Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Welcome to Demonland: Steven King

1 minute ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Gawny on triple M this morning mentioned something really interesting into the insight of Steven King.

Apparently pre game before Kingy got the players in, he gathered all the staff and footy department in first and had a big talk to them and supposedly nearly had a tear in his eye.

Sounds like a pretty special moment.

Not surprised to hear this.

In his original press conference he showed (what I thought to be) genuine gratitude and appreciation on not only landing a head coaching role but landing it at the MFC.

A fantastic first up result but mindful that we have some genuine tough games in Freo, GC and Brisbane coming up.

Not sure where to put this but Nathan Buckley was discussing the Dees on "On the Couch" and said "I get the feeling - and know intimately - that the change was warranted - and probably late to come. So there's probably some relief for the players that have been there for some time....and that brings with it freedom..."

Clearly prospective coaches were informed of the impending change to to the player lists

1 hour ago, jnrmac said:

Not sure where to put this but Nathan Buckley was discussing the Dees on "On the Couch" and said "I get the feeling - and know intimately - that the change was warranted - and probably late to come. So there's probably some relief for the players that have been there for some time....and that brings with it freedom..."

Clearly prospective coaches were informed of the impending change to to the player lists

Was he specifically talking about changes to the playing group or other changes, such as changes to the Board and management?

1 hour ago, jnrmac said:

Not sure where to put this but Nathan Buckley was discussing the Dees on "On the Couch"

If I was Bucks I’d either give up the media role or his coaching role, as in both Cats’ games Scott has had to head down to the bench and intervene in Nafe’s back-line adjudication.

Surely Gale is thinking that Golden Boy to Tassie may not be the best idea after all 🤔

1 hour ago, jnrmac said:

Nathan Buckley was saying some disguised comments yesterday - think he hates to see us winning and wanted to talk down about us - didn’t like it at all tbh

1 hour ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Was he specifically talking about changes to the playing group or other changes, such as changes to the Board and management?

He'd already said in a previous OTC that they were told there'd be changes to the playing personnel.

May, Petracca and Oliver were already out the door long before King arrived. From the drips of information that are available, it seems that the decisions to move them on came from across the club, from the FD (Richardson and Lamb) to the Board, with Guerra (and Smith, perhaps Green?) driving it all.

Disregard if you will that this is just one game in. Actually, disregard the result.

I'll be brazen enough to suggest we are at the start of a new era.

I'm not disrespecting Goodie. He came , had a vision, had some very interesting ideas ( so much they changed the rules ...thats amazing really ) He guided his troops as we were under the realities that were and got us the best box of Choccies !! Thankyou.

But we're here now and the club is different. Hence new era.

Will we dance the dance again ?? 🤔🤔 I think we might. Not this year, nor likely next... but look out after that.

I see something in this bloke.... I reckon all his charges see something, even seasoned gladiators feel reinvigorated. Viney's champing at the bit.

All many of us felt for a long time is we have ability, some very decent talent on our list. Now, instead of 18 blokes defending, we've 18 blokes attacking !!

We often comment about players buying in. King definitely has.. He's now a committed Demon.

As ol Big Kev (rip) would say... I'm excited !!