29 minutes ago, old dee said:

Roost it you need to change glasses they current pink lens are doing you no good. A couple of that list will be very good, a couple good but sadly none will be Excellent. The best of them at present is Picket with his new contract playing good games every other week is over. The size of the new contract means you have to be “good “ 90% of games and very good the majority of those “good” games. I am yet to be convinced he is as consistent as that salary demands.

I actually am not in total disagreeemnt with you. Kozzy has every opportunity to become our next super star duo but also knowing our luck… . I’ll need to see another season from Langford and XL before I comment but they have potential. Caleb will be good too but can he be great? I’m not so sure - hopefully we can see him through the middle a bit more.

Turner is already a gun and has room to further improve.

Bowey solid too. I think with more experience he’ll become a more dependable playmaker.

Back to Dees bank on it!

1 hour ago, old dee said:

A very good question joeboy. The answer is as you allude to! The majority are average at best. Average players don't win games. Good and very good players win games, finals and flags.

Except taking a dig at our young talent based on this year's performance is like taking a dig at our young talent in 2019 or 2020. Strawman.

2 hours ago, joeboy said:

And you can remain delusional.

Furthermore, I prefaced my response by alluding to this year’s performances, so if your list was valid then why are we having a [censored] year?

Do you rate North or Richmond’s youngsters?

A very good question joeboy. The answer is as you allude to! The majority are average at best. Average players don't win games. Good and very good players win games, finals and flags.

That’s nonsense old Dee and you know it, you’re back where you were in 2019 to mid 2021 wallowing in self pity. Average players playing their role and stepping up win you big games like Frampton clamping down on Andrews in the 23 GF, Fort stepping up in the GF last year, Hickey competing through the 22 season and in finals to get Sydney to the GF, sure we got to a prelim with Frost and Omac playing as key defenders. And there are many more.

Teams like Carlton, Essendon and St Kilda have fallen foul of paying so much of their salary cap on a few stars and having a very poor bottom 6.

It’s not our younger players who are the problem and when we get more games into them they will have greater consistency, we just need to continue building the youth and we can (like before) cash in on the free agents when May, Gawn, Lever etc cash frees up

Good teams win more.

1 hour ago, Redleg said:

Good teams win more.

Good teams are made up of good players not some good and a lot of average players. Which is where we find ourselves.

1 hour ago, Pennant St Dee said:

That’s nonsense old Dee and you know it, you’re back where you were in 2019 to mid 2021 wallowing in self pity. Average players playing their role and stepping up win you big games like Frampton clamping down on Andrews in the 23 GF, Fort stepping up in the GF last year, Hickey competing through the 22 season and in finals to get Sydney to the GF, sure we got to a prelim with Frost and Omac playing as key defenders. And there are many more.

Teams like Carlton, Essendon and St Kilda have fallen foul of paying so much of their salary cap on a few stars and having a very poor bottom 6.

It’s not our younger players who are the problem and when we get more games into them they will have greater consistency, we just need to continue building the youth and we can (like before) cash in on the free agents when May, Gawn, Lever etc cash frees up

PSD I have heard it all before for decades actually. We simply don't have enough quality. We have a lot of good players but far too many who are somewhat less. We are repeating 2024. Which followed 2 years of straight set exits from Finals. The trend since 2021 is down and accelerating in 2025. If not why are we losing to poor sides?

1 hour ago, Adam The God said:

Except taking a dig at our young talent based on this year's performance is like taking a dig at our young talent in 2019 or 2020. Strawman.

It's not our young talent, it's the 3 to 5 year players they are not up to the job of making GF's let alone winning them. If I am wrong why are we 4th last on the ladder. The team in second last beat us by 9 goals. Can you explain why our results are so poor for the last 2 years.

6 minutes ago, old dee said:

It's not our young talent, it's the 3 to 5 year players they are not up to the job of making GF's let alone winning them. If I am wrong why are we 4th last on the ladder. The team in second last beat us by 9 goals. Can you explain why our results are so poor for the last 2 years.

Can you explain why Brisbane beat Geelong at the Cattery, yet drew with North and lost to us, Richmond beat the Suns.

That should tell you how close things can be and how quickly they turn.

You and others need to stop following because it’s not good for you all see is negativity.

Edited by Pennant St Dee

1 minute ago, Pennant St Dee said:

Can you explain why Brisbane beat Geelong at the Cattery, yet drew with North and lost to us, Richmond beat the Suns.

You and others need to stop following because it’s not good for you all see is negativity.

It's not individual games now

3 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

It's not individual games, most sides lose games when they are expected to win we have won 5 games the lions 10. It is over half through the season the Lions are second and cats 3rd we are 14 with a poor percentage. What's the reason PSD?

55 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

People just being negative for the sake of being negative and tbf given our history it’s just engrained at this point.

Plenty of players on our list should give supporters reason to be excited for the future, in addition to NGA and father sons on the horizon.

3 hours ago, old dee said:

Roost it you need to change glasses they current pink lens are doing you no good. A couple of that list will be very good, a couple good but sadly none will be Excellent. The best of them at present is Picket with his new contract playing good games every other week is over. The size of the new contract means you have to be “good “ 90% of games and very good the majority of those “good” games. I am yet to be convinced he is as consistent as that salary demands.

Picketts contract is probably a little bit on the high side atm, but his resume to where his peers (Rioli, Betts, Farmer etc) stood at this point in their careers stacks up arguably better. Plus those players never really pushed into the midfield and dominated games like Kozzy is starting to do more and more.

Given that player salaries are continuing to skyrocket anyway I think Picketts will eventually be pretty run of the mill.

Certain posters seem to be basking in us being rubbish again.

The young kids are rubbish! the senior players are rubbish!

It’s strange that certain posters post a lot more when we are paying poorly than when we are winning and then talk down our premiership.

3 minutes ago, DubDee said:

It’s strange that certain posters post a lot more when we are paying poorly than when we are winning and then talk down our premiership.

So why are we 14th? In a similar position to last year. For God's sake Nth are only half a game behind us. Remember North they beat us by 9 goals. I will ask again why are we so poor?

2 hours ago, Pennant St Dee said:

Do you rate North or Richmond’s youngsters?

they have picked pretty well in previous drafts like we did

17 minutes ago, old dee said:

So why are we 14th? In a similar position to last year.

Because we’ve only won 5 games

I was just making a comment about certain posters seeming to revel in the misery, whereas other posters hope for future success and promote positivity

35 minutes ago, old dee said:

So why are we 14th? In a similar position to last year. For God's sake Nth are only half a game behind us. Remember North they beat us by 9 goals. I will ask again why are we so poor?

What do you want us to say FFS we’re are 14th because we haven’t won enough games, that’s a fact.

To you and your ilk everything needs to be black and white, anything in the grey requires greater thought.

We kicked poorly against GWS, Collingwood and Hawthorn in games we played well there’s 3 more wins, we played [censored] against Saints and had we kicked straight win that.

However all that does is paper over some cracks. I’m actually done trying to explain the changes to people like you

It’s a waste of time, you either can’t or refuse to see the changes in how we’re trying to pla. All you do is continually bag our players particularly the younger ones.

As I said stop following or stay miserable I’m done with you

7 hours ago, old dee said:

Poor coaching!

16 hours ago, Adam The God said:

McVee, Windsor, Lindsay, Langford, Turner and Bowey is a pretty good start. Add JVR, Kolt and maybe even Picket's mate and we've got some good developing youth. Along with Chandler, Kozzy and Rivers on the next age bracket up.

Please advise whether you support Melbourne. Thanks very much.

… and Luker, don’t forget Luker!

16 hours ago, poita said:

All of those named are already in the senior side and several are already among our best performers. Who is on the list who is going to break into our senior side in the next year or two and add something significant that we don't currently have? I don't have great hopes for anyone currently at Casey making the grade.

Luker!

8 hours ago, DubDee said:

THIS!

8 hours ago, DubDee said:

I was just making a comment about certain posters seeming to revel in the misery, whereas other posters hope for future success and promote positivity

… AND THIS!!!

I think our youngster crop is very impressive but I wouldn't be parading it around as one of the best or using it as the ultimate selling point to snare big name players.

The fact is that every team has a few good youngsters. I could pick any list in the comp and make a narrative for some of their youngsters being good.

I think in Langford, Linsday, Windsor, McVee we are well on the way to forming the nucleus of our next premiership challenging side, however we still need to add to these stocks.

40 minutes ago, layzie said:

The fact is that every team has a few good youngsters. I could pick any list in the comp and make a narrative for some of their youngsters being good.

Spot on.

In footy discussions everywhere, supporters are assuring themselves that their kids are particularly good.

I reckon North fans would be saying, we're starting to put together a list of under 24s that complement each other really well: Sheezel the class, McKercher the speed, Wardlaw the grunt, Curtis the forward line brilliance, Comben the aerial strength in the backline - all capable of making a difference with Xerri and LDU still at their best.

Richmond fans would be saying we went all in on what we thought was a super draft - and all indications point to it being just that.

Brisbane fans would be saying we just won a flag and have three gun father-suns and a gem of a tall(ish) forward under 22.

And we're right to be hopeful about our lot. The idea that we have no or very few good young players is just wrong.

But exceptional relative to everyone else? I'm not so sure.