Father/Sons - Garry Lyon

Be more excited by Jack Viney at Ashburton Juniors. He wins all the B&F's, is tough as nails, but supposedly with better skills than his Dad. He's meant to be an outstanding prospect, but much can happen between now and when he's eligible to be drafted.

He plays under 15's.

He has 3 sons and was married in 1993 so you would assume one must be in their teens already, no idea how old though, you wouldnt think any older than 14 or 15, so at least three years away yet.

oldest is 12-13 then about 10 then about 8.

Went to my primary school and used to know them

Be more excited by Jack Viney at Ashburton Juniors. He wins all the B&F's, is tough as nails, but supposedly with better skills than his Dad. He's meant to be an outstanding prospect, but much can happen between now and when he's eligible to be drafted.

He plays under 15's.

H, you're right about alot can happen but that is great news. A skilled version of his father would be a damn good player, what position does he play?

I heard a whisper awhile ago that Sugar Healy's son went ok but I have no idea of even his age.

To be playing like Todd Viney you have to be playing midfield,

Basically impossible otherwise

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Just as long as he doesn't play like Jay Viney.

"Jack Viney"

Sounds straight out of the 1930s.

Hey Kids of past champions..no pressure or anything...

Come on, lets not do this!

Just as long as he doesn't play like Jay Viney.

I'm still shattered that nothing came of Robbie Flower's son.

Something definitely went wrong in that gene pool.

I'm still shattered that nothing came of Robbie Flower's son.

Something definitely went wrong in that gene pool.

Nah, Robbie was just a freak of Naita. That said, many here will remember his brother Tom wearing the red and blue. He was no Robbie, just like the son.

Not many sons that make it.

Nah, Robbie was just a freak of Naita. That said, many here will remember his brother Tom wearing the red and blue. He was no Robbie, just like the son.

Ha ha.

I was actually disappointed when Tom Flower and Mark Alves did not emulate their brothers.

I remember being a bit peeved when Barry Vaggs son took up pro baseball in the USA instead of playing for the Dees.

I dont even know if it was correct but Id heard he was a talent. Must be 30 years ago now.

All the tanking talk getting to ya? :lol:

grinter have any kids, having them playing for the dees, that be awesome

Andy Goodwin's son is 16 or 17 and is as tall as his dad.

Unfortunately his skill level is about the same :P

not a good sign if hes playing in the 9 Bs...wouldnt think hes much of a likely prospect if hes not in the As

Has it occurred to any of you that he might just not be into footy as much as other kids.

Fair dinkum, this thread is a disgrace, i hope the kids dont get on and have a look at this. I know them, i know the family very well. I ask for this to be removed.

Still only Under 15s. Though having said that he's got about 2 years to get good real quick or no one will look at him

And i hope your sons if you have any dont suffer the same amount of pressure as these kids do.

I'm not putting pressure on him.

I'm just saying if he does want to pursue an AFL career he has to get fast quick, if he doesn't and just enjoys playing with his school mates why does it matter?

I'm not putting pressure on him.

I'm just saying if he does want to pursue an AFL career he has to get fast quick, if he doesn't and just enjoys playing with his school mates why does it matter?

Exactley... so why even start a thread on this. Why even speculate on what a 14 year old kid wants to do and has to do..

I just find it a bit crude.

• Author
Exactley... so why even start a thread on this. Why even speculate on what a 14 year old kid wants to do and has to do..

I just find it a bit crude.

Because thats EXACTLY what this is mate. A forum for people to write about football.

I asked if anyone knew how old Lyon's kids were and if they are playing footy?

What was wrong with that?

grinter have any kids, having them playing for the dees, that be awesome

Not 100% sure but I think he does have a son who is at St. Kevin's with Tony Liberatore's son.