Allen Jakovich 1992 clip

Remember that game like it was yesterday. In the middle of the outer, unleashing hell on the filth....

I forgot how sublime Sean White's skills were in those couple of passes

Sean Wight. Indeed. Hit up to Jakovich's advantage. He loved to stir his opponents up.

Remember that game like it was yesterday. In the middle of the outer, unleashing hell on the filth....

The fat boy could really play. Don't think he was ever fully fit.

Aah yes, the last time i ventured to Filth Park.

What a top day it was, i have it on VHS in full somewhere. :lol:

Yes, remember that day well. On the train back to Richmond singing the song with disgruntled Pies supporters a captive audience. Then home to watch the Oarsome Foursome win gold at Barcelona.

Jaka was a gem.

Wow ! Memories flood back ! Still waiting for someone to find and post AJ's mega torp after the half time siren at the G versus Pies.

• Author

Melbourne 109

Collingwood 100

I didn't upload these but it's the Melb vs Coll fosters cup match from 1993, think it's only the first half..

Edited by AllenJakovich13

Melbourne 5.0 7.6 12.8 16.13 109

Collingwood 2.8 6.11 13.15 14.16 100

Jako 7 goals

Jim Stynes 31 possies

• 1 month later...

A forward with great physical presence and some attitude to back it up....love it.

This was part of a great time in my youth when you would go to MFC games knowing you would see 20 blokes have an absolutely crack. Being hard at it was a non-negotiable. God bless swooper Northey and his Tiger-esque 'kill or be killed'.

Alas those times have passed...but here's hoping they return some day.

That's why I have been banging on about us failing to have Leigh Brown type.

This was part of a great time in my youth when you would go to MFC games knowing you would see 20 blokes have an absolutely crack. Being hard at it was a non-negotiable. God bless swooper Northey and his Tiger-esque 'kill or be killed'.

Alas those times have passed...but here's hoping they return some day.

Ripper post/vids 13. Thanks mate!!

Yep. Swooper built a side of real men and some awesome talent, willing to put it all on the line for the jumper and their supporters. And he included the supporters in there too. Best coach at MFC since Smithy.

Was sitting in the forward pocket at pie park in 92. One of my best days their and ever at any match (and last to pie park) as i went with a work colleague (pie) who thought they were gonna cream us. He lost the bet! It was Jakovich versus the pies that day. Of course others had to perform to get it to him and shut pies down. Great effort all round. And to beat one of the more highly rated FBs in Pert too. He was a big boy as well and was being man handled by Jakovich.

94 was an awesome team as well under Balme. Never forget the semi against the Blues at the G. Most polished finals performance i think i ever saw from our boys. Recall speaking to a trainer at Junction in 96 when things weren't looking so good and he said the Club had its best chance to win a premiership in 94 and blew it.

Was the big bull in the park and stuck it right up em every time. Made us stand tall. What an excitement machine. Rather see that anyday than some of the drivel we've dished up in the last 15 years.

Albeit Jakovich went off the rails towards the end (off & on the field lol). Think we should have worked harder to keep him to be honest. Was effectively our Fev at the time.

Hec....Fevs available!!! :rolleyes: Anyone???

Ripper post/vids 13. Thanks mate!!

Yep. Swooper built a side of real men and some awesome talent, willing to put it all on the line for the jumper and their supporters. And he included the supporters in there too. Best coach at MFC since Smithy.

Was sitting in the forward pocket at pie park in 92. One of my best days their and ever at any match (and last to pie park) as i went with a work colleague (pie) who thought they were gonna cream us. He lost the bet! It was Jakovich versus the pies that day. Of course others had to perform to get it to him and shut pies down. Great effort all round. And to beat one of the more highly rated FBs in Pert too. He was a big boy as well and was being man handled by Jakovich.

94 was an awesome team as well under Balme. Never forget the semi against the Blues at the G. Most polished finals performance i think i ever saw from our boys. Recall speaking to a trainer at Junction in 96 when things weren't looking so good and he said the Club had its best chance to win a premiership in 94 and blew it.

Was the big bull in the park and stuck it right up em every time. Made us stand tall. What an excitement machine. Rather see that anyday than some of the drivel we've dished up in the last 15 years.

Albeit Jakovich went off the rails towards the end (off & on the field lol). Think we should have worked harder to keep him to be honest. Was effectively our Fev at the time.

Hec....Fevs available!!! :rolleyes: Anyone???

That was just magic that semi in 94'

Probably the best day at the footy I have had. It's bloody depressing now when you realise how long it's been since we have been a hard side though!

Edited by Clay Sampson

Great stuff!

Love the mouthful he gives to 'skills' Gayfer.

That was just magic that semi in 94'

Probably the best day at the footy I have had. It's bloody depressing now when you realise how long it's been since we have been a hard side though!

For sure mate. We also had Pike in that team. Played a big part on the day as well and then we let him go next year to end up playing in 4 premierships!!!??? :mad:

Ok, so he was a little loose with the juice off the field. So what. Others have and will do the same as we see every other week now. Just gotta manage it. It's a part of the change that's needed within the Demon's FD culture and Club generally. Need a few tough nuts in the team both off the field and on. As long as they don't do a complete skitz like Fev and some of the Saints boys....and bring the results...who the hell cares.

This is the year we toughen up (i hope) and change our culture big time in order to win the ultimate prize!!

Whatever it takes i reckon.

B)

It seems so long ago when the great man was strutting his stuff, but then you see him beating Dustin Fletcher and realise just how long that geezer has been going...

Loved Jacko, I believe he has been our best key full forward in the modern era. I hope LJ looks as his lead up style. He was a maverik but in full flight he was fantastic to watch. I could be corrected but I believe he kicked more bags of 5+ goals in games than any that has pulled on the famous red and blue

Hard to believe he only played 4 seasons, 47 games aver 4.3 goals a game, 12 games of +5 goals per game, plagued by injury.