Posted

I've been thoroughly enjoying Martin Flanagans articles on us this year, here's his article on Jurrah from todays Aged:

Warlpiri Wonder

The only issue I have with the article is the byline:

"Big business is taking place at the MCG tomorrow night, and it's about much more than footy."

Did anyone at the paper bother to check the fixtures for where tomorrows game is being played??

• Replies 198

Posted

From Flanagan's article: -

And so tomorrow night Jurrah will play for the Melbourne Football Club. The timing, according to Davey, couldn't be better. It's one of the few times this year the Dees have been the subject of a national telecast on free-to-air TV. Out in the desert, they'll be watching.

Indeed! They'll be swarming to the nearest vision of the game to see Liam.

Posted

I can't send you a photo, but I'm pretty much a splitting image of a cross between Brad Pitt and Simon Godfrey ;) with a tinge of Clive Waterhouse.

In seriousness though, I'm so excited to see this guy start his career off! Congrats to all involved

Posted
You better watch out RB on Friday night - When he runs out and l'm sitting next to you.... :D

I/we in Yuendumu are bursting with pride. l can barely breathe! So much admiration for our beloved son. And as RB knows only too well, Liam is an even better bloke off the field than the footballer he is on it - And thats really saying something. Its not just about football skill, Liam making it this far. A true test of character, courage and desire. As well as our thousand thanks to RB, melbourne footy club have been terrific. Good on ya lads. :)

I might just give you a big tonguey myself Japaljarri...you deserve it! It's been a roller coaster ride for several years now mate, and now that the big day has almost arrived I think I'm more nervous than Liam. I spoke to him last night and told him not to be burdened by everyone's expectations. Everyone wants him to have an immediate impact, but the reality is he has not even had a single pre-season yet, and he will be a much better player next year and the year after that. I suggested that he should just aim to enjoy himself, soak up the atmosphere, try to get through the game, get a few touches....and kick 5 goals.

Posted
I love the quote from Schwabby "This guy's come from further back than Jimmy Stynes - and he came from Ireland"

Love that quote! So exciting these types of prospects. Come on Jurrah!

Posted
I can't send you a photo, but I'm pretty much a splitting image of a cross between Brad Pitt and Simon Godfrey ;) with a tinge of Clive Waterhouse.

You're not the last remaining Moran sibling that no one knows about? :lol:

I hope Jurrah lives up to everyone's excitement if that is possible.

Posted

Is this it 45hotgod?

judymoran.jpg

I like you without the glasses.....

judymoran2.jpg

Posted

Stop it, you're getting me excited!!

Posted
Not sure if this has been posted here before, but there is now a Liam Jurrah Appreciation Group on Facebook. Already a fantastic 375 members, would be great to get a heap more, so if you're into it, join and show your support to this young man who is fast becoming a source of inspiration for young people throughout the region in which he lives.

Just added him/ the group and left a little comment then. Not to many comments though, everyone who has facebook on here get behind it, try crack 1000 members by this w/e.

Posted

Enough has been said already about Liam and his journey, but I just wanted to thank all the Dees supporters on Demonland for their encouragement and support for Liam. I'm obviously too close to him to have any objectivity, but I honestly reckon tonight will be one of the most momentous historical events in the entire history of VFL/AFL footy. My understanding is that Liam Jungarrayi Jurrah is the first ever, fully initiated aboriginal ever to play at this level. To date, all the indigenous players in the AFL have basically been recruited from urban communities, Darwin, Perth, even Alice Springs. To think that some clubs spend tens, possibly hundreds of thousands of dollars searching for young athletes in Ireland, in order to turn them into AFL players, when in our own backyard, in Central Australia, there are many remote communities where football is part of the very lifeblood of their culture, yet AFL clubs have up until now totally ignored them. The Melbourne Football Club should be congratulated for having the courage and insight to break totally new ground. If, as I expect, Liam goes on to become a legend of the game, we can all look back on this day and say we were there when Liam Jurrah, the first of his kind, played his first game. Make no mistake, tonight will be history in the making.

Posted
.................................. The Melbourne Football Club should be congratulated for having the courage and insight to break totally new ground. If, as I expect, Liam goes on to become a legend of the game, we can all look back on this day and say we were there when Liam Jurrah, the first of his kind, played his first game. Make no mistake, tonight will be history in the making.

........... and you RudeBoy, will be able to look back with pride, and say: I had a significant part to play in that history making journey. Many thanks RudeBoy, and all the best Jooka, for an historic debut.

Posted
Enough has been said already about Liam and his journey, but I just wanted to thank all the Dees supporters on Demonland for their encouragement and support for Liam. I'm obviously too close to him to have any objectivity, but I honestly reckon tonight will be one of the most momentous historical events in the entire history of VFL/AFL footy. My understanding is that Liam Jungarrayi Jurrah is the first ever, fully initiated aboriginal ever to play at this level. To date, all the indigenous players in the AFL have basically been recruited from urban communities, Darwin, Perth, even Alice Springs. To think that some clubs spend tens, possibly hundreds of thousands of dollars searching for young athletes in Ireland, in order to turn them into AFL players, when in our own backyard, in Central Australia, there are many remote communities where football is part of the very lifeblood of their culture, yet AFL clubs have up until now totally ignored them. The Melbourne Football Club should be congratulated for having the courage and insight to break totally new ground. If, as I expect, Liam goes on to become a legend of the game, we can all look back on this day and say we were there when Liam Jurrah, the first of his kind, played his first game. Make no mistake, tonight will be history in the making.

Good on you, RudeBoy. Love reading your posts. TBH I'm feeling a little 'edgy' for him tonight. Little nervous. As I'm sure you definitely are.

Thanks for that link Timmy. Wow. 2 metres 15 he can jump. That is awesome. We might just see a few contenders for mark of the year!

I'll be there at your book launch RudeBoy. If you have one. ;)

Posted
Good on you, RudeBoy. Love reading your posts. TBH I'm feeling a little 'edgy' for him tonight. Little nervous. As I'm sure you definitely are.

Thanks for that link Timmy. Wow. 2 metres 15 he can jump. That is awesome. We might just see a few contenders for mark of the year!

I'll be there at your book launch RudeBoy. If you have one. ;)

No worries HT. I've got to get get back to the kitchen as i've got Liam and the Warlpiri mob arriving shortly for lunch! I just wish it was a day game and not night, as the suspense is killing me. Six and a half hours to go.

Posted
No worries HT. I've got to get get back to the kitchen as i've got Liam and the Warlpiri mob arriving shortly for lunch! I just wish it was a day game and not night, as the suspense is killing me. Six and a half hours to go.

:lol: Wish him all the best from us. Enjoy the lunch.

Posted

How many people has he got coming to the game for him (family/friends)?

I think I heard Anthony Daniher say about 50 odd were there for Darcys first game, can he beat that?

Posted

I actually think his progress has gone past Watts. His awareness is better, his disposal is better, his speed is better, he is a better mark. It is very exciting to think what this guy might be in 3 years

Posted
I actually think his progress has gone past Watts. His awareness is better, his disposal is better, his speed is better, he is a better mark. It is very exciting to think what this guy might be in 3 years

Not a fair comparison with Watts for so many reasons , but I agree with your summation of Jurrah's game .

Posted

Good debut. Jurrah is 20 Watts is 18 and still a kid. Got a great kick on him for goal. Both have actually.

Posted

Jurrah has had more experience playing and training against/with men. Watts has pretty much had 5 games.

Posted

Very very good debut.

Makes things happen out of nothing.

Should have kicked 3.

Speaking of which, Watts' kicking for goal is flawless. Love it!

Posted

Great debut, great start.

So much excitement and class. Seems almost the complete package

Posted
Great debut, great start.

So much excitement and class. Seems almost the complete package

Athleticism, skill and POISE.