The 'It's my opinion and I'll crack it if I want to' Mid-Season Review

Posted
15 minutes ago, jumbo returns said:

Don't feel like answering all, but I really, really want to play finals this year

I'm so glad that Jake Lever is on our list

If I'd added a question about JW, would that have inspired you to contribute more?  

I jest of course... :)

Posted

What do you rate our performance out of 10 to this point?  Why?

7, we are 8-4 after 12, could be 9-3 save for an errant Nax set shot, and that six straight run was glorious

Which player has impressed you the most?

Bailey Fritsch: he’s come from a mature age second round pick playing as a third tall to having a wing position as his own

Which draftee has made the biggest impact?

Fritsch, without any competition.

What has been our best win to date?

Adelaide by 91: both teams were under pressure to perform and we stepped up

Which player(s) needs to improve in the second half of the year?

Garlett , Tyson, and any other ostensible best 22 player currently playing in the vfl

What has been our most disappointing performance?

Hawthorn: we gave up

Where do you see us finishing?  Give a win/loss and finishing position

We should beat St Kilda, Fremantle, the Dogs and GC17, but I don’t know if we can win many more than that...I’m going for 12-8 and finishing 9th

Posted
7 hours ago, Wiseblood said:

Afternoon fellow Demonlanders!

With the bye well and truly upon us, and a poor performance in our back pocket alongside 6 rippers, it's time to reflect on where we are at.  Here are some questions that I thought might be worth answering and I'd be interested to see what people think.  Try and look at the season as a whole - it would be easy to let yesterday cloud our judgement, or even the six games before it, so take a deep breath and look at the whole 12 rounds so far.

Here are the questions to answer:

What do you rate our performance out of 10 to this point?  Why?

Remember - it's your opinion, so knock yourself out.  Fancy us to still finish Top 2?  Reckon we'll fall at the last hurdle again?  Let us know.  Positive or negative I think it's a good time to reflect on the year so far, so if you have the time to answer the questions I think it would be great to see what everybody thinks.  Enjoy!

Posted
Just now, Dirts said:

Going a bit out there

1. 7.5/10 better than last year

2. Jetta the guy is a star

3. The fridge

4. I think the Bulldogs. 5 day break after AS and got the job done with lever out first quarter

5. Lewis we got him for a reason now to show why

6. 3rd quarter against pies and hawks

7. 14 - 8 - 1 to finish 6th on percentage.

Posted

6/10 coming along

Hogan has been unbelievable, likely leading the b&f right now and surprised with the way he has evolved this year

Draftee has to be Lever. Frisch is super talented and could become anything but Lever is an A grader

Best win v Essendon. They got us last time we should have win a flag so nothing is more satisfying than beating Essendon

A few guys need to lift, in terms of the guys falling away I don’t think we can help them so will not get into that but in terms of talented guys I still want more from Hannan. He plays like a genius for 10 minutes but can disappear within games.

Worst performance was the Hawks game by far, it was a complete [censored]

I see us finishing third.

Posted

7.5. We’ve stepped up, are running smoothly in most areas on and off the field, and have adjusted off-field at times – but we still need to find a way to counter the opposition when things aren’t going according to plan.

Tomald. If he didn’t have a history down back he would be lauded as among of the league’s top echelon of forwards.

Fritsch. Though I still think we aren’t quite getting enough out of him, even at this early stage. He has such a good spring and clean hands that we should be working on plans to get him into some space up forward at every opportunity.

Adelaide was as close to perfection as a team is ever likely to perform. Never mind the depleted opposition, they didn’t get so much as a look-in. Otherwise, oddly, I perhaps most fondly recall our effort against the Cats. 

Petracca is the obvious one in terms of potential and impact. Hunt ditto for the leg speed. We fall down when the middle does, so we need to ensure Viney is up to speed and integrated in the mix.

Hawthorn I think. Completely unraveled us. Collingwood played out of their skins.

4th – 6th. 14 wins. The difficult thing to predict is percentage. After so many close encounters last year, both our wins and losses have lately been blow-outs.

Final thoughts? 

It's the mid-field stupid. 

Posted

What do you rate our performance out of 10 to this point?  Why? 5/10 haven’t really beaten anyone, port Adelaide of last year comes to mind 

Which player has impressed you the most? Tom McDonald, if only he played from round 1

Which draftee has made the biggest impact? Fritsch can see him playing 200 games he is a ripper 

What has been our best win to date? Hard to choose but probably north as it was a fair monkey on the back 

Which player(s) needs to improve in the second half of the year? Petracca, Garlett 

What has been our most disappointing performance? Hawthorn loss 

12 wins missing out in 9th, unless we take a top 8 scalp on the run home we won’t play finals 

Posted
15 hours ago, John Demonic said:

Would be slightly more accurate if it was an MCG game. Port did just beat Richmond...

15 hours ago, John Demonic said:

Would be slightly more accurate if it was an MCG game. Port did just beat Richmond...

If we can’t beat Port after this weeks loss we won’t of beaten anybody. Yes we’ve played some great footy and I’m not disappointed but if we want to be respected then this is our season defining game. I’ve no doubt Goodwin understands  the importance of it

Posted
5 hours ago, Roost It said:

If we can’t beat Port after this weeks loss we won’t of beaten anybody. Yes we’ve played some great footy and I’m not disappointed but if we want to be respected then this is our season defining game. I’ve no doubt Goodwin understands  the importance of it

Where do we stand if we lose another 'big' game?

Posted

7/10.

We've won the games we should have won, but I don't think we've won enough of the 50/50s.

The run of six wins was fantastic and showed a sustainable brand of high intensity football, but we are yet to execute that against the stronger teams.  We're capable, but not there yet.

Jesse Hogan: He's finally using his mobility as a weapon and not trying to be a gorilla full forward.  Looks like Tom Hawkins, plays like Nick Riewoldt

Tom McDonald: He's been incredible since his return and looks a genuine threat every time the ball is kicked inside the 50.  Our hopeless gameplan earlier in the season of 'bombing it in' at every chance, might have looked a little different with T-Mac down there.

Oscar McDonald: Always been a fan and he's still a work in progress, but his confidence has grown this year and his reliability along with it.  A lot of development to come and looks like a pillar for the next decade.

Clayton Oliver: Always a huge challenge for a young player to back-up a break-out season.  Clarry has done this and is rightfully getting the recognition he deserves.  Gun.

Fritsch: Still coming to terms with the level of intensity and consistency required at this level, but will be a good player for us.

Adelaide: Complete, four quarter domination.

Lewis, Vince: Lewis is looking slow and Vince nowadays seems to only be selected for his 'experience'.  They need to hurt the opposition more with their possessions.  I think Lewis has more to offer; I'm starting to doubt Bernie's place.

Hannan: Had big expectations for him this year as I thought, with greater involvement, he'd develop into a real weapon for us. Frustratingly, he still drifts in and out of games.

J.Smith: If we're to make the finals, the backline needs to gel quickly.  There's a spot there for him if he's ready to seize it.

Round 1.  This game was the most win-able of our losses, but we let ourselves down with huge lapses in effort and concentration.

13 wins.

6-8th.

Posted
56 minutes ago, jumbo returns said:

0e55f12aae81659083c7f2e17674d66d.gif

Posted
1 hour ago, jumbo returns said:

Depends if we get beaten easily or just pipped. Realistically our best footy is ahead of us but you've got to take your chances ala Hawks 2008. Beat Port and we're in the hunt. Lose and I think we're out.

Posted

I also think we should of been playing Hunt, Garlett and Tyson ahead of Harmes, Spargo and Hannan. But that's just me.

Posted
13 hours ago, Roost It said:

I also think we should of been playing Hunt, Garlett and Tyson ahead of Harmes, Spargo and Hannan. But that's just me.

Experience thing? Or you just think they're better players?

Posted
4 hours ago, Unleash Hell said:

Experience thing? Or you just think they're better players?

I think they’re better players and we’d could do with the pace of the first two. Whilst winning by a lot has been fun it hid weaknesses that were exposed on the weekend 

Posted

8/10. I would have taken 8-4 at the bye if you'd asked me earlier, but still disappointing to get smashed in a few games

Despite a poor game on the weekend, Hogan has taken his game to another level. I also did not expect Spargo to be playing this early

Fritsch. What a class mover

Rd 10 vs Adelaide

Petracca for sure. I'd like to see Viney recapitulate that 2016 form

Round 4 vs Hawks

4th-9th

Between 11-15 wins

Posted
5 hours ago, Roost It said:

I think they’re better players and we’d could do with the pace of the first two. Whilst winning by a lot has been fun it hid weaknesses that were exposed on the weekend 

Yes agree.

I think there are a couple big weaknesses this team still has. And in our 4 losses they've been exposed.

I don't mind blooding kids but you're right about wekening the side in bigger games.