Adelaide next week

Melbourne Vs Adelaide 113 members have voted

1. 1. Which team does everyone think will win?

Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Posted

I reckon adelaide look really, really bad, especially away from home so I reckon that if we play like we did yesterday we could beat them next week. Your ideas?

We are a chance, no doubt, but I expect Adelaide to bounce back this week. Hopefully we can get off to a good start. If we do, we'll do OK. We just can't recover from slow starts with this squad.

• Author

Yeah your right. If we can start like we did yesterday we have a real chance. Adelaide look like a team who could struggle on the road

The Cows are struggling with form and a lot of injuries. I see no reason that if we play like yesterday that we can't make the MCG a "house of pain" for them next week.

Edited by Rojik of the Arctic

• Author

Yeah and also i was at the adelaide freo match last week(i live in w.a so i take what i can get) and i was expecting a blow out the other way, but what happened was that adelaide were intimidated by the larger oval so they struggled trying to play their usual handballing game. Next week we have to do what the dockers did. strangle them with stoppages and then break

Adelaide are down and out at home against the swans at the moment. Not sure what's going on with them just hope we can keep up what we started yesterday and we could be a show.

If they are on the bottom of the ladder tonight, that is great Motivation for the Demons.

It's mostly above the ears, the boys have just got to believe they can do it.

• Author

adelaide wont be bottom, north melbourne will.

Maybe, the swans are pantsing them right now with a half to go-whatever it would be great to be ahead of them next weekend before the game starts B)

• Author

we'll definitely be ahead of adelaide after this round and just thinkin bout it, ur right coz north gave port such a good game last week they wont fin bottom even tho the 104 point flogging they got from stkilda. did you watch melbourne yesterday?

I was there mate, one of the best games i have watched in 40 years. Speed and pressure.

The Dawn of the Demon i hope.

Richmond too perhaps.

Maybe, the swans are pantsing them right now with a half to go-whatever it would be great to be ahead of them next weekend before the game starts B)

How on earth did Hawthorn give McGlynn away?

• Author

I was there mate, one of the best games i have watched in 40 years. Speed and pressure.

The Dawn of the Demon i hope.

i had to watch from the couch because i live in w.a but from what i saw i was majorly impressed. petterd was an absolute superstar with his four goals and all the pressure he put on. I reckon the goal he scored when he tapped the ball twice over 2 collingwood players before snapping straight through the middle should maybe get goal of the round. What do you reckon?

i was up the other end mate so you probably saw it much better than me, but the excitement at the Ground was right up there.

It was played like a final, & my collingwood mate said that to me!!!

crows are getting pumped btw syndey 92 to adel 42. 20th minute of 3rd qtr

If we can stop my cousin Bock and curtail Petrenko and Dangerfield, who I regard as Adelaide's best today, we'll be right in there with a chance to not only win, but win well.

If we play like we did yesterday and they play like they did today we should be a good chance. In fact if we play like we did yesterday there are probably 5 teams we would expect to beat.

Adelaide, Richmond, North, Weagles and Port. Not out of reach Essendon, Freo and Sydney, but we would have to play like we did yesterday not like we played last week. Man on Man and use the corridor, like we used to play until we decided to change our style.

We're above the Crows. North are easily last (before Richmond play that I'd).

You have to remember it's not just about the margin but also what the scores are.

Edited by 45HG16

Man on Man and use the corridor, like we used to play until we decided to change our style.

Robbie you make a classic mistake, correlation does not imply causation. The fact we won playing attacking footy doesn't mean we changed back to a style that we once won a few games by. Yes, it was more direct, yes, we played man on man. However, rather than a change in style they just executed the game plan better. Did they ever bring 18 players into the defensive half under Daniher, no. Did they patiently get it out of defence, not really.

You are right that we can beat a lot of teams. I think our style has been down the corridor (not filth around the boundry) but the boys have failed at the first step i.e. getting the ball into space to move it

Edited by pitchfork

If we play like we did yesterday and they play like they did today we should be a good chance. In fact if we play like we did yesterday there are probably 5 teams we would expect to beat.

Adelaide, Richmond, North, Weagles and Port. Not out of reach Essendon, Freo and Sydney, but we would have to play like we did yesterday not like we played last week. Man on Man and use the corridor, like we used to play until we decided to change our style.

Have you actually seen Port play this year. Don't let their poor ladder position last year fool you. They are very good. The Swans are good too, but that's mostly because of two awesome games from Goodes.

Tipping Adelaide for this game. Adelaide are still a quality footy side. Remember they led Collingwood by 6 goals in a semi final last year at the MCG. They are under-cooked but still have some fine players running around.

I just can't trust us yet to back it up 2 weeks in a row.

Hope to be proven wrong!

Robbie you make a classic mistake, correlation does not imply causation. The fact we won playing attacking footy doesn't mean we changed back to a style that we once won a few games by. Yes, it was more direct, yes, we played man on man. However, rather than a change in style they just executed the game plan better. Did they ever bring 18 players into the defensive half under Daniher, no. Did they patiently get it out of defence, not really.

You are right that we can beat a lot of teams. I think our style has been down the corridor (not filth around the boundry) but the boys have failed at the first step i.e. getting the ball into space to move it

Are you saying we never used to flood under Daniher? We played on at all costs yesterday, we moved the ball out of defence quickly and took control of the corridor. I haven't seen much of that under Bailey's coaching before. I went to the Hawthorn game last week and we certainly didn't play man on man, there were loose Hawks players all over the field, not too many loose Pies yesterday.

BTW we won quite a few games under Daniher not just a few.