Sheahan's Top 50

i would agree Fan. I'd rather have Chippa than Beamer.

Bock had a very good year at GC in an underwhelming side.

James' brother Brent would be livid at that!!! ;)

Scott Thompson over the journey from 2005 to 2011 has been far far superior to Beamer. Thompson was a harsh loss at the time and we have never properly covered that.

Woops... Had James Frawley in mind.

Unfortunately, Thompson was injured for the last half of the 2004 season - his breakout year. As a result, he was undervalued by the football public and only Melbourne supporters knew what they were losing. You can often get badly burnt in such situations, so I feel we were fortunate to at least secure a player like Moloney, who was at a similar point in his career.

No doubt, Thompson had been the superior player, but I’m very glad to have Moloney at the club.

Ā 

he must have included good media for of 'beamers bumps and brusies'

Good man, good man.

The sadest part about it is that it has been 2 seasons I think since HG45, myself and one other poster had a good disagreement about this exact topic - how many Melbourne players are in the Top 50, 100 & 150, and I can't how we have improved our stance much at all.

Hopefully, the pre-season Top 50 and the post-season Top 50 over the next couple of years will introduce more Demons, but I think I hopef the same thing 2 years ago. Harsh, but true.

Sad is right.

If you'd have said to me when we had that conversation that we'd struggle to get one player in the top 50 I'd have laughed heartily.

Sad is right.

If you'd have said to me when we had that conversation that we'd struggle to get one player in the top 50 I'd have laughed heartily.

In this years post-season Top 50?

At the end of last season we had 3 players in the Top 50, and it would've been fair to expect that those same 3 players, plus a couple of extras, would make the same list 12 months on. I appreciate injuries probably cost Frawley a spot, and it could be argued that it cost Jamar a spot too, but it also shows how none of the other players stood up.

The amount of Demons in the Top 51-100 list would be interesting. I'd imagine Frawley, Jamar, maybe Garland, Sylvia and possibly Trengove. Some would arue Jordie Mc and Jurrah, me, I'm not so sure.

The point is, like the pre-season arguement of last year, we would have bugger all Top 100 players compared to a lot of other sides. That just shows where we are at!

I recall that moment. IIRC the other was WYL and some of that discussion centred on a famous edit to suit one's argument.

Can you name me a player that would not be better with more support around him? Hmmm. It such a flaccid claim to support a player.

I think many of his own supporters know him better than the media experts. If he starts continually performing against top 6 sides he will get a reassessment.

He is lucky appointment to the Top 50 imo.

I think you're being harsh there mate (well... harsher than usual). "Can you name a player....more support around him"?

Well, it's a very different story for Marc Murphy to win heaps of footy when he has Chris Judd taking the premium tagger. I could go on and on about players in strong sides that win votes in any poll, solely b/c they have premium back-up. Put Moloney back at Geelong, where he'd be the 5th midfielder, instead of the first. I needn't go on.

Performing against top 6 sides, which usually have a range of tagging options, not to mention a superior midfield in general, really does require the MFC to have a number of players who present a problem to that opposition. Unfortunately we don't, and Beamer bears the brunt.

Come with me here RR; Love the Beamer.

Ā 

That's what I'm saying. If, when that original list came out, you'd have said that two seasons later we'd struggle to get one in I'd have laughed - but here we are, and I'm not laughing.

I recall that moment. IIRC the other was WYL and some of that discussion centred on a famous edit to suit one's argument.

Indeed. Pretty much set off the argument too.

At the end of last season we had 3 players in the Top 50, and it would've been fair to expect that those same 3 players, plus a couple of extras, would make the same list 12 months on. I appreciate injuries probably cost Frawley a spot, and it could be argued that it cost Jamar a spot too, but it also shows how none of the other players stood up.

The amount of Demons in the Top 51-100 list would be interesting. I'd imagine Frawley, Jamar, maybe Garland, Sylvia and possibly Trengove. Some would arue Jordie Mc and Jurrah, me, I'm not so sure.

The point is, like the pre-season arguement of last year, we would have bugger all Top 100 players compared to a lot of other sides. That just shows where we are at!

If you compare those lists over the years, the situation can and does change...quickly.

Oh come now. He wouldnt do that. No way. He does not make rock solid statements so why would he need to do that?

....... I needn't go on.

Performing against top 6 sides, which usually have a range of tagging options, not to mention a superior midfield in general, really does require the MFC to have a number of players who present a problem to that opposition. Unfortunately we don't, and Beamer bears the brunt.

Come with me here RR; Love the Beamer.

I agree.

How do blokes like Ablett, Bock cope in poor sides? Oh thats right.

If a player is worthy of top 50 we dont have to find excuses for them.

We were the worst placed Victorian team and extremely inconsistent. This is why we had no one in the top 50. Pretty simple, I would have thought.

And what's with all the WYL bashing? I find him to be a pleasant poster.

Agree 100% when you finish 13th, lose 8 games by 8+goals , including a 10, 12 ,14 and 31 goal loss you obviously do not have many players worthy of selection in the top 100 players

Gary Ablett Jr says hi :lol:

Using Garry Ablett Jnr as your argument is a waste of time as we all know he is so much better than Moloney and is one of, if not the best player going around.

We can all wish Beamer was the same, but it is not going to happen.

If Beamer had more support around him, which we hope JT, Jordie Mac, Gys, Blease, Tapscott, Grimes, Viney will all provide I am sure he would find it easier against the top teams and therefore improve his overall performance.

Beamer in the 50 is well deserved. Would be higher if he can put together some standout games against mature opposition. James Frawley should be in ahead of Bock and at least 5 others.

I find him to be a pleasant poster.

He is. Just check out the Cricket thread in Sports Board. WYL's contributions are legendary..

Oh come now. He wouldnt do that. No way. He does not make rock solid statements so why would he need to do that?

Your guess is as good as mine.

To make it more rock solid perhaps... ^_^