Posted

ahahah i admit, i am leading the hypocritical charge today on it, but what i saw today just made me sad.

i'm slightly drunk, sad that we could have won but didn't, and just sad that i don't think i can defend the boy mentioned above anymore.

But tomorrow is a new day, and i'll probably "believe" in Watts again.

All fair enough.

I always thought that Groundhog Day post captured the mood quite well.

Posted

Jetta would have been smart. Watts would have been making a statement.

He made a lot of comments alluding to the fact that turnovers don't bother him as much as players who just don't put in the effort. I'm getting a better understanding of Roos' ethos and decisionmaking every week. He persists with Terlich because, despite the shonky turnovers, there's always effort.

I've been saying the same thing about our list. I'd rather have a team of less skilled but harder working players, than one filled with skilled players that amble around with their head in the clouds. Terlich and Pederson still get games based on that mantra.

Roos is too smart for that. That's what Neeld did, it doesn't work.

The message and focus in the media would have been about Watts being subbed out. Roos will make his point I'm sure but won't put Jack out there to be ridiculed in the media.

Im normally a Watts fan but i did cringe at some of his efforts today especially when we needed him to stand up in one on one marking contests.

Posted something similar earlier and a few of the marking contests were against Prestia, 21cm shorter???

Posted

In a nutshell for AOB, JViney Fan, TSFKA & others arguing over Watts being left alone.

He is not left alone by the opposition, he finds space because he has a natural ability of knowing where to run and when to run there, it comes natural to him

On occasions when he gets the ball he has the precision kicking and perfect weight of pass to cut up opposition defences

But here is the problem

He does not demand the ball when he is in the space

If you are going to make these runs to space that is not enough, wave your arms, scream do whatever it takes for your team mate to see you and know you want the ball. Some players don't have the natural vision Watts has to see this space but that is not enough. Demand Demand Demand and when you get it use your pace and kicking ability to the best of your advantage

Posted

In a nutshell for AOB, JViney Fan, TSFKA & others arguing over Watts being left alone.

He is not left alone by the opposition, he finds space because he has a natural ability of knowing where to run and when to run there, it comes natural to him

On occasions when he gets the ball he has the precision kicking and perfect weight of pass to cut up opposition defences

But here is the problem

He does not demand the ball when he is in the space

If you are going to make these runs to space that is not enough, wave your arms, scream do whatever it takes for your team mate to see you and know you want the ball. Some players don't have the natural vision Watts has to see this space but that is not enough. Demand Demand Demand and when you get it use your pace and kicking ability to the best of your advantage

He doesn't have the will to succeed at this level unfortunately. I've given him time but he's now in his sixth year; all's not lost but he has to prove himself at Casey for a period of time before coming back to senior footy. The most skillful talented player is useless at this level if they don't play with intensity and a desire to impose their will on the game. This world/game is a will to power and nothing more and Watts just doesn't have the will to win.

Posted

When things aren't flowing for him he unfortunately doesn't have the midfielder's tank to be able to fall back on where he can win the footy through sheer gut running. Currently, he has to find space in the seams of the play. It's a fine line that can either look fantastic or awful. But if he improves his tank then he'll be able to win more footy in more conventional ways.

In the role he's playing, his number one priority should be developing his running capacity.

Posted

When things aren't flowing for him he unfortunately doesn't have the midfielder's tank to be able to fall back on where he can win the footy through sheer gut running. Currently, he has to find space in the seams of the play. It's a fine line that can either look fantastic or awful. But if he improves his tank then he'll be able to win more footy in more conventional ways.

In the role he's playing, his number one priority should be developing his running capacity.

Why doesn't he have a tank? From memory he hasn't had problems with interrupted preseasons and he's had 5 of them now.

Posted (edited)

Watts, GONE! And I mean gone by years end...hopefully! Remove him from the banner. He is a disgrace of a player. De-list at years end

Edited by richyrich
Posted

Watts, GONE! And I mean gone by years end...hopefully!

Well seeing as he just signed a (four year?) contract extension with us, he's not going anywhere.

Posted

Why doesn't he have a tank? From memory he hasn't had problems with interrupted preseasons and he's had 5 of them now.

There could be many reasons. It's certainly much better now than when he first came to the club.

Posted (edited)

Yes he can improve his running capacity, after 5 or 6 years in the system one would have thought he would be match fit. For him to be a midfielder, he will need to learn how to get an opponent and to beat an opponent 1v 1.

Developing his running capacity won't be the answer, he needs to harden up.

Edited by J VINEY FAN
Posted

There could be many reasons. It's certainly much better now than when he first came to the club.

I think he plays within himself 'Axis', if anyone can get him out of this habit Roos will. He's a work in progress, hope he succeeds because we could sure do with his nous with the ball.

Posted

But it is still a talking point, and will still be in another five years.

Posted

I think he plays within himself 'Axis', if anyone can get him out of this habit Roos will. He's a work in progress, hope he succeeds because we could sure do with his nous with the ball.

Heard this dribble before.

Posted

Heard this dribble before.

Not dribble and not defending him, I think it is a major problem in his game and if it can't be changed then what we see is what we've got.

Posted

are you Jack Watts, Axis of Bob?

He is so ashamed of his performance today, he has come into bat for himself on Demonland,

Posted

How about we just stick some tackles.

Agree, and when we do make them legal. Some of Jordie's efforts to day were real amateur hour stuff, why he continued to go high I will never know.

Posted

I think what often happens is that players don't understand what they have to do until they actually do it.

Many players often think that they are working as hard as they can, because at the end of the game they are tired and sore. When it's suggested that they aren't working hard enough they don't believe it because they are working as hard as they think they can. And then, one day, they run a bit harder and realise that they had more in them. Sometimes they never do and sometimes they actually are working as hard as they can.

Where does he lie in all of this? It's hard to tell from the outside, but the club should have test results that will show what he theoretically should be able to do.

Also, the lack of subtlety in any debate on this site is a worry. The fact that Song and J VINEY FAN!!!OMG11!! think that I'm saying he played well today is troubling.

Posted

I think what often happens is that players don't understand what they have to do until they actually do it.

Many players often think that they are working as hard as they can, because at the end of the game they are tired and sore. When it's suggested that they aren't working hard enough they don't believe it because they are working as hard as they think they can. And then, one day, they run a bit harder and realise that they had more in them. Sometimes they never do and sometimes they actually are working as hard as they can.

Where does he lie in all of this? It's hard to tell from the outside, but the club should have test results that will show what he theoretically should be able to do.

Also, the lack of subtlety in any debate on this site is a worry. The fact that Song and J VINEY FAN!!!OMG11!! think that I'm saying he played well today is troubling.

Pretty good analysis 'Axis'.

Posted

Well, I am going to stand up for AoB here: Watts has great skills, and I personally was disappointed with how he played. I just don't see a lot of skill in our midfield and I think there is an instruction that Watts should receive rather than get and that is fair enough.

However, he needs to show more intensity around the footy. It is honestly 6 acts (or non-acts) that we are blowing up about. Roos should be able to talk him into better habits.

You can play your role and still show some intensity around the footy when it is your turn to show some intensity.

He gets around the ground, he just needs to get out of 3rd gear when around the footy.

Posted

He doesn't have the will to succeed at this level unfortunately. I've given him time but he's now in his sixth year; all's not lost but he has to prove himself at Casey for a period of time before coming back to senior footy. The most skillful talented player is useless at this level if they don't play with intensity and a desire to impose their will on the game. This world/game is a will to power and nothing more and Watts just doesn't have the will to win.

Agree with you entirely, I was just pointing out to those saying he is left alone by opposition and those saying he can't cut up opposition

Dr G we sing from the same hymn book, as comes out in my posts over the years I take substance over style any day, style is the icing on the cake when your window is open