Jordie McKenzie

Must all Demonland posters use the whilst. Sounds so pompous!

Now on topic, Jordie needs a few more strings to his bow. Just being a negator doesn't cut it if you line up in the centre square at every bounce.

you spuds, imagine if Jordie had a full preseason and didnt play injured each week to save us from getting touched up by 30 goals each week.......

thats a good idea drop the bloke who doesnt just run forward then drop his head and not chase. Sam Blease and Jurrah highlight reels chase and takle someone outside of 50 or better handball the f%$king thing when your in trouble. get back trav J and C Bruce. just what the Ds need.

you spuds, imagine if Jordie had a full preseason and didnt play injured each week to save us from getting touched up by 30 goals each week.......

thats a good idea drop the bloke who doesnt just run forward then drop his head and not chase. Sam Blease and Jurrah highlight reels chase and takle someone outside of 50 or better handball the f%$king thing when your in trouble. get back trav J and C Bruce. just what the Ds need.

nar I am not sure what you are trying to tell me

It appears you think people are saying Drop McKenzie.

Not sure that anyone has suggested at this point he should not be playing.

From my point of view people are discussing his relative ability.

There are a number of different views on his worth in the short and long term.

So take a breath I don't think it is as bad as you think.

nar I am not sure what you are trying to tell me

It appears you think people are saying Drop McKenzie.

Not sure that anyone has suggested at this point he should not be playing.

From my point of view people are discussing his relative ability.

There are a number of different views on his worth in the short and long term.

So take a breath I don't think it is as bad as you think.

Fair call, i just found it hard to read through 4 pages of dribble. the amount of player coach stabbing that goes on here i keep thinking im reading a tigerland forum

A lot to do with only 1 genuine win for the season

People get get a little upset.

Just remember it is only a game of Football.

Five great Australians died today

That is something to be upset about

All the debate about Jordie's worth misses the point that he is one of the few who apply defensive pressure in a team which is supposed to have this as its mantra. There is also the issue that just about every midfield we have competed agaisnt this year has been better than ours, so it's a neccesity to slow the opposition down.

Can Jordie play two-way footy? He won't last in the side forever if he doesn't. That's really l that needs to be said for now I would have thought.

'No' is unfortunately the short and long answer to that question.

Not yet....give him another solid preseason and a good long look at what Nathan Jones has achieved and he may.....or would you rather just dump him now and start again with some skinny rookie?

I never said 'dump' him. He can serve a function for the next two years but I fully expect McKenzie to be battling to get a game by 2014 as more talented blokes like Gysberts and whoever we draft at picks 3,4 and 12 come to the fore.

McKenzie just doesn't have the tools to cut it with the league's best midfields. He's a run with player at best.

There's a reason why our midfield got ritually slaughtered this seaon. Let's not kid ourselves.

Jordie's not part of the problem he's part of the solution.

I never said 'dump' him. He can serve a function for the next two years but I fully expect McKenzie to be battling to get a game by 2014 as more talented blokes like Gysberts and whoever we draft at picks 3,4 and 12 come to the fore.

McKenzie just doesn't have the tools to cut it with the league's best midfields. He's a run with player at best.

There's a reason why our midfield got ritually slaughtered this seaon. Let's not kid ourselves.

isn't that exactly, when there are a few A grade mids, when a run with player comes to the fore? When he isn't expected to be both a clearance ball winner, and a tag and an outsider all at once.

Jordie's not part of the problem he's part of the solution.

You don't think he's been part of the problem in a 4-18 year in which our midfield has been lamentable?

Has Jones?

What tripe.

You are losing some fans of late, RR.

I would get off the net, go outside for a couple days and try and see the forest you are in.

Jordie Mac is doing fine.

The whole team is part of the problem, no use isolating people.

How many people do you think the MFC will use to rotate through the midfield RR? sounds a little lower than the number that I envisage. Probably why I can see Jordie in there for a little while yet.

Has Jones?

What tripe.

You are losing some fans of late, RR.

I would get off the net, go outside for a couple days and try and see the forest you are in.

Jordie Mac is doing fine.

I'm not here to win or lose fans Rpfc.

4-18. The scorebaord doesn't lie, as OldDee would say.

Jones playing a lone hand just makes the contribution of the other midfielders look all the more poor.

The whole team is part of the problem, no use isolating people.

How many people do you think the MFC will use to rotate through the midfield RR? sounds a little lower than the number that I envisage. Probably why I can see Jordie in there for a little while yet.

As I've said above, he will remain in there until more talented players usurp him. When that happens we'll be going places.

No, he's a role player and he plays his role very well. He can also win his own ball if he's let off the leash but he's a very disciplined, hard running hard worker with heaps of courage. He's a Cameron Ling-prototype.

The club obviously rates him since it gave him a 3 year contract earlier this year, which I found somewhat surprising.

Much depends on a coaches philosophy. As Cowboy said on page 1, it's very rare for Collingwood to tag, which is why no name readily springs to mind when you think of Collingwood taggers. Clint Jones is a similar player to McKenzie and under a new coach at the Saints he's now struggling to get a game. He never struggled under Lyon, so Watters may prefer more hurt factor from his mids, as opposed to a human blanket. I love the fact that Jordie has a crack, but clearly he'd struggle to get a game at many other clubs, which highlights our issues.

I'm not a huge fan of players that become a liability when they're not tagging. I reckon the game has moved on from that type of player, so I look forward to Jordie's game continuing to evolve and hopefully he can take it to another level. I'm sure it won't be from a lack of trying.

Let's hope we see plenty of blocks for young Jack in two footballing hours time.

No, he's a role player and he plays his role very well. He can also win his own ball if he's let off the leash but he's a very disciplined, hard running hard worker with heaps of courage. He's a Cameron Ling-prototype.

Gee old55 you have set the mark high there.

I live for the day he gets near Ling.

To start with his kicking will need to improve about 500%

But he does have the right hair colour so that is a start.

Seriously he is with Jones the best of our middle fielders by some margin.

Not that it makes him much above average in my view.

Love Jordie. Plays for the jumper and gives his all, but very limited footballer. I'd consider keeping him as a depth tagger in the next few years. Currently though he is a walk up starter due to our ordinary midfield.

Love Jordie. Plays for the jumper and gives his all, but very limited footballer. I'd keep him as a depth tagger in the next few years. Currently though he is a walk up starter due to our ordinary midfield.

That covers it very well AdamFarr

Love Jordie. Plays for the jumper and gives his all, but very limited footballer. I'd consider keeping him as a depth tagger in the next few years. Currently though he is a walk up starter due to our ordinary midfield.

Needs four or five good mids rotating around him..

Need a fair few more of those before we even contemplate dropping young Jordie

That says it all about the Dees at present.

If McKenzie is a lock every week we have a very long way to go in the recruitment stakes

You have to be kidding. Has obviously been told to kick more. His handballing is actually very good, and he tackles ferociously. And as Sam Blease would say, he always cracks in and has a crack. Will be a required part of this team for at least the next 2-3 years, easily.

I wouldn't be surprised if he was part of a Melbourne premiership team. After all, Geelong won 3 premierships with Ling......

Ling was able to work off his man, create space for himself and be damaging in offense. Ling was a once in a generation player. Nullifying his opponent and be damaging going forward. At this stage McKenzie is a tagger. If he can develop an offensive game he will become dangerous. At this stage he does not offer a skill the opposition need to worry about other than nulifying one of there own

4rd in the Bluey says he is valued and plays his role nearly every week imo.

I suggested if we get enough depth he may find it harder but this was with the argument Neeld never used Taggers at Collingwood.

Now Collingwood are even being criticised for not tagging i think Jordie's place is safe, and if he improves his disposal and a few other area's could turn into a real inside/tagging weapon.

Well done to Jordie for his efforts and glad he is being recognised.