Posted

On morning glory tomorrow dean bailey will be on. Im pretty sure he is in the studio. Not sure what time possbily 7:30.

Do we have to listen to that Andrew Maher though ? :(

Posted

I don't mind listening to 1116 while drifting off to sleep but as soon as I wake up in the morning I have to turn it over to 927 STRAIGHT AWAY. Maher and Watson are two of the biggest tools in the media. Their show is just so fake / contrived and Maher's voice is just so........what's the word? Ocker, blokey?.....god I just can't put into words how much I dislike listening to him speak.

Posted

Have you ever heard of ANYONE who likes the way he speaks? It might be ok if he ever said ANYTHING of substance. I remember about 3-4 years ago Richo does a Hammy and he gets on the line from the boundary and claims it's career ending, and he's been doing it ever since.

I can deal with an ex-footballer perhaps being a bit on the rough side speech-wise, but when a guy's ONLY job is to say relevant things and sound good, I just don't understand why he's employed at all. I can't find a criterion he excels in.

And who's next in line? Underwood.

Posted

Andy Maher is the male version of the steretypical hysterical woman (Before the lynch mob descends, please read the use of the key word....stereotypical - as in not real).

He is all about drama - empty vacouous drama, with the veneer of sociability.

Urrrggh.

Posted

Have you ever heard of ANYONE who likes the way he speaks? It might be ok if he ever said ANYTHING of substance. I remember about 3-4 years ago Richo does a Hammy and he gets on the line from the boundary and claims it's career ending, and he's been doing it ever since.

I can deal with an ex-footballer perhaps being a bit on the rough side speech-wise, but when a guy's ONLY job is to say relevant things and sound good, I just don't understand why he's employed at all. I can't find a criterion he excels in.

I heard him say the other morning that he had no problem with the Ju$$/ Visy deal, and was quite shocked at how other people continue to react..Enough said..he must be silenced soon.

Posted

you're absolutely right. everything is exaggerated. and biased. every mediocre carlton player is underated. and everyone he speaks about is the best at something in the afl. best contested mark in the afl. best leap in the afl. best this best that in the afl. it might be partially bearable if he wasn't talking absolute rubbish the whole time about players who are clearly not.

Posted

... I remember about 3-4 years ago Richo does a Hammy and he gets on the line from the boundary and claims it's career ending..

What ended Richo's career??? Just because he was years early doesn't mean he wasn't correct. :P

Posted

my recollection of interview

Asked DB what he thought of the first two games

first game was not how we play the game

second game was playing more attacking footy

started to move the ball more

need to get more games into the young ones, once

we get 40 to 60 games into the players

then we will see the recruiting efforts pay off

expects to see the recruits of three years ago

make an impact on the game

like jack grimes, maric, cheney

big loss in mortan as he is one

of those players to show improvement

and have an impact this year wont

play until round 7 to 8

sam blease coming on nicely chance

to play in second half of season

james strauss DB impressed with his

two games to date attacking back player

callers

asked

kick ins are a worry dont get them in

quickly

response

i know what you mean working on it

but also concentrating on slower set

shots

called them structured kick ins

caller

daniel bell

slow start

challenged him at quarter time showed

improvements after that

caller

start year no key forwards

response

watts as a moving mobile forward

anchor bigger forward in

martin and jamar

asked about injured players

aussie chance to play this week

if not definitely nab 4

bruce nab 4

bates nab 4

final words from DB

we need to give the faithful a reason

to come and see us play

expects membership to be around 30,000 this year

Posted

my recollection of interview

Asked DB what he thought of the first two games

first game was not how we play the game

second game was playing more attacking footy

started to move the ball more

need to get more games into the young ones, once

we get 40 to 60 games into the players

then we will see the recruiting efforts pay off

expects to see the recruits of three years ago

make an impact on the game

like jack grimes, maric, cheney

big loss in mortan as he is one

of those players to show improvement

and have an impact this year wont

play until round 7 to 8

james strauss DB impressed with his

two games to date attacking back player

callers

asked

kick ins are a worry dont get them in

quickly

response

i know what you mean working on it

but also concentrating on slower set

shots

called them structured kick ins

caller

daniel bell

slow start

challenged him at quarter time showed

improvements after that

caller

start year no key forwards

response

watts as a moving mobile forward

anchor bigger forward in

martin and jamar

asked about injured players

aussie chance to play this week

if not definitely nab 4

bruce nab 4

bates nab 4

final words from DB

we need to give the faithful a reason

to come and see us play

expects membership to be around 30,000 this year

Spot on. I find it disturbing that we may be relying on Jamar and Martin up forward. Jamar should be in the ruck and martin in my opinion is not capable. I really wish we drafted some key tall forwards in the last couple of years so we would have some depth in this area. Looks like Garland will be playing back.

Posted

Is that correct ?

I'd thought their definitive goal would be to surpass the ~31,500 they achieved last year. :(

Posted

The herald sun article states we're looking to break 30,000 by round one

Posted

sorry about that

I could be wrong he might have said over 30,000 not around 30,000 if so my mistake

At the end of the day it is what it is.

Hope to see some good footy before round one just to help

Posted

Spot on. I find it disturbing that we may be relying on Jamar and Martin up forward. Jamar should be in the ruck and martin in my opinion is not capable. I really wish we drafted some key tall forwards in the last couple of years so we would have some depth in this area. Looks like Garland will be playing back.

I tend too agree they have tried the whole Martin Forward and it does not work he is NOT a good set shot and is suited better in the back half, I am a fan of Jamar as a CHF but the problem with that is we don't have 3 of him. They have too play Jammar as our Number 1 Ruckman and Spencer Number 2 they could swap @ CHF and Martin can Ruck in the Back Line?? And to think many would have been happy to trade Jammar for a draft pick last year.... IMO This bloke is one of the most important players in our side as we don't have any ruck options

Posted (edited)

Is that correct ?

I'd thought their definitive goal would be to surpass the ~31,500 they achieved last year. :(

I think Dean meant to crack into the seniors by the 2nd half of the season. Sure he'll be playing for Casey well before that.

Edited by Allen Jakovich
Posted

sorry about that

I could be wrong he might have said over 30,000 not around 30,000 if so my mistake

At the end of the day it is what it is.

Hope to see some good footy before round one just to help

No worries. Appreciate the update.

45HG16 - cheers too.

Posted

Thought it was pretty disappointing overall, though hardly unexpected - responses (or more correctly non-responses) to the questions about our set-up for kick-ins, and the lack of a recruitment strategy regarding key forwards was evasive, as usual.

I'm sorry but .... :blink:

Posted

Thought it was pretty disappointing overall, though hardly unexpected - responses (or more correctly non-responses) to the questions about our set-up for kick-ins, and the lack of a recruitment strategy regarding key forwards was evasive, as usual.

I'm sorry but .... :blink:

maybe he doesnt want to blab his tactics for the oppositions to hear

they have already told us they are focused on a killer midfield and that they didn't rate any of the talls available at pick 11 or 18. End of story.

I don't know why people expect such transparency, and it seems entertainment, from a coaches interview