Jake Spencer

No he didn't. Cook could have played forward.

Martin the starting ruck and relieved when needed by Sellar or Dunn even.

A permanent forward target would have been nice today wouldn't it?

So how would our backline have been then with no Rivers, Garland, or Sellar?

And Dunn in the ruck? Wow....

Spencer is a joke. He's absolutely useless as soon as the ruck contest is over. How he has clogged our rookie/primary list for 4 years now is beyond me. Heaven help we should use the Rookie list to take a young gun from Ireland who can run and kick, like half the Brisbane list.

I too question why we needed to play two ruckman against Hudson and Merrett. Staggering.

Guest lambtotheslaughter

I miss Demonology, when this site gets especially crappy. like now i have no other place to escape to

Hold on

maybe BIGFOOTY

bye

So how would our backline have been then with no Rivers, Garland, or Sellar?

And Dunn in the ruck? Wow....

With Cook forward one of Rivers or Garland would have been back. Not that hard to fathom.

I agree re Dunn but he has played the role before under Bailey (ahead of Spencer too)

With Cook forward one of Rivers or Garland would have been back. Not that hard to fathom.

I agree re Dunn but he has played the role before under Bailey (ahead of Spencer too)

So you think a first gamer would free up our forward line and be a useful focus for it?

Maybe. Better than the alternative.

And I still haven't seen a post that actually explains why this is a 'dumb thread'!

Playing Dunn in the ruck is equal to giving up. Sellar to ruck for 5 minutes a quarter is probably the next best idea, but I don't want to stunt his development as a defender - he's coming along nicely IMO.

Look I don't disagree that Spencer stunk the house down. I do think that we need to keep in mind that 1) it was probably considered the best of a craphouse set of options and 2) it's the first senior game he's played in bloody yonks. Given this, and the fact that he was far from being on his own in the playing rubbish stakes, I think singling him out for a thread is super harsh. Not your best work GSOAG.

Maybe. Better than the alternative.

And I still haven't seen a post that actually explains why this is a 'dumb thread'!

Mate if you are gonna make a thread for every time a player plays a crap game in the red and blue you are gonna be busy. Will you prepare your Lucas Cook thread or Gawn's first game back? As i said earlier was russian a gun straight up? Nope.

Not my fault if you don't understand the logic of him being the only available option.

Is your fault if you can't see that there were other options structurally.

Martin primary ruck.

Sellar relieving.

Garland back to defence.

Cook forward.

There's an option for ya. Gives us a permanent tall forward target. Defence loses nothing and we get two blokes playing ruck that ate far better options than Spencer.

Didn't realize it was so hard to comprehend?

Mate if you are gonna make a thread for every time a player plays a crap game in the red and blue you are gonna be busy. Will you prepare your Lucas Cook thread or Gawn's first game back? As i said earlier was russian a gun straight up? Nope.

Silly post. First time I've done a thread like this.

I never pot the new draftees. Nor do I have unrealistic expectations on players.

I gave Spencer 4 years.

Tell me where I'm so far off the mark?

I ask those who are having a go to explain why it is a dumb thread?

He has been on the list 4 years. He is behind Jamar, Martin, Gawn when all fit.

He does not regularly win or dominate the ruck duels at AFL or even VFL level.

He is immobile. He does not win the ball around the ground or even impose himself on the game.

I know he's had a knee reco however he also showed very little pre-knee.

And how is suggesting cook play being short sighted?

I agree it is gifting a game perhaps however Spencer wasn't doing much at VFL level either.

He is a liability on the ground and nothing has changed in 4 years.

Pot me if you will but produce a quality counter argument in doing it at least.

He was just starting to play Very strong footy @ Casey last Year when he did his knee.

He's a giraffe & it's too soon to call on him until we see him play quite a few games in sequence...

He has a few strings to his bow & he's still only Young in ruck terms.

Too soon.

Remember a Kid called James, had to go to Prahran to get confidence.

Just answered your own question. Martin and Spencer were our only ruckmen available, and one of them would have to drift forward with there being no Clark.

There was no choice, he had to play.

Finally I've been cheered up! Jake Spencer 'drifting forward'. Sacre bleu!

I ask those who are having a go to explain why it is a dumb thread?

As pointed out by others, Jamar was in exactly the same boat...everyone was calling for his delisting and then a couple of years later, he is an AA ruckman.

I recall that he was starting to show some consistent form in the games prior to his injury... in fact I saw him play Brisbane in Shanghai and he put in a very serviceable performance.

Pot me if you will but produce a quality counter argument in doing it at least.

You might get a quality counter argument if you can present a quality argument in the first place.

Silly post. First time I've done a thread like this.

I never pot the new draftees. Nor do I have unrealistic expectations on players.

I gave Spencer 4 years.

Tell me where I'm so far off the mark?

First AFL game back after a knee reco. He has played Bugger all games for Casey this year and he was our only option as a second ruckmen.

Edited by cowboy_from_hell

I reckon there must be someone on the board with the last name Spencer, because he is a absolute dud.. Should of been gone last year. Waste of a spot on the list..

to be honest, can't see much in Spencil

not his fault he got picked but

Martin is not the answer in the ruck either

The Russian having a bad year too

Lets hope Max comes on

We need to bolster our ruck possibilities this draft

He's got height and he tries hard. Everything else that counts is a big thumbs down. Sorry, I just remembered. He wears the number that is supposedly 'the answer to everything'. That helps a bit.

I think we need to remember Mark Neeld will have to make a lot of tough decisions at end of this season and he needs to see what every borderline player has to offer. Im sure Cook is safe but Spencer is far from guaranteed another contract. I think its important we give him a few games now so an educated decision can be made come end of year.

I think this is also why blokes like Dunn & Joel MacD are still getting games.

Would expect all 3 of them to be delisted at end of yr

The Brisbane side today was hardly what you would call tall. Having only Hudson as their main ruck with Merrett assisting I was surprised to see us go in with Martin and Spencer. Martin & anyone of Sellar or Dunn could have done the job and left us with other options.

What was the great need to play spencer? GSOAG is spot on when he says Spencer offered us nothing around the ground. He was a true liability and waste of a bench spot against a small, fast and mobile Brisbane outfit. I'm sure he was destined to be the SUB when the time called however the cards never fell this way. Sure he has had a knee reco and not up to his previous best footy so why then throw him to the wolves today before he is ready and when better options were available?

Spencer may very well develop into a serviceable ruckman at some stage and hopefully develop another element to his game (eg. Forward option) but to play him today was a big mistake.

He is immobile. He does not win the ball around the ground or even impose himself on the game.

AGREED

AGREED

AGREED

AGREED

Spencer has not shown anything pre or post his knee injury. He is immobile, lacks skills abd footy smarts. He is big (full stop).

He has had long enough. Today showed why he will be delisted at end of 2012. Move on. (give the kid a go ... please. that's the mentality that shows why we do not succeed).

Is your fault if you can't see that there were other options structurally.

Martin primary ruck.

Sellar relieving.

Garland back to defence.

Cook forward.

There's an option for ya. Gives us a permanent tall forward target. Defence loses nothing and we get two blokes playing ruck that ate far better options than Spencer.

Didn't realize it was so hard to comprehend?

You think 1 ruckman, and a first gamer at FF was a good option and you think I'M the one having trouble.... sheeesh

It's a bad thread, but the point is valid. Spencer was terrible today. Clearly if we had Jamar/Gawn we wouldn't be in this situation, but Spencer doesn't represent good depth, or depth at all, as I do not see him as being capable of playing AFL football.

It's disappointing on two levels, since he's been on the list for, what, 5 years now? And has gone nowhere?