View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

GAME DAY - 2013 GRAND FINAL (SANFL)

Actually, I've always wanted to be able to start a thread like this but with the AFL as the competition and the Redlegs being the Melbourne Football Club.

Today, the SANFL Redlegs (Norwood) start as hot favourites to win the flag against North Adelaide Roosters who made the Grand Final from fifth spot after the home and away series. This is effectively the last football match of the season and, in the absence of success at AFL level, this will have to do for Red & Blue tragics for this year at least.

For those who don't particularly feel the connection with the SA Redlegs, there's the youth connection. Norwood has teenagers James Aish and Trent Dumont expected to gain first round draft selection next month and that should be of interest given the draft selections we currently hold. And remember, we drafted Dean Terlich from Norwood last year after he was BOG in the grand final win last year and half back flanker Jace Bode is a former Demon while Michael Newton, who had ACL surgery last year is also on their list. Coach Nathan Bassett was once a Melbourne rookie before going on to have a stellar career with the Crows. Rookie Mitch Clisby came from the Roosters.

And, if that doesn't whet your appetite then surely the fact that this is the last game of footy at that scourge of all grounds for the MFC, Football Park or AAMI Stadium, surely will?

Grand Final Teams

NORWOOD

F: M. Evans, Warren, Grigg
HF: James Aish, Dawe, Jefferies
C: Phillips, Thomas, Fuller
HB: Pfeiffer, McGuinness, Bode
B: Stevenson, Georgiou, Kirwan
R: Baulderstone, Webber, Suckling
INT FROM: Davis, Dumont, Zorzi, Fantasia, Bampton
IN: M. Evans, Fantasia

NORTH ADELAIDE

F: OSullivan, Johnston, Langford
HF: Ryswyk, Stewart, Gordon
C: Thiele, Fenton, Campbell
HB: Blee, Hill, G. Thring
B: Keller, Dalwood, Clinch
R: Miles, Shannon, M. Thring
INT FROM: Amato, J. Craig, Anderson, Williams, Boles
IN: Williams, Boles

TV: Live ABC1 SA Coverage is available at Charles Dicken Tavern Collins St Melbourne from 3:30pm.

RADIO: ABC Local Radio Adelaide, FiveAA, RPH Adelaide & Life FM Adelaide are available through the TuneIn Radio App.

Norwood comprehensively won at their last meeting in round 23 by 51 points: Norwood 14-16(100) def North 7-7(49) but earlier in the season, it was the Roosters by 21: North 14-5(89) def Norwood 9-14(68)

Odds from Sportsbet

Norwood $1.22

North Adelaide $4.20

($1.90 Line is 29.5pts)

You can follow the game on www.sanfl.com.au and here's to a premiership today for the red and the blue!

If Aish plays well will we then take 2 off the table and go for him. As far as an indicator of how hard he'd go at AFL, thin build.....I'd imagine the opposition will be desperate and they'd be a lot of hard hits....I reckon it would be hard not to.

Go the Redlegs make us proud

:cool: :cool: :cool:

Billy Stretch is also playing today for Glenelg in the reserves Grand final

Go Billy!

• Author

Billy Stretch is also playing today for Glenelg in the reserves Grand final

Go Billy!

I'm not sure if they're streaming the game on the SANFL site but it might be worth a look to see how Billy's travelling ...

In other news from around the world, the omens are all good.

Earlier today the Boston Red Sox (well, er, um redlegs to me) won over Tampa Bay in the MLB playoffs and the Demonland/Demonology footy team gave BomberBlitz a glimpse into a future of the red and blue under Paul Roos winning by 20 goals. Roosy couldn't make it today but I believe Wise marked his return from China with a stunning coaching debut proving my decision to step down (before I got knifed in the back) an inspired move :lol:

• Author

Anyone who took my advice about watching the SANFL Reserves Grand Final to catch a glimpse of Billy Stretch would have been well rewarded. It is being streamed on www.sanfl.com.au and the young bloke is doing nicely. Glenelg leads by 4 points late in the third quarter. Billy has had 17 touches and kicked a goal. Lightly built and doesn't look like his old man at all but looks composed and kicks and marks well.

stretcher was a classic. How often did he get flattened after kicking a 60 metre Bomb during the Northey years!!

Doesn't look like it is I can't find it

I cant find it

Although due to time delay in adelaide the match doesn't start for another 15 minutes

Its the 13:45 minute mark and James Aish has 7 disposals 2 marks 0 tackles 2 clangers and 2 inside 50s

Dumont who is considerd a first rounder is dominating. He is the game leading disposal getter at the 17 minute mark with 13 disposals, 6 marks, 0 tackles, 2 inside 50s and 51 dreamteam points

Its the 13:45 minute mark and James Aish has 7 disposals 2 marks 0 tackles 2 clangers and 2 inside 50s

Is a Cl on the stats sheet a clearance or a clanger? I would've though clearance.

Thanks for the updates. The ABC has a SANFL program at 2.00am on Wednesday morning. I am hoping this will be a replay of this Grand Final. Does anyone know?

Should be on ABC iview before that mate

Replay of the match can be seen on ABC iview

Norwood now out to a 3 goal lead at the 8 minute mark..