can aspire to. A peculiar choice of sorts.... play new talent in the hope of discovery and looking forward.... or..... play what we know in the hopes of producing a negativity !!

I've no faith at all that we can achieve much ( there i am mr negative ) but I'd rather play fair dinkum and have at it with some who surely have earnt a chance . I think that's more positive in attitude.

Go us !!

I think youโ€™ve kind of landed on what I mean bub. Iโ€™m aware weโ€™re pretty pus - I have eyeballs and have applied them to every MFC game this year. I may show a propensity for optimism on Demonland but believe me, I feel the same โ€œuh ohโ€ gut rumble that everyone else does when a mismatch looms on the fixture.

For me itโ€™s just about adjusting expectations and finding the micro-pleasures in amongst the macro-frustration. Those moments in games that make me go โ€œyes, well doneโ€. Itโ€™s a poor substitute for winning and believing in your team (I know because the same eyeballs witnessed โ€˜21) but at least it stops me from wanting to jump off the Tasman Bridge. If the only thing I could see was impending doom I wouldnโ€™t be able to watch and Iโ€™d have to disengage. Iโ€™m not lampooning anyone, I just donโ€™t understand it and canโ€™t relate.

Anyway, weโ€™re not even that bad and we could beat the Dogs if we play a 4 quarter game. Itโ€™s a big if.

8 minutes ago, Nasher said:

I think youโ€™ve kind of landed on what I mean bub. Iโ€™m aware weโ€™re pretty pus - I have eyeballs and have applied them to every MFC game this year. I may show a propensity for optimism on Demonland but believe me, I feel the same โ€œuh ohโ€ gut rumble that everyone else does when a mismatch looms on the fixture.

For me itโ€™s just about adjusting expectations and finding the micro-pleasures in amongst the macro-frustration. Those moments in games that make me go โ€œyes, well doneโ€. Itโ€™s a poor substitute for winning and believing in your team (I know because the same eyeballs witnessed โ€˜21) but at least it stops me from wanting to jump off the Tasman Bridge. If the only thing I could see was impending doom I wouldnโ€™t be able to watch and Iโ€™d have to disengage. Iโ€™m not lampooning anyone, I just donโ€™t understand it and canโ€™t relate.

Anyway, weโ€™re not even that bad and we could beat the Dogs if we play a 4 quarter game.

After 8 days ago Nasher I wonder will I ever trust the MFC to play 4 quarters again. I will go on Sunday as it will be my last game chance for 2025 which is against what I said last Monday. it is to concentrate on 3- 4 players who I hope will be our future.

4 minutes ago, old dee said:

After 8 days ago Nasher I wonder will I ever trust the MFC to play 4 quarters again. I will go on Sunday as it will be my last game chance for 2025 which is against what I said last Monday. it is to concentrate on 3- 4 players who I hope will be our future.

There are moments youโ€™ll never see again in your lifetime old dee and thatโ€™s one of them. I went to the Big Bash granny at Ninja Stadium and saw Mitch Owen play the best grand final knock youโ€™ll ever see bar none, in front of a full house, to single handedly bring the cup home. Iโ€™ll never experience pure sporting delirium like that again either - they exist at both ends of the spectrum, thatโ€™s why you have to enjoy the moment when it arrives. Chin up.

13 minutes ago, Nasher said:

There are moments youโ€™ll never see again in your lifetime old dee and thatโ€™s one of them. I went to the Big Bash granny at Ninja Stadium and saw Mitch Owen play the best grand final knock youโ€™ll ever see bar none, in front of a full house, to single handedly bring the cup home. Iโ€™ll never experience pure sporting delirium like that again either - they exist at both ends of the spectrum, thatโ€™s why you have to enjoy the moment when it arrives. Chin up.

Nasher I have been a Dees supporter since 1960, 65 years ! I am used to watching games that were over at quarter time. Decades of them have never affected me like that Saints game. My big love is now watching my Granddaughter's play basketball. They give me way more than the MFC.

58 minutes ago, old dee said:

Nasher I have been a Dees supporter since 1960, 65 years ! I am used to watching games that were over at quarter time. Decades of them have never affected me like that Saints game. My big love is now watching my Granddaughter's play basketball. They give me way more than the MFC.

My sonโ€™s basketball team is 0-9 and a very good chance to go winless for the season - ha. He played in a flag team last year and had a club switch (as we moved). Definitely been a life lesson for him in how to deal with things when theyโ€™re not rosy.

I honestly reckon we have a big chance in this game. Naughton in my view is a downhill skier and has shown in past when pressured goes to water. Darcy though is an issue. IMO it all comes down to the Mids. We win that battle and lessen the supply to Dogs forward line we will be right in it. Their backline is poor but so is our forward line. Win the middle and hope to hell a forward or two play out of their skin and we will have it.

4 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Go us !!

If only it was remotely negative. Iโ€™d take that in a heartbeat. But itโ€™s not. Itโ€™s overwhelmingly negative, itโ€™s insufferably negative, itโ€™s depressingly negative. The negativity is all-consuming, itโ€™s omnipresent and omnipotent.

And the repetition! We canโ€™t forget the repetition. Mind-numbing repetition is the new sleep deprivation. Wars can be won with it.

We celebrate the Running Manโ€™s 200th game this week. Would love to see Langers celebrate this fantastic milestone with a win. And maybe a post-match ride on Goodyโ€™s shoulders. Or not. ๐Ÿ˜

The next 3 games are against teams trying to stay or get into the 8 and/or top 4 (pies could still miss finals incredibly), so the pressure is firmly on the oppo and we get a chance to just let loose and play footy.

Would like to see us pressure the living schnitzel out of each team for 4 qtrs and bloody make โ€˜em earn their spot in finals.

And not kick it down the line over and over again like we did in that first half against the Eagles. Angles! Look in board!

9 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

If only it was remotely negative. Iโ€™d take that in a heartbeat. But itโ€™s not. Itโ€™s overwhelmingly negative, itโ€™s insufferably negative, itโ€™s depressingly negative. The negativity is all-consuming, itโ€™s omnipresent and omnipotent.

And the repetition! We canโ€™t forget the repetition. Mind-numbing repetition is the new sleep deprivation. Wars can be won with it.

The truth sucks huh !!

3 minutes ago, BoBo said:

The next 3 games are against teams trying to stay or get into the 8 and/or top 4 (pies could still miss finals incredibly), so the pressure is firmly on the oppo and we get a chance to just let loose and play footy.

Would like to see us pressure the living schnitzel out of each team for 4 qtrs and bloody make โ€˜em earn their spot in finals.

And not kick it down the line over and over again like we did in that first half against the Eagles. Angles! Look in board!

Can we actually do it though ?

Certainly an idea ๐Ÿ‘

14 hours ago, Trident22 said:

5 hours ago, rjay said:

It's not a bad idea...was thinking similar.

I agree but unfortunately this wonโ€™t happen. Weโ€™ll only ever see TC if Max is unable to play.

1 minute ago, beelzebub said:

Can we actually do it though ?

Certainly an idea ๐Ÿ‘

We can absolutely! Pressure is almost solely an attitude thing and in the words of the great Shane Warne โ€˜effort is freeโ€™.

Hard to maintain if you donโ€™t kick straight though, itโ€™s a motivation killer.

And I honestly donโ€™t care if we lose trying to take chances with riskier kicks through the middle. We know that conservative down the line kicking is a hiding to nowhere so I donโ€™t want to see it continually.

6 hours ago, Pirlo said:

Sorry to be horrible, but that Eagles game was always going to mean less than nothing. They were abysmal and totally incapable of bringing the game to us. I suspect Goodwin won't change much because he knows he needs a scalp to present to the board at the end of the season as evidence we're going okay.

With that in mind, I suspect it'll just be Lindsay for Sharp and Culley to sub.

What I'd do, given I support Melbourne and not the ambition of a group of coaches to keep their jobs by running older blokes into the ground, is as follows:

McVee - Petty - Turner

Lindsay - McDonald - Bowey

Langford - Viney - Langdon

Petracca - Jefferson - Chandler

Melksham - JVR - Culley

Gawn - Windsor - Rivers

Campbell - Oliver - Salem - Howes

Sub - Mentha

Out: Melksham (managed), Sparrow (omitted), Sharp (omitted)

In: Jefferson, Campbell, Mentha

My personal view is that every single AFL game is meaningful, regardless of opponent or whether finals are no longer a possibility.

Agree West Coast were very poor but thought their effort level was pretty good actually.

But that doesn't mean the game is not meaningful. Just a few examples of why that's the not the case for Saturday's game include (but are not limited to):

• Such games are the perfect opportunity to practice implementing game plan and specific strategies, particularly important for teams like us who are moving from one method to completely different method

• On that front we saw some really positive signs in terms of how we transitioned the ball from the defensive half, for example we scored 3 goals from a kick out which is huge return

• Fritter continued his resurgence - good for him, good for us

• Fritter and Petty clunking their marks up forwards reinforced how much better we are when we take advantage of our inside 50 kicks (we are actually transitioning the ball really well this season and getting it inside 50 is not problem - just haven't finished off our work)

• Regardless of opponent nearly 60% of inside 50s to score ratio is impressive

• We got a good look at Culley and what he can bring to the table

• Maxy surely locked in his AA selection - and he continued his simply incredible contested marking this season

• Bowey had another blinder and surely, he must be in the AA frame now

• Clarry played his best game after quarters time in terms of real impact - his hands were terrific, and his endeavor remains first class which bodes well for next season

• We got a good look at Windsor in the middle; he played his best game for the season and i think it's clear he will play as mid going forward

• We kicked 10 goals in a quarter

• We won but nearly 15 goals and Koz was quiet

• And perhaps of most importance, we looked untied, cohesive, played with great energy and the players seemed to enjoy themselves - all terrific signs given last week's fourth quarter nightmare

1 minute ago, binman said:

My personal view is that every single AFL game is meaningful, regardless of opponent or whether finals are no longer a possibility.

Agree West Coast were very poor, but actually love their effort level was pretty good actually. But that doesn't mean the game is not meaningful. Just a few examples of why that's the not the case for Saturday's game include (bt are not limited to):

• Such games are the perfect opportunity to practice implementing game plan and specific strategies, particularly important for teams like us who are moving from one method to completely different method

• On that front we saw some really positive signs in terms of how we transitioned the ball from the defensive half, for example we scored 3 goals from a kick out which is huge return

• Fritter and Petty clunking their marks up forwards reinforced how much better we are when we take advantage of our inside 50 kicks (we are actually transitioning the ball really well this season and getting it inside 50 is not problem - just haven't finished off our work)

• Maxy surely locked in his AA selection - and he continued his simply incredible contested marking this season

• Clarry played his best game after quarters time in terms of real impact - his hands were terrific, and his endeavor remains first class which bodes well for next season

• We got a good look at Windsor in the middle; he played his best game for the season and i think it's clear he will play as mid going forward

• And perhaps of most importance, we looked untied, cohesive, played with great energy and the players seemed to enjoy themselves - all terrific signs given last week's fourth quarter nightmare

And we did so by thumping the BOTTOM teams, undermanned at that and whose only carrot is 'another' pick.

Yet all you mention are actually valid observations.

And I'll be interested ( really ) to see how those metrics go this week against a team motivated by finals.

Hopefully not too many team changes and we can have another look at this (our ) setup.

Looking forward to it. No expectations, just interest.

ย 
4 minutes ago, binman said:

Agree West Coast were very poor, but actually love their effort level was pretty good actually. But that doesn't mean the game is not meaningful. Just a few examples of why that's the not the case for Saturday's game include (bt are not limited to):

Yes I agree with most points. Just like to highlight how good it was to see Windsor in the middle and gaining confidence in the final quarter. I think the next 3 games we should have a good look at what the starting centre bounce line up could be for round 1 next year. Lindsay, Langford, Rivers, Bowey, Chandler, Culley and McVee should all be looked at.

1 minute ago, beelzebub said:

And we did so by thumping the BOTTOM teams, undermanned at that and whose only carrot is 'another' pick.

Yet all you mention are actually valid observations.

And I'll be interested ( really ) to see how those metrics go this week against a team motivated by finals.

Hopefully not too many team changes and we can have another look at this (our ) setup.

Looking forward to it. No expectations, just interest.

If we are going to fairly assess where the team is at we should take into account how we perform gains the best teams, teams that are motivated by finals.

In the last month we have been competitive against the top 2 teams on the ladder atm - the Pies and Crows - and also the Suns who are 6th with a bullet. And in May we pushed the Lions who are currently third.

In all those games out transition footy has been really good. In almost all of those games we likely win if not for inaccuracy.

No reason to think we won't be competitive again the Dogs this week.