Yes because there is lots of talk and usually little action.

As far as the Dees are concerned I will be surprised if we do much.

Don't think we have much to offer.( except perhaps Green as it does not appear he is going to sign any time soon!)

But then Redleg we usually don't have much else to talk about at the end of September / early October.

Burwood IGA bananas $10.79 Kg - I'm losing patience.....Grrrrr

God I hope you are right.

A win by the Pies would end a perfect football year for me!

dees were pitiful, collingwood belted us

Uni blacks were ordinary

Casey exited with 2 thrashings

Storm fell over at the last hurdle after being top all year.

My old team in the country got beaten in the GF by 20 goals would you believe

And I made a trip up to see them play.

Football year cannot end quick enough for me.

And just when I thought there was no Football joy for me in 2011

Along came the pies

YES!

And just when I thought there was no Football joy for me in 2011

Along came the pies

YES!

Enjoy the moment old dee, and look forward to season 2012 with renewed optimism. Go Dees.

As always Deeoldfart I forget the season fairly quickly, hope springs eternal.

The Basket ball season starts on Friday so off to see the Tigers.

They will become my main focus between now and the new year.

As always 2012 will be different !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

As always Deeoldfart I forget the season fairly quickly, ..................

I'm sure we'll have some we won't want to forget before you and I are d&b.

I hope your right but you know I am not confident.

After watching the GF on Saturday you really understand how far away we are from that standard.

I think I have resolved to myself that it is at least 5 years off if ever.

I got up yesterday monrning and thought that the best I can hope for is that we stay fianiancially viable , to get into the top 6 and have more wins than losses.

A GF victory is probally a pipe dream.

But I have had that dream for a very long time and nothing much has changed so that will probably sustain me.

• Author

I love the anticipation of it, but I agree that its almost always a let down from a Dees perspective (eg. Hale, Ball, Judd didn't like us, and our punts on a host of second and third raters have rarely paid off) .... but for some strange reason, I really enjoy it. This year I have a feeling it might be different. Our recent success in getting our act together in our Football Dept., might just flow over into the playing ranks. Maybe a quality mid to fill the gaping holes in that area. Just dreaming, but I guess that's why I like trade week. It prolongs the dream.

Contrast your line of . "This year I have a feeling it might be different" with your opening line. There is the problem.

I know it is Monda yRedleg but I am not sure what you are trying to tell me here.

Can you explain a little more?

I think Red is commenting on my post old dee. I reckon you had better go back to bed and surface again on Tuesday! (lol)

Geez Redleg, you are a hard man. I think I sort of know exactly what I was trying to say, why don't you? (lol)

My point is that I enjoy the anticipation of Trade Week, but I almost always feel let down at the end because we don't land a decent fish. This year might be different. I have a gut feeling that we will land a decent fish, because we will be using fresh bait ie. Neeld, a revamped Footy Dept. and the increased professionalism around the place.

Do you fish Redleg? If you do you should never take bananas out on the boat. It's awfully bad luck! If you don't believe me, Google it.

• Author

Geez Redleg, you are a hard man. I think I sort of know exactly what I was trying to say, why don't you? (lol)

My point is that I enjoy the anticipation of Trade Week, but I almost always feel let down at the end because we don't land a decent fish. This year might be different. I have a gut feeling that we will land a decent fish, because we will be using fresh bait ie. Neeld, a revamped Footy Dept. and the increased professionalism around the place.

Do you fish Redleg? If you do you should never take bananas out on the boat. It's awfully bad luck! If you don't believe me, Google it.

I know what you were saying I just pointed out that after the anticiaption came the disappointment. It has been exactly the same for me. I also don't think that having Neeld is actually fresh bait. The bait is the trade offered and he won't be part of any trade. I don't think the revamped footy department will help either. The professionalism might though. Really when it gets down to it if you don't offer a player that others want or a decent pick for a good player you don't do a deal. Too many on here think we can offer stale prawns and get a lobster. Sorry to use the fishing analogy but you started it.

I would be happy if we could secure a player we need or better pick options for players we are happy to let go.

PS. I don't fish and I wouldn't want my bananas near fish.

Edited by Redleg

I know what you were saying I just pointed out that after the anticiaption came the disappointment. It has been exactly the same for me. I also don't think that having Neeld is actually fresh bait. The bait is the trade offered and he won't be part of any trade. I don't think the revamped footy department will help either. The professionalism might though. Really when it gets down to it if you don't offer a player that others want or a decent pick for a good player you don't do a deal. Too many on here think we can offer stale prawns and get a lobster. Sorry to use the fishing analogy but you started it.

I would be happy if we could secure a player we need or better pick options for players we are happy to let go.

PS. I don't fish and I wouldn't want my bananas near fish.

I agree with all that Redleg, especially your point that some of the 'locals' think we we can offer up a stale prawn and catch a lobster. I was wrong to suggest that Neeld could be used as bait, but maybe he could be used as 'berley' if we go after a contracted player who has to agree to be traded.

Hi Redleg how is IP?

Hope she is making a recovery.

Good luck

• Author

Hi Redleg how is IP?

Hope she is making a recovery.

Good luck

Thanks. Did you see the article on bananas in the Sun?

Yes but they seem stuck on $10.00 / KG everywhere I go.

Me thinks we are being dudded!

Almost worth the drive to south Melb. to get a free one.

According to my local Organic shop owner, wholesalers and growers simply hold back the supply for awhile to make some good coin after what has been a [censored] year for fruit and vegetable growers and sellers alike. The price topped at about $170 a box for both conventional and organic and is back to around $80 now. He had his organic bananas priced at $9.95 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Sundays all through the year but they are back at $13.95 now. He tells me he's still paying $115 a box after they dipped to $85 for awhile, so it's no wonder he finally put his prices up. According to his sources (growers) by November it should be around $50 or less, just in time for the slowest banana selling part of the year, Xmas!

You guys are onto a bargain if you can get them for $10:00! $11.39 a KG at Coles, Woolies (Safeway?) and the local fruit and veg. markets where I live. Another good reason to move to Melbourne, but I'd be leaving the 'other half' behind, so I guess I'll be sticking around here, and restricting myself to the usual half dozen games a season, plus finals.

• Author

Redleg,

You'll be delighted to know that I've put you down for a coaching position with the Demonland/Demonology team purely on the basis that one of our players is called "Bananas".

Not to mention the fact that I am an undefeated Coach of the Demonland/Demonology team.

You guys are onto a bargain if you can get them for $10:00! $11.39 a KG at Coles, Woolies (Safeway?) and the local fruit and veg. markets where I live. Another good reason to move to Melbourne, but I'd be leaving the 'other half' behind, so I guess I'll be sticking around here, and restricting myself to the usual half dozen games a season, plus finals.

Sth Melbourne market has "FREE" bananas this morning. Limited time only/until sold out ....taken.

That's right...FREE.

Sth Melbourne market has "FREE" bananas this morning. Limited time only/until sold out ....taken.

That's right...FREE.

No bloody wonder they are so expensive here! Give 'em away in Melbourne, add a premium to the price in Canberra, retailers maintain their overall profit margins, and the good citizens of Canberra suffer. I'm envious, and I blame the damn pollies!

• Author

That's right...FREE.

Free bananas. What is this country coming to?

I wonder what the carbon foot print of a banana is?

I forgot to mention that he's the pick of the bunch.

Provided he doesn't turn to mush when he peels off his tracksuit.