Posted

I've just got my Skype going for the first time. WoW! Sensational...

A neighbor helped me set it up. It's easy.

I'm going tho setup a couple of accounts, a personal one & a footy one.

• Author

Is this a status update?

I'm putting it out there for those who do it & for those who haven't to think of it.

There may be some I've met, who would like to 'talk' on skype re the footy.

What is this Skype thing? Please tell me more.

Never worked out skype. Is there a good website or discussion board that can teach a beginner? I would like to use it O/S & i plan to travel this coming winter.

• Author

What is this Skype thing? Please tell me more.

Not sure if your being facetious or honest?

Anyway, > http://www.skype.com/intl/en/home

Talk via the 'Internet' through a phone call like situation, through a microphone or a Headset, with, or without, WebCam...

I just talked to my neighbor setting it up & then he brought in a friend from the US, a 3way chat, or more than that if you wish. Conference call?

Would make the Team Selection fun... :)

If you like skype and want to chat with randoms might I suggest chatroulette.com.

That's if you like seeing people getting friendly with themselves every 3rd click.

• Author

If you like skype and want to chat with randoms might I suggest chatroulette.com.

That's if you like seeing people getting friendly with themselves every 3rd click.

???????????????????????

??????????????????????

What?

I'd like to chat with my friends on Skype, & with my footy friends as well on my footy Skype account. Voice beats soundless Typed abuse.

And still use d'land & d'ology as well.

• Author

Never worked out skype. Is there a good website or discussion board that can teach a beginner? I would like to use it O/S & i plan to travel this coming winter.

It's easy WYL. A technically savvy person like yourself will handle it easy. Easier than joining Demonland.

travel os in winter? the football season?

do it off season B)

look up skype and then register yourself .follow the prompts to get going .Put 5 to 10 bucks in and call someone else with a skype number . really easy mate .PM me for my skype name if you want a test .Great service .we talk to people os for ever on it and it costs sweet fa .if your computer has a camera you can do video calls .Gmail phone is a copy of skype basicly .

My Grandkids call me almost every night on skype whether we are here or overseas and it costs nothing except the cost of the wireless internet.

I have a son in Townsvile and we have a chat on the weekend, and at other times and once again costs nothing. You only need credits if you want to call from Skype to a phone line that doesn't have skype.

Not sure if your being facetious or honest?

Sorry, I was being facetious, but I still do appreciate you taking the time to answer on the off chance I was being honest :-). I actually use it on my iPad when I'm traveling overseas...before i leave i purchase some credit on Skype for calls to landline/mobiles and then just pop into a Starbucks or similar place with free wifi, and call my home phone to talk to the family for next to nothing. Calls are always crystal clear.

• Author

Sorry, I was being facetious, but I still do appreciate you taking the time to answer on the off chance I was being honest :-). I actually use it on my iPad when I'm traveling overseas...before i leave i purchase some credit on Skype for calls to landline/mobiles and then just pop into a Starbucks or similar place with free wifi, and call my home phone to talk to the family for next to nothing. Calls are always crystal clear.

yep. I've wondered about skype for years but I didn't know anyone who used it, so it went under the bridge. Till now, as I've moved interstate.

I think you can see I struggle to pick out a tone in text... I'm Not great with words, written. But seem to be able to differentiate re speech, the patterns & tempo's and tones to understand what a persons getting at.

Text forums are too open to abuse & misinterpretation.

Skype is sensational, & as you say cheap & clear as Alexander Bell.

I've used skype for about 5 years. It's a free, easy download to install. You get free skype to skype conversations, including video if you have camera & broadband & there's a fee for calling peoples telephones. I love it with friends & family at home since I moved to Los Angeles. You can make conference calls, but not sure how many will work at once. Cheers.

• Author

I've used skype for about 5 years. It's a free, easy download to install. You get free skype to skype conversations, including video if you have camera & broadband & there's a fee for calling peoples telephones. I love it with friends & family at home since I moved to Los Angeles. You can make conference calls, but not sure how many will work at once. Cheers.

cheers. G'day LA ! Hows the weather over there? & the birds, they tell me, all different variities and colours, feathers 'n' all... :blink:

I've just got my Skype going for the first time. WoW! Sensational...

A neighbor helped me set it up. It's easy.

I'm going tho setup a couple of accounts, a personal one & a footy one.

Welcome to Skype . Look me up "thaipantsman" and add me. we can discuss Melbourne's 2012 Finals chances.

cheers. G'day LA ! Hows the weather over there? & the birds, they tell me, all different variities and colours, feathers 'n' all... :blink:
G'day to you too & thanks for replying! LA's getting nice now, coming out of winter. A lot of pretty girls do come here, often for the entertainment business, but I've been faithfully married most of my time here.

Apologies for my late reply, ...just now spotted your post so will adjust my preferences to know if someone quoted me in future :)

I'm O/S and use Skype to video-chat to family and friends back in Australia. Have never spent a cent on it and it is always very clear.

I think Apple computers offer a similar service called iChat, but I think it is only good for Mac to Mac calls.

I'm O/S and use Skype to video-chat to family and friends back in Australia. Have never spent a cent on it and it is always very clear.

I think Apple computers offer a similar service called iChat, but I think it is only good for Mac to Mac calls.

You can get Skype (and MSN Messenger with video) for Mac OSX as well as for Windows.

• Author

G'day to you too & thanks for replying! LA's getting nice now, coming out of winter. A lot of pretty girls do come here, often for the entertainment business, but I've been faithfully married most of my time here.

Apologies for my late reply, ...just now spotted your post so will adjust my preferences to know if someone quoted me in future :)

Thanks Rob Mac, I hope business is good.

I've never been to the States, nor LA of course. Is it like 'Surfers', the weather?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FBtmaq0J2kU

cheers to LA !

Thanks Rob Mac, I hope business is good.

I've never been to the States, nor LA of course. Is it like 'Surfers', the weather?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FBtmaq0J2kU

cheers to LA !

I haven't been to Surfers since 1974, near when I moved to London, then to the US. I visit my family in Melbourne, but LA feels similar temp to Surfers, but drier & unfortunately more smoggy from what I remember then.

Your Dion tune is blocked from playing in the US, but I've played "The Wanderer" many times :)