On 03/06/2020 at 12:05, bing181 said:

Tomlinson speaks well. Impressive.

if only he played well

my understanding is his spot in the 22 for round 1 was borderline and was saved by a very good preseason hit-out plus the injuries to salem and jones

if he plays like he did against meth coke again he'll be out of the side pretty quickly

On 03/06/2020 at 12:05, bing181 said:

Tomlinson speaks well. Impressive.

If only we had all players who spoke Via their actions on the Footy field,   instead of their mouths. 

I don't care if they're missing their front teeth and drooling,  as long as they are champion players.

On 04/06/2020 at 02:23, MyFavouriteMartian said:

If only we had all players who spoke Via their actions on the Footy field

On 04/06/2020 at 02:03, whatwhatsaywhat said:

if only he played well

Let's just consider for a moment (work with me here) that players might be able to both speak well AND play well, just as they might be able to both speak badly AND play badly.

Two ideas at once. Perhaps too radical for Demonland.

On 04/06/2020 at 02:03, whatwhatsaywhat said:

if only he played well

my understanding is his spot in the 22 for round 1 was borderline and was saved by a very good preseason hit-out plus the injuries to salem and jones

if he plays like he did against meth coke again he'll be out of the side pretty quickly

I'm seriously confused by this paragraph.

New to the club to play in a position we targeted him for, played well (or in your words, "very good") in the preseason, the two players you mentioned aren't challenging for the same position, yet you "understand" he was "borderline" to get a game?

Either you have misunderstood, or you are trolling.  Possibly both.

nope, got the word from a mate of his - tomlinson was told he wasn't in the 22 for round 1 prior to the last preseason match, the performance therein helped him secure his spot in the 22 despite his performance (or lack thereof) on the training track

i was similarly mighty surprised to learn this given that, as you say, he plays in a position we clearly targeted, he performed when the heat was on him

Edited by whatwhatsaywhat

On 03/06/2020 at 08:35, Ron Burgundy said:

Thanks - it's tempting.

But I think the masses here have come to know Ron Burgundy as being associated with this very basic, and possibly extremely unflattering, self portrait.

I like your work though. It's clean.

Gotta respect a man who likes his meat and potatoes straight up. No worries.... 

On 04/06/2020 at 06:49, whatwhatsaywhat said:

nope, got the word from a mate of his - tomlinson was told he wasn't in the 22 for round 1 prior to the last preseason match, the performance therein helped him secure his spot in the 22 despite his performance (or lack thereof) on the training track

i was similarly mighty surprised to learn this given that, as you say, he plays in a position we clearly targeted, he performed when the heat was on him

So they already picked a round 1 side literally 3 weeks before the actual game?

Yeah nah..  I think your mate has stitched you up here.

On 04/06/2020 at 08:54, dazzledavey36 said:

So they already picked a round 1 side literally 3 weeks before the actual game?

Yeah nah..  I think your mate has stitched you up here.

It was probably “due to your calf injury looking at you for round 2-3”. Changed when he played in pre season and showed form and fitness 

Edited by Gawn's Beard

On 02/06/2020 at 11:13, picket fence said:

Exactly Harmes excelled with a mid field run with role in the main, and now we are trying to turn him into a defender

Nup!!

Harmes can play almost anywhere ... he was needed down back to add pace to the half-back line and either side forward or backward of that area.

He excelled in an area where we had/have no attacking-defending pace or muscle or intent, let alone direct pressure on an opposition forward (previously known as well-maintained close checking or tagging). We see the 'same old/same old' leaving us, in reality, a KPD short and often defenceless in that part of the ground; consequently, that which was lacking was provided by Harmes, for a change.

This left us an attacking mid-forward short, leaving big brother to pick up the 'loss of form' criticisms against more than one opponent (as someone was free to help spoil big brother). 

Time for a new CHB - with guts and ingrained effort to burn. Let's ask Hardeman to pick us one coz he was the best we ever had.

On 04/06/2020 at 06:07, bing181 said:

Let's just consider for a moment (work with me here) that players might be able to both speak well AND play well, just as they might be able to both speak badly AND play badly.

Two ideas at once. Perhaps too radical for Demonland.

I truly dislike the perception that this club would make a choice between draftees,  Dane Swan and Trent Cotchin,  based on an ability to present well.  I would hope speaking ability has absolutely nothing to do, with our recruiting decisions.

We ware not recruiting bloody barristers,  nor politicians.

# And Dusty Martin says high and thank-you,  to Melbourne's past recruiters.

On 04/06/2020 at 10:51, MyFavouriteMartian said:

I truly dislike the perception that this club would make a choice between draftees,  Dane Swan and Trent Cotchin,  based on an ability to present well.  I would hope speaking ability has absolutely nothing to do, with our recruiting decisions.

We ware not recruiting bloody barristers,  nor politicians.

# And Dusty Martin says high and thank-you,  to Melbourne's past recruiters.

Not sure I would have had faith in our Club turning Dusty around back then. If the same choices were available now it might be a different story.

On 04/06/2020 at 13:02, dworship said:

Not sure I would have had faith in our Club turning Dusty around back then. If the same choices were available now it might be a different story.

I agree,  but not for dusty,  but for our failings at developing players,  over the bulk of our time.

We have to become More footy,  as a club. 

We are almost more a business-man's club,  than a footy club.  And this is a big part of our failing.  Our attitudes.

- - - - - - - -

We refused to talk to Dusty.   This is the type attitude,  I am referring to in our recruiting strategies.  We would go for a Scully,  who Ironically looked down on Us,  and left,  asap.

This is the type of craap I want us to lose from the club.  That Holier than thou rubbish we carry off field,  as a club.  And with some in here, on this forum