Posted

well no doubting who reaped the fat out of that contract !! lol

Guest unstable punt
Posted
well no doubting who reaped the fat out of that contract !! lol

I thought he would have waited to see who the coach was going to be, I reckon he's still got something to give

Posted
I thought he would have waited to see who the coach was going to be, I reckon he's still got something to give

The papers are ALL saying Bailey is our man. Therefore no Sheeds, no money and no Pickett!

Posted

Look... MFC has only got itself to blame... Hiring a guy at his age with questionable work ethic into a club who's culture is widely considered weak... what did we expect?

I for one was thrilled with his 2006, and looking at the glass half full, at least he played a great first year and not the other way around. Had he waited until this year to play well we would have hung onto him longer and been stuck with a has been for another year.

Pickett, Brown and Bizzell... these are good/great players who have had their best days in the AFL... This is good news for MFC, (We get room on our list) for us (we now won't have to tear into our footy department for hanging onto them too long) and for these three players who can now retire and rest.

Cause for celebration all round the way I see it.

Posted
Byron has retired...what a waste of money....good riddance to a player who cheated the club and it's supporters.

Pickett joins Demons' retirement party

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story...5013406,00.html

Couldn't agree more.

So much for all "He got so much to give" assessments. Never have I seen a more apathetic attitude in the senior player.

Good riddance indeed.

Posted

It's a shame too see him go, He was great when he had all cylinders firing, but it's good because there will be another spot in the starting 22 for the kids to fight over.

Posted

I'm torn as to how warmly to clap Byron off to the bench on Sunday evening. He had a stellar career, but for the most part his two seasons with Melbourne were forgettable. I still think the MFC was correct in trading for him, looking for that extra bit of toughness that might have contributed to a premierhsip. Unfortunately, Byron let himself and the club down.

Posted

Not good riddance - thanks Byron and all the best for the future, sorry to see you go. Unfortunately I can see some balooning may result ala Derek Kickett.

I enjoyed your games in the red and blue when it was on, I loved it when the opposition fumbled the ball because they thought you were nearby, your footsteps must have sounded deafening.

Enjoy your last AFL game!!

Posted
I would have been happy enough for him to have played atleast 1 more year, on a performance based contract.

Agree with that.

A fit and firing Pickett brings fear to the opposition.

We don't have a player like him, and I'm a little disapointed he's gone.

I would've thought Pickett (with about 5 kids to feed) would've showed the required determination and fitness over the summer to gain another few hundred K and ensure some further security for his family.

Posted
Agree with that.

A fit and firing Pickett brings fear to the opposition.

We don't have a player like him, and I'm a little disapointed he's gone.

I would've thought Pickett (with about 5 kids to feed) would've showed the required determination and fitness over the summer to gain another few hundred K and ensure some further security for his family.

Where do you get off telling anyone whats best for Pickett? He obviously has thought this through and made a decision based on his whole circumstance - including his family. That you should question it shows ignorance and poor judgement.

Posted
Where do you get off telling anyone whats best for Pickett? He obviously has thought this through and made a decision based on his whole circumstance - including his family. That you should question it shows ignorance and poor judgement.

Just a suggestion mate. I'm surprised the above comment raised an eye-brow.

Posted

Recruiting Pickett was a risk that could've paid huge dividends, but could also have been a spectacular failure. Turns out in this case it was the latter.

I'm disappointed with the way it turned out, and the blame lays squarely on one man. I don't agree with the "don't let the door hit you on the way out" mentality of Rhino et al but I also don't think he really deserves any thanks for his "service".

Posted

So many guys change clubs and play great football again for the 1st year at the new club. I think it's the "another chance" that inspires them but I guess in the 2nd year, the problems that led to them leaving the prior club emerge again.

Still I wonder if we were playing in the finals this year whether Byron would have fired up again.

Posted
Recruiting Pickett was a risk that could've paid huge dividends, but could also have been a spectacular failure. Turns out in this case it was the latter.

I'm disappointed with the way it turned out, and the blame lays squarely on one man. I don't agree with the "don't let the door hit you on the way out" mentality of Rhino et al but I also don't think he really deserves any thanks for his "service".

:o:o:o

Weren't you harsh on longer term club servant who at least committed to basic fitness principles even though their ability was limiited?

No he cheated MFC badly and let everyone down. Its all his own fault.

SLAM! B)

Posted

Just to think that we have picked the worst draft to stock up on talented kids. We would be lucky to pick up a decent player after 20 in my opinion.

Posted
Just to think that we have picked the worst draft to stock up on talented kids. We would be lucky to pick up a decent player after 20 in my opinion.

Who's to say that picks after 20 will be any better?

FWIW, the uber draft of last year extended to the first 12 to 15 and not right the way through?

Honestly a draft pick in the 30's 40's or beyond has the same potential upsides/ risks regardless of the year.

Posted
:o:o:o

Weren't you harsh on longer term club servant who at least committed to basic fitness principles even though their ability was limiited?

No he cheated MFC badly and let everyone down. Its all his own fault.

SLAM! B)

I was waiting for someone to throw that comment in my face :P

All I said was that there was no need for a "bells and whistles" farewell for those players (had Ward and Ferguson in mind more than Bizzell). I still can't see what's so harsh about that.

Agree that it is all his own fault. I even said so in my post, if you took the time to read it properly rather than just baiting me about the bits you want to read.

Posted
I'm torn as to how warmly to clap Byron off to the bench on Sunday evening. He had a stellar career, but for the most part his two seasons with Melbourne were forgettable. I still think the MFC was correct in trading for him, looking for that extra bit of toughness that might have contributed to a premierhsip. Unfortunately, Byron let himself and the club down.

Agreed.

While Byron was extremely disappointing at the MFC, lets not lose sight of the fact that he has had a brilliant career and has achieved a lot.

I wish him all the best for the future, but I think we can all agree that he did not fulfill his commitments to the club.