Posted

Right, there's no need for any of this. As I said above Demonology people are welcome here at any time. Last time I looked Demonland and Demonology both supported the same footy club.

• Replies 59

Posted
Right, there's no need for any of this. As I said above Demonology people are welcome here at any time. Last time I looked Demonland and Demonology both supported the same footy club.

demonland/demonology are both supported by same supporters too !!!!...but do get frustrated with demonology being down on all days THE GRAND FINAL DAY !!!!!! :angry: :angry:

Posted

Not really - when the Demons are not involved in it and I would expect no more YKW rumours seeing that there's only one thing of importance today in the AFL.

Posted

There's a reason why Demonology and Demonland call each other "sister sites".

As far as I'm concerned there's no need to have a crack at the 'ology members who are here while the site is (again ;)) down.

Further posts needlessly attacking other members will be deleted.

Posted
Not a clue Dee-luded.Might have something to do with the re write of the site .

come on ....it's grand final day and Geelong have won AND still Demonology is DOWN. :angry: :angry: :angry: :angry: :angry:

Posted
Not a clue Dee-luded.Might have something to do with the re write of the site .

It's database error, got nothing to do with the rewrite. I'd say the only reason it hasn't been fixed it is because Tim_ is busy and hasn't noticed that it's broken yet.

It's a simple error to fix when it happens. It's just a matter of somebody who can fix it noticing it.

Posted

The average age of Demonland posters has risen by 35 years of age in the last 24 hours

I wonder why...

Posted
It's database error, got nothing to do with the rewrite. I'd say the only reason it hasn't been fixed it is because Tim_ is busy and hasn't noticed that it's broken yet.

It's a simple error to fix when it happens. It's just a matter of somebody who can fix it noticing it.

it says it has too many connections - how can that be?

Posted
LOL. God I'm missing 'ology!

No way I'm repeating that on there!

Geelong were obviously awesome and deserved it though.

Not repeating that ^ either.

I still love Choco :wub:

Posted

it's been down nearly 48 hours now - surely Tim has 'noticed' it by now, as he is ( was ? ) a regular contributor.

maybe he has lost interest in Demonology due to the power trips happening between it's moderators.

Posted
it's been down nearly 48 hours now - surely Tim has 'noticed' it by now, as he is ( was ? ) a regular contributor.

maybe he has lost interest in Demonology due to the power trips happening between it's moderators.

If Tim_'s upset by the behavior of its moderators he can just give them the flick. He wouldn't just "give up" on the site that he has put a lot of time and energy in to building.

Maybe he is doing one of those things that some very strange people do on their weekends like spending time with his family.

Posted
If Tim_'s upset by the behavior of its moderators he can just give them the flick. He wouldn't just "give up" on the site that he has put a lot of time and energy in to building.

Maybe he is doing one of those things that some very strange people do on their weekends like spending time with his family.

let's hope that's it Nash - he has worked so hard on it, particularly in stat's work - sometimes it must just seem so much simpler to use 'off the shelf' software tho.

'land seems to have everything necessary for a furum site - has any part of 'land been written specially?

Posted
let's hope that's it Nash - he has worked so hard on it, particularly in stat's work - sometimes it must just seem so much simpler to use 'off the shelf' software tho.

'land seems to have everything necessary for a furum site - has any part of 'land been written specially?

There's a whole bunch of stuff that has been written specially, but none of it is live at the moment (pending a few things). It all leverages the forum platform though. It would take far too much time to develop it all from scratch IMO. I reckon Tim is mad. :)

Posted

G'Day Boys Tim , Nasher, Chook, Yep I too am feeling very Melancholoy about the loss of OLOGY, Tim, disregard my e-mails to you the problem has been explained ,Good luck with it all!! Sheez This forum will take me some time to get used to Talk about a Cryptologists Nightmare, Mrs Fence is happy though when I told her the Ology has had a nervous breakdown she seemed pleased!! Wait till I tell her I've found a new forum!! Yeouwch!

Posted
G'Day Boys Tim , Nasher, Chook, Yep I too am feeling very Melancholoy about the loss of OLOGY, Tim, disregard my e-mails to you the problem has been explained ,Good luck with it all!! Sheez This forum will take me some time to get used to Talk about a Cryptologists Nightmare, Mrs Fence is happy though when I told her the Ology has had a nervous breakdown she seemed pleased!! Wait till I tell her I've found a new forum!! Yeouwch!

What ... its gone for ever?

Guest melbman
Posted

The server is still running but for some reason no one it seems has looked at the database problem, it's had the same error for some time now. :wacko:

My guess would be as no one has taken down the actual server hosting http://demonology.midnight.net.au/ or resolved the database issue it's just a man/woman power issue

Posted

I have just spoken with Tim_ about the problem.

Unfortunately for Tim_ a tree had blown down from his neighbours and took out all his power and telephone connections ( and a bit of his house to boot!). So until my call he knew nothing, and was otherwise preoccupied with trying to keep warm in the cold weather we have been experiencing.

I am attempting to call the ISP on his behalf, and hopefully we will get the problem sorted, prior to the Judd announcement.......

Posted
I have just spoken with Tim_ about the problem.

Unfortunately for Tim_ a tree had blown down from his neighbours and took out all his power and telephone connections ( and a bit of his house to boot!). So until my call he knew nothing, and was otherwise preoccupied with trying to keep warm in the cold weather we have been experiencing.

I am attempting to call the ISP on his behalf, and hopefully we will get the problem sorted, prior to the Judd announcement.......

George, have you been down the Junction with your video camera seeing who's coming and going??!!

Does Tim think this act of god is a good or bad omen??

Posted

Thanks once again for your hard work Tim.

Must be very frustrating especially given the timing - forget teh GF, what I mean is trade week.

Still, nothing we can do about it all I guess.

Maybe the Pies have sabotaged 'ology.

Posted

Picket Fence - welcome - I think over time you will value 'land - I think over time you will gravitate to 'land quite a bit - it seems to me to be an excellent site for a number of reasons - reliability ( I don't think I have ever seen it unobtainable ) , very easy to negotiate the various forums which are presented in an extremely logical and practical manner , very well moderated ( without any apparent power trips or air of superiority) and a very knowledgeable and informative range of posts and members who contribute in a supportive and co-operative and respectful manner without sniping or anyone wanting to gain one-upmanship.