4 minutes ago, monoccular said:

Fixturing including who plays where (who visits Geelong every year, and who never goes, who travels interstate least)

Unmanageable rules like “insufficient intent” as if umpires are genius mind readers

Yes, amateur umpiring and a conflicted MRO.

I do wonder if this (unmanageable rules) is a strategy. Grey areas mean controversy, which means clicks and rage bait and engagement in the media, which in turn brings dollars in the door.

Just now, deanox said:

Oh yeah absolutely.

A lucky sport in that they have no real competition in Australia outside NRL, and even that is geographical. Soccer and b-ball are 3rd rate sports in Australia because of the international order.

All they have to do is put the product on and the money comes, they don't need to build a good business to succeed.

Yes exactly mate. The Clubs put on the show, Nobody supports the AFL each week. Head Quarters is way too large.

It would be far more efficient with half the staff numbers

They have no right to change rules every year.

Try explaining the game to an international visitor!! It’s almost impossible now!!

1 hour ago, deanox said:

I do wonder if this (unmanageable rules) is a strategy. Grey areas mean controversy, which means clicks and rage bait and engagement in the media, which in turn brings dollars in the door.

Yep

3 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

The AFL is only accountable to itself, that’s the main problem. The Commission are swimming in Ca$h, so the Gravy Train is well and truly alive.

Gather Round is a good example, apart from being a fun weekend for Adelaide Residents, what is its benefits??

Football doesn’t need promotion in Adelaide

Have you been to Gather Round?

6 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:

pretty clear demotion

it'll be interesting to see where her parachute lands her - club land or one of the afl's state bodies? perhaps she'll get the poisoned challice that is afl nsw

Laura has been demoted and rightly so.Her boss is also grossly out of his league!

13 hours ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

Other than umpiring and MRO, can anyone tell me what's wrong with the game?

Grass roots, state/reserves comps, Academies, draft, salary cap, fixturing all a shambles.

Let's not forget the whole boys club mentality, sweeping problems under the carpet, making examples of others etc The lack of transparency and integrity is ridiculous.

Other than that the game is fine.

11 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Yes i agree with all the above.

My point is that there is only 1 AFL. They have no Competition. The Gravy Train is an enclosed bubble

They also have no overarching governance body like FIFA (regardless of what you think of them).

The ANFC(?) used to hold this role but the AFL usurped it. They are now the governor of the sport as a whole as well as the league which can be problematic at times.

5 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Grass roots, state/reserves comps, Academies, draft, salary cap, fixturing all a shambles.

Can you say specifically what is wrong with grass roots, state/reserves comps, academies, draft, salary cap and fixturing?

Just now, Queanbeyan Demon said:

Can you say specifically what is wrong with grass roots, state/reserves comps, academies, draft, salary cap and fixturing?

Yes

17 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:

pretty clear demotion

it'll be interesting to see where her parachute lands her - club land or one of the afl's state bodies? perhaps she'll get the poisoned challice that is afl nsw

Or the VFL, she would really have to try to make it worse.

1 hour ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Let's not forget the whole boys club mentality, sweeping problems under the carpet, making examples of others etc The lack of transparency and integrity is ridiculous.

Spot Dr. You have saved me from writing similar. There is desperate need for a change at the top. We need a new chairman quickly.

It's a medium size franchise business run as if it was BHP. Between the AFL hierarchy and the elite players (top 10 at each club) there's just too many people on the gravy train.

Take away betting ads ( remember the AFL get a cut on every bet) and the loss making pay TV companies and you have a very shaky competition.

In the short term I see increases in admission prices and memberships. Medium term North will go as there's no money/appetite for a twentieth team. NT government may be prepared to stump up the money a la Tasmania but it's a big ask for such a small economy.

Eagles and Adelaide need to be super successful to drive the market in those two States just like Collingwood does here. Freo and Port don't really cut it.

Edited by Diamond_Jim

And let's not forget the basket case that is Smithy's VFL

3 minutes ago, picket fence said:

I think we can also thank the clubs themselves for that fiasco.

15 hours ago, Maldonboy38 said:

Sport at an elite level has a spiritual quality about it. Supporters like us engage at more levels than mere support. We are invested. Part of our identity is attached to club history and colours. We gloat when we win, get grumpy and fatalist when we lose. The AFL board and their appointed chief executive Dillon have little understanding of, and less interest in, the soul of our game and will continue to make decisions based on numbers - revenue and supporter numbers.

Well put.

Although a lot of people applaud this lack of understanding - and have for decades.

Not many have been impressed with Andrew Dillon and Laura Kane

Edited by lorn

14 hours ago, Harvey Wallbanger said:

Have you been to Gather Round?

No i haven’t. I am not in Australia at the moment, you obviously have.

Can i ask, How much did it cost you to attend the full round, from leaving your Front door to Returning ?

It's not cheap - but the actual cost depends on how you approach the travel/accommodation (drive/fly, hotel/Air BnB/friends), but it is a rare opportunity to watch multiple games of football in a great atmosphere (we managed 6 games - 5 at Adelaide Oval and one at Norwood). Much different to the usual febrile atmosphere of, say a standalone Dees/Pies game. Festival atmosphere - great for football lovers, not just those that live in Adelaide. Exactly the sort of initiative designed for AFL supporters who love footy - long overdue.

2 hours ago, picket fence said:

5 key issues at AFL HQ to address:

1. Even / fair fixturing

2. National Reserves Competition

3. Complete true National Competition ncluding Tassie and Northern Australia

4. Rater than knocking down Northern Academies, give other clubs the same freedom to grow their own.

5. Refine DRAFT process inclusive of mid-season and address "comromised draft" from FS and Academy (see point 3)