The Jack Viney Situation  

227 members have voted

Posted

This poll is as useful as a dick with a knot in it.

We will take Viney, wherever we have to, and he is exactly what we need, whether some of you flogs realise it, or not.

What tree have you been living in ben?

Prophylactics with lots of "knots" in them have been doing a roaring trade for years LOL

Posted

Only GWS and GC can force us to use Pick 3 on Viney.

The team that nominates a father son selection has to use its next pick in the draft after the pick bid by another club.

From what I've read GWS and GC are unlikely to do so.

Posted

The team that nominates a father son selection has to use its next pick in the draft after the pick bid by another club.

Thanks for the clarification.

Posted

From what I've read GWS and GC are unlikely to do so.

Yepp prettymuch what everyone's been talking about for six months now...

Hellsgate reckons that he has heard that there is a possibility we wont take Viney. Not what ive heard from a club source and time will tell. But could you imagine us picking another player over him who fails while he rips it up for GWS - the embarrassment...

Posted

No for two reasons.

One being that I don't think we'll have to given I reckon that stuff will be sorted out behind closed doors between Melbourne, GC & GWS.

And two and most importantly because it will send a huge message to the rest of the competition that MFC are not going to be dictated to by anyone. Everyone knows that Whitfield & Grundy are the two best players in the draft, so if GWS or GC wanted to play Russian Roulette and nominate Viney we should look them in the eye and simply say PASS. They are then left with a very good player, but not one who's rated in the top 3 in the draft when they have Picks 1 & 2. Those clubs would then have to answer for why a Whitfield, Gundy or a Toumpas has been let go purely to try and one up a battling club near the bottom of the ladder.

As I've mentioned in another thread, I reckon a deal will be struck between the 3 clubs that will see a win, win, win.

GWS to end up with picks 1,2 & 3 and take Whitfield, Grundy & Toumpas

GC trade Pick 2 to GWS for MD Pick 1 (Jack Martin who will be an absolute jet!)

Melbourne trade Pick 3 to GWS for MD Pick 2 (Jesse Hogan) allowing us to take Viney in the 2nd round and holding onto Pick 4.

Posted

No for two reasons.

One being that I don't think we'll have to given I reckon that stuff will be sorted out behind closed doors between Melbourne, GC & GWS.

And two and most importantly because it will send a huge message to the rest of the competition that MFC are not going to be dictated to by anyone. Everyone knows that Whitfield & Grundy are the two best players in the draft, so if GWS or GC wanted to play Russian Roulette and nominate Viney we should look them in the eye and simply say PASS. They are then left with a very good player, but not one who's rated in the top 3 in the draft when they have Picks 1 & 2. Those clubs would then have to answer for why a Whitfield, Gundy or a Toumpas has been let go purely to try and one up a battling club near the bottom of the ladder.

As I've mentioned in another thread, I reckon a deal will be struck between the 3 clubs that will see a win, win, win.

Melbourne trade Pick 3 to GWS for MD Pick 2 (Jesse Hogan) allowing us to take Viney in the 2nd round and holding onto Pick 4.

If we make this deal we should double cross GWS after the FS bidding process. Pick 4 should be the only pick on the table for the mini-draft.

Posted

No for two reasons.

Nice thoughts but if a deal isnt done we wont pass.

Posted

I'm so over the subject I want to cut my own toes off and feed them to the dog to see if she will eat them.

Posted

I'm so over the subject I want to cut my own toes off and feed them to the dog to see if she will eat them.

You might want to put some sause on your toe Biffen, Your dog might enjoy it more.

Guest KingDingAling
Posted

I think something will be worked out via the mini draft, its been suggested GC are into Martin and has

been the whisper all year, so that opens things up for us if we'd like to go down the mini draft route.

GWS will want our pick 3, they can exploit the situation we are in with Viney and we can benefit by them doing so.

Its a win/win.

Posted

I'm a Dees and Suns member and go to all the Suns home games and the Suns need and will select Grundy at pick 2,they need a ruckman that can go forward and kick goals rather than Martin,who they have a few of that type.Sam Day,Tom Lynch are still very slight and Grundy is ready made.

Round 1 will also see the debut of Jaeger O'Meara who will complement Ablett,Bennell,Swallow,Harmichael,Caddy (who will stay)

Pick 2 will be Brody Grundy.

Posted

If we make this deal we should double cross GWS after the FS bidding process. Pick 4 should be the only pick on the table for the mini-draft.

We could, but it may put a lot of clubs off dealing with us in the future if we were to do this.

Nice thoughts but if a deal isnt done we wont pass.

I'm still 50/50 on it. I wont be suprised either way. If we were to pass I reckon it would say a lot of the new regime.

Posted

I'm still 50/50 on it. I wont be suprised either way. If we were to pass I reckon it would say a lot of the new regime.

Mate, Jack Viney is the player that typifies this new regime and has exactly the kind of qualities Neeld is trying to instill into the rest of the list. It would be madness passing on Viney and they won't do it.

Posted

Mate, Jack Viney is the player that typifies this new regime and has exactly the kind of qualities Neeld is trying to instill into the rest of the list. It would be madness passing on Viney and they won't do it.

Jimmy Toumpas is also that type of player, just faster and taller.

Posted

Jimmy Toumpas is also that type of player, just faster and taller.

Nowhere near as ferocious at the contest though, and is actually more of an outside runner than an inside wrecking ball. If we were to use pick 3 on Viney, Toumpas would be great at pick 4.

Posted

Nowhere near as ferocious at the contest though, and is actually more of an outside runner than an inside wrecking ball. If we were to use pick 3 on Viney, Toumpas would be great at pick 4.

Yes but Hogan is as ferocious, and taller and a KPF

Posted

I thought we were just talking about Toumpas?

We are talking about the player we will miss out on if we take Viney at 3, whether it be Toumpas or Hogan

Posted

What combo would you prefer

Viney + Toumpas

Viney + Hogan

Toumpas + Hogan

I rate the combo in this order

1. Toumpas + Hogan

2. Viney + Toumpas

3. Viney + Hogan

Posted

If we were to make a deal I'd like us to use pick 4 for MD pick 2. If it's going to cost pick 3 it's overs I think, especially seeing as we have to wait another year for Hogan to even debut. Seeing as our midfield is a pile of dog poop, my preferred would be Viney and Toumpas with Stringer/Kennedy at 13. If a move is made on Hogan I'd like Viney, Hogan (pick 4) and O'Rourke/Kennedy/Stringer at 13.

Posted

What combo would you prefer

Viney + Toumpas

Viney + Hogan

Toumpas + Hogan

I rate the combo in this order

1. Toumpas + Hogan

2. Viney + Toumpas

3. Viney + Hogan

I'd prefer

Toumpas + Stringer + Kennedy + Viney......

Posted

I don't disagree with you in regards to the type of player Viney is and the fact we need those types of players.

I reckon end of the day the question that the club will ask itself is who would we prefer, Viney or Grundy?

And can we get a similar player to Viney later on in the draft? eg. Vlastuin at Pick 13.

I'm not saying we will pass, I'm just saying I wouldn't be suprised if we did.

Posted

No for two reasons.

Surely if GWS or GC wanted to play russian roulette we could say "Tampering" rather than "Pass".

Could we ask AFL to investigate why either of these clubs would compromise their lists for a lower ranked player?

As an attempt at humour why are they interested in Jamar anyway????

Posted

Yes but Hogan is as ferocious, and taller and a KPF

No use having a kph if you can't even get it out of the centre