Would anyone be interested in....

Posted

I was thinking over the weekend, would anyone be interested in a young members function?

I know the MCC have one for their members aged 18-39, & I feel that if the MFC were to hold a similar event, it could be a great way to breed that sense of community that seems to be building around the club at the moment.

The MFC could probably snare the MCC Dining Room (where the AGM was this week), or another appropriate venue, and charge either a cover of about $30 with drinks at bar prices, or $70 with basic drinks included, and chuck in a bit of finger food, plus get somebody of the likes of Hamish Blake to MC the event. Some players could also be in attendance, along with some fundraising, it could be a very successful night.

Also, a good chance for us dedicated supporters to drag along those Demon fans that we all know that have yet to sign on as members, & we can convince them all what they are missing out on.

I do not know of any other AFL club holding an event exclusive to the 18-39 year group. It could be a great initiative by the MFC to tap into an age group that is likely to have a bit of disposable income, whilst giving the younger generation of supporters a great night out.

So, who is interested?

Fantastic Idea!!! Email the club straight away. I would be so in..

I would certainly make the trip from Gippy to be there.

A great idea to mingle with others who haven't seen Premiership Glory... :-(

Gippy

I'd be interested would be great to be though of as young again even though I'm only 32!!! I have a couple of other Dee's mate I play footy with who would be interested as well.

Fantastic idea. Be great to meet a few demons supporters my own age.

Great Idea really need to get the younger brigade involved there are alot of older MFC supporters but not so many younger ones.... i am 30 and only know about half a dozen in this bracket be good to meet more and encourage others. COUNT ME IN!!!!!

• Author

just got an email from the club saying that they are very interested in engaging with this age group more and more, and are trying to figure out the best way to go about events similar to this.

sounds promising though!

Great news keep us posted

I too would attend

Newbie to the forum, although i find myself reading it daily.

Yep, a definite +1 here. I'd (somehow) make the trek.

Has anyone looked into the future fund... went to their do last year and most of the guys were about 30...

It cost 150 for a year and they have about 3-4 functions a year like you suggested... They also sponsor Watts, Garland, Wonna and Grimes who all attend one or more of the functions...

Gday - I am a member of the Future Fund and I recommend it. This is its second year, and it is a real grassroots group. As said, it is $150/yr, and I reckon you get really good value. We sponsor a lot of players, and there are quite a few events. I am not sure on the exact age, but it is an inclusive membership for the younger "future" generation. Email me on here if you want the details of the guys who can hook you up a membership.

Has anyone looked into the future fund... went to their do last year and most of the guys were about 30...

It cost 150 for a year and they have about 3-4 functions a year like you suggested... They also sponsor Watts, Garland, Wonna and Grimes who all attend one or more of the functions...

I am 46 & i haven't seen a flag either!!

Id be in for sure!

Also love some info on future fund....

Id be in for sure!

Also love some info on future fund....

This is the function I went to last year (sorry the PP invition is too large to upload if anyone can help I can email it to them for it to be uploaded) and I must admit it was great but I'm a little ashame as I didn't do a right up.

There was about 100 people and it is all the younger generation. It was also attended by Don McLardy and David Neitz.

It was held in the Grey Smith Bar at the MCG and had finger food etc etc drinks at bar prices.

The main highlight was they had TIm Harrington and Barry Prendergast speaking about the draft and their take on it...

They showed highlights of all the drafted players and went into detail about the picks and the stragegy of the MFC...

There was an open floor so question like why didn't we take Talia where answered (he is a flanker not a FF and although he maybe a good player doesn't fit what we need in a player at this stage and they went into his draft camp interview and there thought on his future etc etc) did you consider swaping pick 2 for port 8 and 9 considering Butcher lasted that long.... Scully or Trengove if we had only 1 pick... Why didn't we take Griffiths (one of the AFL player developers was quoted maybe McCarthy and said out of all the talls this year who would make it at the next level it was Butcher then Fitzpatrick the Griffiths... The placing of Juice and Meeson on the rookie list (we knew about the changes six months in advance because we had a working member on the committee for the change)

The presentation was about an hour and a half maybe two, so a lot was covered and then they mingled to answer questions.

The future fund had about 150 members last year and most of the money went into being the elite player sponsor of four players... The group is designed for young members who don't have the income to afford to attend major functions or become player sponsor etc etc but together they can help the club (and are the future of the club). It is a little like what the OP suggested but rather than a one off they have about 4 functions a year (although not retricted by age it is mainly young guys) and don't think there is much of a cover charge; it would mainly be for food or venue higher and has the full support of the club

Edited by Wolfmother

Sounds great. The club obviously don't advertise this Future Fund very well because I'm in my late 20s and I have never heard of it.

It wasn't a club initiative, they have only just taken over the membership fees this year. It's a player sponsor group. It was started by 2 guys and their friends as a way to give money to the club. It has basically grown by word of mouth

Here is the site here

Count me in! I got on the website the other day and registered my interest havn't heard back but if someone from here can email me the person/peoples details for who to contact and a bit more info would be fantastic. [email protected]

I've sent you an email