joeboy 3,193 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 Whelan - didn't appear interested Carroll - third poor game Ferguson - little to commend Ward - erratic and loose Wheatley - some cheap possessions Bell - a commendable effort Johnstone - kept on trying McDonald - not at best Moloney - full bodied endeavour Miller - provided a contest Green - gave a target Davey - needn't have played Jones - a shining light Jamar - not on field Holland - not on field White - beaten by hack Godfrey - unfortunately still commendable Bate - totally lost fluency Bruce - prolific but wasteful Brown - cheap late possessions Johnson - cheap meaningless possessions Yze - shouldn't retain position
Whispering_Jack 31,368 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 A bit tough on White and Whelan and not tough enough on Aaron Davey who didn't look interested in my opinion. Daniel Bell - a shining light (along with Jones).
classy dees 42 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 not bad joeboy, ill have a go Whelan - wasn't highly effective Carroll - was beaten generally Ferguson - sat on pine Ward - didnt give much Wheatley - not best 22 Bell - love his endeavor Johnstone - better than previously McDonald - nothing special Moloney - faded after start Miller - needed to convert Green - good pseudo FF Davey - invisible Jones - love his guts Jamar - had enough Holland - sat with fergy White - had a shocker*** Godfrey - enoguh is enough Bate - didn't give much Bruce - our best easily Brown - gave us little Johnson - future CHB perhaps? yze - far from worst *** won the ruck but was annihilated around the ground, and have never seen him make so many errors.
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 A bit tough on White and Whelan and not tough enough on Aaron Davey who didn't look interested in my opinion. Daniel Bell - a shining light (along with Jones). Jeff White was shocking today, absolutely shocking. He is a ruckman, and should therefore be judged on his rucking, which today was pathetic (he can't hit the damn thing to advantage!). He got beaten by a nobody. His disposal around the ground was also ordinary. He made some huge errors with the ball, and dropped some seaters. One of his worst performances. Whelan was Whelan. Davey needs to be dropped. Chasing from behind is just not enough. Bell, Moloney and Jones... all under 23, and all full of heart. The rest were on the wrong side of rubbish. Be it in their disposal, their hardness, or their willingness to chase.
dees_rule_4eva 22 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 Jeff White was shocking today, absolutely shocking. He is a ruckman, and should therefore be judged on his rucking, which today was pathetic (he can't hit the damn thing to advantage!). He got beaten by a nobody. His disposal around the ground was also ordinary. He made some huge errors with the ball, and dropped some seaters. One of his worst performances. Whelan was Whelan. Davey needs to be dropped. Chasing from behind is just not enough. Bell, Moloney and Jones... all under 23, and all full of heart. The rest were on the wrong side of rubbish. Be it in their disposal, their hardness, or their willingness to chase. White was terrible around the ground, but smashed Blake in the ruck. Try hitting the ball to advantage when your midfielders are not as hungry as the Cats. Agree on Whelan. Davey needs to be dropped. Agree. Or maybe he's injured. God knows.
buck_nekkid 6,101 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 White was terrible around the ground, but smashed Blake in the ruck. Try hitting the ball to advantage when your midfielders are not as hungry as the Cats. Agree on Whelan. Davey needs to be dropped. Agree. Or maybe he's injured. God knows. Here's a thought.. Aaron Davey is cheesed off that his brother, who trained with Melbourne over the summer, was not picked up. Instead he went to the Bombers. So, maybe he's not really happy and is expressing it in his play????... Hmmmm. Otherwise, how can you explain the 'hero to zero' path so fast?
Gouga 570 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 I actually thought Ferguson's game was quite good and it was mistake to keep him on the bench in the second half. Bate and Davey both need to be dropped. Someone rang triple m and said that Davey is struggling with an injury from the all star game. I'm not convinced, he looks fit enough. Just out of touch.
who killed ame? 0 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 Bell, Moloney and Jones... all under 23, and all full of heart. The rest were on the wrong side of rubbish. Be it in their disposal, their hardness, or their willingness to chase. lets just hope none of them get injured, yeah? enjoyed watching all of them play today. green showed flashes of .. well better then the rest. he actually ran to the ball when he was in the forward line. he should have started there!!
deesrock 0 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 Here's a thought.. Aaron Davey is cheesed off that his brother, who trained with Melbourne over the summer, was not picked up. Instead he went to the Bombers. So, maybe he's not really happy and is expressing it in his play????... Hmmmm. Otherwise, how can you explain the 'hero to zero' path so fast? What a joke! You can not be serious!
who killed ame? 0 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 What a joke! You can not be serious! actually that makes some sense.
sylvinator 96 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 whoever said ferguson played alright today was watching a different game i was. he loses every one-on-one. has no strength. does not read the play well... He will 300% get delisted at years end...will be no loss he is not afl standard i still rue the fact we didnt trade him for sewell a couple of years ago. what a great trade that wouldv been for us
waynewussell 6,976 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 Whelan - tough but erratic Carroll - leave on Mooney Ferguson - best for Hawkins Ward - gave his best Wheatley - gradually into form Bell - showed us heaps Johnstone - improved his workrate McDonald - best at clearances Moloney - provided some drive Miller - provided a contest Green - FF best position Davey - didn't give up Jones - a shining light Jamar - some good hitouts Holland - tried to compete White - in comfort zone Godfrey - kept on coming Bate - Sandy stint beckons Bruce - almost our best Brown - gets the ball Johnson - full on effort Yze - more than previously
Rhino Richards 1,467 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 ........ Remind me from your summary, how much did we win by in the end?
DemonDoug 0 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 Can't drop them all (mmm, not a bad idea though !) , but we need several changes so players who are not performing realise there is a price to pay. Bizell, CJ, Byron P in plus one new player is worth a try. Pity if Sylvia is injured and Moroney ! Can things get any worse !
deesrock 0 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 Just reading best players on "real footy" and Nathan Carrol is in the mix - normally I rate him but he has been beaten 3 out of 3 games this season - shows how good we are going when he is named in the best.... Maybe it was meant to be the other Nathan - JONES - he tries his heart out and nevers shirks a contest - he wants that ball.......maybe forget the 3 words for every player this week and just put LEARN FROM JONES next to all of them - a 18/19 year old kid who has more oomph and desire than the rest of the team put together! A future star!!!
waynewussell 6,976 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 Rhino, in three words, which comment do you disagree with?
demoniac 1,337 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 Paul Johnson showed something. He is definitely a better option down back than Holland - he is quicker, has more footy smarts and has better disposal, he needs to work on his marking but so does Benny. His effort in front of the MCC members when he chased 3 times from the half back flank to the wing without receiving any help at all from any other Melbourne players should be compulory viewing for all of them. Not up to AFL standard. White, Yze, Ferguson, Brown, Wheatley, Holland, Ward, Godfrey
marfa 0 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 its like as if theyre getting paid extra to lose, none of them seem to be trying, they all run like as if theyre in la la land, no one tackles, when an opposistion palyer marks our boys run showing him where to kick, holland carrol and miller really need to go
Red and Blue Flame 242 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 I actually thought Ferguson's game was quite good and it was mistake to keep him on the bench in the second half. Bate and Davey both need to be dropped. Someone rang triple m and said that Davey is struggling with an injury from the all star game. I'm not convinced, he looks fit enough. Just out of touch. HOORAY FINALLY- bate should be dropped...all the fans around me today we were saying hurray when daniher finally dragged him late in the game. I'm not convinced.., didnt want to go in and get the ball..better off at a club winning and getting cheap kicks.
Red and Blue Flame 242 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 Paul Johnson showed something. He is definitely a better option down back than Holland - he is quicker, has more footy smarts and has better disposal, he needs to work on his marking but so does Benny. His effort in front of the MCC members when he chased 3 times from the half back flank to the wing without receiving any help at all from any other Melbourne players should be compulory viewing for all of them. Not up to AFL standard. White, Yze, Ferguson, Brown, Wheatley, Holland, Ward, Godfrey I agree completely with that.. i think we need to talk about Jeff White- beaten by a hack, and just cant play the ruck well since the smaller circle has been brought in a couple of years ago. Isn't the same and his well past his best- should look into trading him if he continues his current form, we'll wait and see
Rhino Richards 1,467 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 Rhino, in three words, which comment do you disagree with? Most of it.
occo 2 Posted April 15, 2007 Posted April 15, 2007 Whelan - didn't appear interested Carroll - third poor game Ferguson - little to commend Ward - erratic and loose Wheatley - some cheap possessions Bell - a commendable effort Johnstone - kept on trying McDonald - not at best Moloney - full bodied endeavour Miller - provided a contest Green - gave a target Davey - needn't have played Jones - a shining light Jamar - not on field Holland - not on field White - beaten by hack Godfrey - unfortunately still commendable Bate - totally lost fluency Bruce - prolific but wasteful Brown - cheap late possessions Johnson - cheap meaningless possessions Yze - shouldn't retain position Agree with u in all thoes except Fergs. First game back and started ok, took some nice marks. It was hard for defenders today as the ball kept coming in there. Davey was ordinary again. My best mate bate, well hes struggeling. I suggested he go forward but didnt ever mark it. Some worries i think. From what i saw today i would like Garland, Pettard and Newton to get a run with Biz and drop Bell - who was as ordinary as most of the players. Racked possessions but ineffective kicks and handballs.