Posted (edited)
28 minutes ago, Wadda We Sing said:

Protest 4th v 2nd

Yeah and I'm hoping the protest is dismissed but I'm not holding my breath. 

There's not much Dettori could do though because if a horse hangs in late it is very difficult for the jockey to adjust in time.

Edit:  Ugh ... $333 down to zero

You win some you lose some and I recall being on the other side of the ledger in the Caulfield Stakes last year.  (Benbatl should have been relegated to 2nd)

Il Paradiso was probably robbed of victory in all reality.  Those on it might feel aggrieved as it was storming through before the interference.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Macca said:

Yeah and I'm hoping the protest is dismissed but I'm not holding my breath. 

There's not much Dettori could do though because if a horse hangs in late it is very difficult for the jockey to adjust in time.

Edit:  Ugh ... $333 down to zero

You win some you lose some and I recall being on the other side of the ledger in the Caulfield Stakes last year.  (Benbatl should have relegated to 2nd)

Il Paradiso was probably robbed of victory in all reality.  Those on it might feel aggrieved as it was storming through before the interference.

Yep, the old protest. Been a long time since we had one in the Cup.

I somehow managed to go the other way and get the quinella x 2 which i didnt have before the protest......However i had the trifecta boxed 10% with all the four (+ a few others) so im sure it would have paid a lot more than it did. Think it was 5k before and 3k after. I can never tell with ladbrokes what tote you get? Anyway i figured i lost around 50 which was ok.

Now what about this pick 7 winners for a share of 200K on Racing.com. It costs nothing to enter. Available Emirates. I think we should all have a go.

https://pick7.racing.com/

Edited by Wadda We Sing
Posted
1 minute ago, Wadda We Sing said:

Yep, the old protest. Been a long time since we had one in the Cup.

I somehow managed to go the other way and get the quinella x 2 which i didnt have before the protest......However i had the trifecta boxed 10% with all the four (+ a few others) so im sure it would have paid a lot more than it did. Think it was 5k before and 3k after. I can never tell with ladbrokes what tote you get? Anyway i figured i lost around 50 which was ok.

Now what about this pick 7 winners for a share of 200K on Racing.com. It costs nothing to enter. Available Oaks and Emirates. I think we should all have a go.

First 4 on tab went from 93 to 67so TAB would have been very happy

Posted

Used to love a punt, but the abuse and suffering the horses go through purely for our fame and fortune doesnt sit right with me

Posted
3 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

Yeah it did....i didnt have Master or Prince for 2nd.

I had a mate in Sydney whos been putting multis into Master of Reality since June including the winner of the Caulfield Guineas and the Cox plate. He ended up with 30k for the win and 1500 for the place......i havent heard from him yet, better give him a tingle later.

Posted
15 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

The TAB takes about 20% no matter what the dividend is on trifecta's and the like.

Fixed odds is different but tote odds has an automatic % attached.  80/20 is the usual ratio although some of the forms of betting are 85/15 or 82/18. 

So the only way the betting agencies can lose is with large bets at fixed odds.  And then they can always lay off.

e.g ... if a TAB trifecta pool is $1Million then the TAB takes $200k straight off the top.

The dividend is then worked out with the remaining $800k (depending on how many successful combinations)

Posted (edited)

Well my day ended well after a very average day, got Vow in the cup then got the winner tactical advantage in the 9th, then was on Akari  in the last and got the trifecta with it, so happy end to the day.

Edited by Gorgoroth

Posted

Ridiculous pace in the cup. nothing was going to come from begins wit that pace. Where were the European pace makers? Crazy. They shot themselves in the foot. With a decent pace one of Surprise Baby, Mer de glace or Finche would have won that - and filled the trifecta. Top runs by all 3 given the tempo.

In my various first fours had 6 of of the first 8 finishers, But no joy. With a truly run race i'm sure i would have snagged it.

Got out with Akiri in the last to make small profit for the day.

Posted
49 minutes ago, binman said:

Ridiculous pace in the cup. nothing was going to come from begins wit that pace. Where were the European pace makers? Crazy. They shot themselves in the foot. With a decent pace one of Surprise Baby, Mer de glace or Finche would have won that - and filled the trifecta. Top runs by all 3 given the tempo.

In my various first fours had 6 of of the first 8 finishers, But no joy. With a truly run race i'm sure i would have snagged it.

Got out with Akiri in the last to make small profit for the day.

Thought the same thing.

The number of horses in it at the 200 metres you would have thought it was a 1600 metres race.

Reflects the entries I suppose. Bring back Scotch and Dry perhaps

Posted (edited)

VRC Kennedy Oaks – What you need to know (JustHorseRacing)

On the surface it looks like the winner should come from the first 4 in the betting but the Oaks can throw up upset wins and with the placings as well.  Maybe the 5,  8,  9 or the 10 can get into the finish to provide a bit of value. 

image.thumb.png.eb9e476835a49a02c252d50186faae65.png

Posted
1 hour ago, Macca said:

VRC Kennedy Oaks – What you need to know (JustHorseRacing)

On the surface it looks like the winner should come from the first 4 in the betting but the Oaks can throw up upset wins and with the placings as well.  Maybe the 5,  8,  9 or the 10 can get into the finish to provide a bit of value. 

image.thumb.png.eb9e476835a49a02c252d50186faae65.png

Oliver/OBrien is a good combination. Did you know, he is the most successful Flemington Jockey in the last 150 years? He didnt ! :)

Posted
21 hours ago, Gorgoroth said:

I’ve been on Miami Bound a few times and I’ll stay on it. 
outside the favs I think Beauty Bolt is a outside chance.

19 hours ago, Wadda We Sing said:

Oliver/OBrien is a good combination. Did you know, he is the most successful Flemington Jockey in the last 150 years? He didnt ! :)

Good tipping fellas!

Weekend Strike Rate (Early)

1: 1 - 0 - 0

Posted (edited)

Best Bet

Flemington Saturday

Race 4 No.5 True Self $2.10 Win

Having a break after this Saturday fellas. Back for the Autumn unless something pops up over the Perth Carnival.

It’s been heaps of fun guys, good luck to all this weekend.

Thanks Macca for all your effort on this thread with replays and latest news/results from overseas racing. Much appreciated.

Edited by Dee Zephyr

Posted
12 hours ago, Wadda We Sing said:

Best Bet:

Sat Flemington Race 8 No 9 Loving Gaby $8.00

Yours is Race 8 Wadda

Mine ...

Best Bet

Flemington Saturday

Race 8 No.15 Melody Belle (Win) $3.60

Posted
20 hours ago, Wadda We Sing said:

Best Bet:

Sat Flemington Race 8 No 9 Loving Gaby $8.00

Loving Gaby is in Race 5 Wadda

Posted (edited)

Best Bets:

Sat Flemington Race 3 No.3  Knickpoint $2.10 (W) 

Sat Flemington Race 4 No.5 True Self $2.10 (W)

Sat Flemington Race 5 No.9 Loving Gaby $8.00 (W)

Sat Flemington Race 7 No.3 Admirals Joker (W) $5.50 (W)

Sat Flemington Race 8 No.15 Melody Belle $3.60 (W)

Last day of the Carnival. Feeling lucky? 698/1 if you are! Good Luck folks!

Edited by Wadda We Sing
Posted
2 hours ago, Macca said:

Loving Gaby is in Race 5 Wadda

Thanks....not sure how i did that......late night selections. Shes back i reckon.

Curious also to see if anyone is doing the pick 7 at Racing. com ? Its actually a good exercise in madness and having only 1 selection in each race but really makes you look at the form. Well thats my 2c anyway.

Posted
8 hours ago, Wadda We Sing said:

Thanks....not sure how i did that......late night selections. Shes back i reckon.

Curious also to see if anyone is doing the pick 7 at Racing. com ? Its actually a good exercise in madness and having only 1 selection in each race but really makes you look at the form. Well thats my 2c anyway.

I don’t do online betting which is prob a good thing for me I’ve not really looked into it. 

For some exotics I’d love to have online account bu5 it prob means I would be on a tonne of NFL/AFL Exotics on all the time ?

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Gorgoroth said:

I don’t do online betting which is prob a good thing for me I’ve not really looked into it. 

For some exotics I’d love to have online account bu5 it prob means I would be on a tonne of NFL/AFL Exotics on all the time ?

Yes very true G. But this is not really on-line betting, its a competition and its free to enter. You just nominate 1 horse for the last 7 races. Nearly impossible, but worth a shot for free.

Edited by Wadda We Sing
Posted
2 hours ago, Wadda We Sing said:

Yes very true G. But this is not really on-line betting, its a competition and its free to enter. You just nominate 1 horse for the last 7 races. Nearly impossible, but worth a shot for free.

So, where the catch...