2 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

The 70 metre kick could revolutionise the game.

Where's those guys who can kick over the proverbial wheat silo these days.

Don't laugh the three point shot in basketball has dramatically changed that game.

Why when players are so much stronger and fitter and records tumble in most sports have we not seen longer kicks in AFL. NFL punters and kickers probably have increased their range by 20% since the eighties. Same in rugby union.

@sue there's so much gutrunning and interchanges I think even fresh players slow down after marks to help their team.

@Diamond Jim you may be right. Long kicks can be spectacular and / or chaotic and help attacks. They also help win territory. That said 3 twenty metre kicks to a teammates is better than a bomb straight to the opposition CHB. Im sure even the worst teams are testing the water at all times to gain a tactical headstart. I think there's enough merit in long kicks that they'll resurface in AFL at some stage.

I think the next item on the agenda should be fatter umpires.

I don’t care that they can run 20 km near world record pace.

Just give me somebody that can make an accurate decision, has some sort of common sense, and perhaps they can bounce the ball okay as well.

Sorry for the hijack.

4 hours ago, deanox said:

If Jake Lever is allowed to be a roaming third man while his opponent sits 80m behind the play, I'm all for an opposition coach trying this strategy. I promise you that allowing teams to play 18 v 17, and hoping you get it out the back to the free man will not work.

That being said, I do wonder if the "deepest" forwards should look to play aggressively. Making earlier and occassionally deeper runs behind the defenders to try to drag the defense out of shape. The best forwards move like this, you can see it at the ground.

Geelong does this.

But their deepest forward is a winger

11 hours ago, Spirit of '87 said:

The fashionable, modern day around the corner kicks, often from 30 or 40 metres directly in front of goal, annoy me. The players seem so happy with themselves as they set up for those shots, yet to me it feels as though only about one in ten of those kicks ever actually go through for a goal. The rest go anywhere from out on the full to the opposite forward pocket.

The traditional direct drop punt or banana/checkside from the forward pocket boundary, seemed to be more logical, direct and appeared to me to have had a better strike rate.

Did anyone see Peter Hudson on the front bar last week?

Briefly, he said something about the flat punt that he used to kick.

Basically kicking the ball With it held halfway between a drop punt and a torp.

The idea was that you have more of a sweet spot when the ball is side on. It looks rubbish as it wobbles all over the place, but the trajectory is very straight.

I remember reading that Hudson and the old timers, like Farmer from North Adelaide, who kicked something like 1400 goals at an average of about 6 per game, always used the flat punt – but I never knew anybody who could tell me what it was.

12 minutes ago, DiscoStu17 said:

The idea was that you have more of a sweet spot when the ball is side on. It looks rubbish as it wobbles all over the place, but the trajectory is very straight.

I remember reading that Hudson and the old timers, like Farmer from North Adelaide, who kicked something like 1400 goals at an average of about 6 per game, always used the flat punt – but I never knew anybody who could tell me what it was.

Youtube Peter Hudson. Great footage of him flat punting. And check out how still his head is.

7 hours ago, DiscoStu17 said:

There is definitely not enough players with nicknames such as fridge (truck, train, moving violation etc).

• Brian Taylor was Barge before he was BT, Bristle and now %^&*head.

• Gary Crazy Horse Cowton. (Mostly a backman that could be swung forward in a crisis).

• Slamming Sam Kekovich.

• Rene The Incredible Hulk Kink.

The greatest football nickname of all, in my view, belongs to the former brilliant rugby league player Phil Sigsworth, who was known as Whatsapacketa.

Edited by Queanbeyan Demon

4 hours ago, DiscoStu17 said:

Not sure how the flat punt can be replicated with slim and light weight modern boots and I suspect the shape of the football is also different these days.

Edited by John Crow Batty

• Author
20 hours ago, Go Ds said:

I do wonder whether some of the old stuff can get embraced again. I've mentioned before a few successful torps from 70 metres and that'd send the opposition scrambling and have an effect on the morale of both teams. Maybe a coach would consider leaving a forward no further than maybe 60 from goal. Yes, they can't provide tackling pressure watching a defender bolting into the centre square but that defender also knows that one mistake and suddenly that 'lazy' forward is an extra player in a dangerous position. Anyway I reckon coaching staff have pondered over a lot of strategies and may even be convinced now the non-chasing forward will never work as a tactic ever again. Certainly if that's so every forward needs more speed and stamina as opposed to a big [censored]. How much extra would a forward need to add to their weight anyway? Going from 80 to 82 kg is only a 2.5% increase. Would such marginal really change a player's marking ability or balance while kicking? Or are you thinking more a 6kg gain?

I was thinking at least 5 kg, but also more 'explosive' sprint work than endurance running. It is a long time since I did PE theory at school (Bob Hawke was PM), but I seem to remember that you can convert fast twitch to endurance but not the other way around, and that someone like Ablett had a higher % of fast twitch muscle fibres than your average bloke. I am convinced there is still space for a stay at home FF if you had the right bloke, (that is not just magical thinking - Aaron Hamill, Cloke (still feel sad for the bloke that he got the yips) could just clear a path and this is not so long ago). I even think as much as Jeremy for the cats is a great field kick and has a tank etc, he is a very hot and cold goal kicker, I'd give a little bit and keep him closer to FF (I know we could argue what his true position is). I would love to see some experimentation, hell, the seppos have embraced Australian punters, if they can we can look for something, we can too. I remember going to the footy to watch David Neitz and if he bombed one from 55 early in the game you knew we were in for a good day. People love the booming set shot. I also think Chocco's approach while theoretically correct, is too 'cooky cutter' expecting everyone to perform the skill the same way. I'd like to see an approach on what works for the individual. I feel like Fritsch already gets a pass (on defensive efforts) because of his set shot ability but I would wonder if a KPF could also get the same hall pass. I also think Fritta needs to be super consistent on his returns or he is going to have to grind more.

• Author
11 hours ago, deanox said:

If Jake Lever is allowed to be a roaming third man while his opponent sits 80m behind the play, I'm all for an opposition coach trying this strategy. I promise you that allowing teams to play 18 v 17, and hoping you get it out the back to the free man will not work.

That being said, I do wonder if the "deepest" forwards should look to play aggressively. Making earlier and occasionally deeper runs behind the defenders to try to drag the defense out of shape. The best forwards move like this, you can see it at the ground.

The obvious thing against my hope for a return to the hefty but accurate KPF, is that with zone defenses being so tight, not going to get many 1v1s, the Jake Levers (please god heal his ankle) will spoil the party. I would however have a caveat that I see my loveable fatty also trying his luck from 45-60m not trying to win a mark 20m out in a huge pack. Max never has a big crowd around him when he's at the 50, not the same closer to goal. A proper forward with this range would be a nightmare. Pity the ANB type who has to do his defensive running though for his fat mate.

9 hours ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

• Gary Crazy Horse Cowton. (Mostly a backman that could be swung forward in a crisis).

• Slamming Sam Kekovich.

The greatest football nickname of all, in my view, belongs to the former brilliant rugby league player Phil Sigsworth, who was known as Whatsapacketa.

Not quite the same I know, but some of the Demonland faithful refer to Havey The Bison Lanford

On 05/05/2025 at 22:46, monoccular said:

Matthew Lloyd may beg to differ.

Good lord, how many times did that bloke need to pull up his socks and throw bits of grass around before taking a shot. Unfortunately, it seemed to work for him, though, if I recall correctly.

14 hours ago, DEE fence said:

I was thinking at least 5 kg, but also more 'explosive' sprint work than endurance running. It is a long time since I did PE theory at school (Bob Hawke was PM), but I seem to remember that you can convert fast twitch to endurance but not the other way around, and that someone like Ablett had a higher % of fast twitch muscle fibres than your average bloke. I am convinced there is still space for a stay at home FF if you had the right bloke, (that is not just magical thinking - Aaron Hamill, Cloke (still feel sad for the bloke that he got the yips) could just clear a path and this is not so long ago). I even think as much as Jeremy for the cats is a great field kick and has a tank etc, he is a very hot and cold goal kicker, I'd give a little bit and keep him closer to FF (I know we could argue what his true position is). I would love to see some experimentation, hell, the seppos have embraced Australian punters, if they can we can look for something, we can too. I remember going to the footy to watch David Neitz and if he bombed one from 55 early in the game you knew we were in for a good day. People love the booming set shot. I also think Chocco's approach while theoretically correct, is too 'cooky cutter' expecting everyone to perform the skill the same way. I'd like to see an approach on what works for the individual. I feel like Fritsch already gets a pass (on defensive efforts) because of his set shot ability but I would wonder if a KPF could also get the same hall pass. I also think Fritta needs to be super consistent on his returns or he is going to have to grind more.

I quite like most of that. But while we're hypothesizing the stats may well be long in whether one can get both heavier AND sprint faster.

On 06/05/2025 at 18:13, Queanbeyan Demon said:

• Slamming Sam Kekovich.

Glenn Lazarus, NRL Melbourne Storm, The Brick with Eyes

• Author
6 hours ago, Go Ds said:

I quite like most of that. But while we're hypothesizing the stats may well be long in whether one can get both heavier AND sprint faster.

I looked up the NFL, there are a few guys who touch 37km/h (in game play, not on a track) and they were 88kg, 173cm. types, some of the 20m times for the 120-150kg guys are just scary. not saying we go to that extreme, but one of things we've liked about AFL is that all body types used to be able to play. Maybe as tactics evolve some other body shapes come in. whether a coach could survive the development cycle is a question, maybe try it out in the VFL first.

On 07/05/2025 at 15:22, Go Ds said:

Apparently the 1976 USA Olympic weightlifting team could outsprint the sprinting team over 20m.

I remember hearing this back then, so hopefully it is not [censored].

On 06/05/2025 at 08:55, DubDee said:

Billy Brownless likes this thread

Billy has become an AFL clown/funny man but he was a wonderful footballer. And if we are talking training for specific players to kick goals from 70, maybe Billy, the two Rocca boys, Fev and Garry Lyon could lead the way.

On 06/05/2025 at 18:06, Queanbeyan Demon said:

Youtube Peter Hudson. Great footage of him flat punting. And check out how still his head is.

and Huddo's son, who ended up at Bark-Barklay St was steady-still set shot QBD