View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Worst season ever?

I remember listening to that with the National Panasonic wireless under the pillow as a kiddie!!!

1971 started so well....42 years later i/we still wait for the 13th..who would have thunk it!!

Gee Wyl you gave me a laugh and brought back fond memories of the old transistors I used to listen to. I've taken a day off work to do some painting at home and jeysus if that wasn't bad enough I took a lunch break and opened this thread and was feeling like necking myself. I read your post and a big smile of childhood memories came back.

With the memories whilst we have been shite most my life there have still been some good times and many good players, our biggest problem was timing mismanagement with the introduction of the new franchises. The compromised drafts have killed us because with all the talent Suns and GWS have picked up don't worry as bad as our recruiting has been we would have fluked one or two.

There have been many occasions since 2011 I have thought that has to be rock bottom, but the club continues to prove me wrong. In my 33 years of following this club this one has hurt the most. I just hope I look back on 2013 as the year we hit rock bottom and started to move back up the ladder and earn back some respect.

I really respect people who have been commited to the cause for such a long time and still stick with it, having only really been an MFC supporter since the mid nineties and a tragic since the 00 season I have experienced a few high's but more low's and I've often wondered how people can go through so much over such long periods. I think my OP wasn't just wanting to know if this has been the worst season on record/ statistically or in people's opinions but also wanting to know how you guy's can do it for so long. I think from most of the post's I have read that the answer is 'hope' and the belief that things can only get better, there is a lot of pessimistic post's and negative things said on this site in the heat of the moment, yet all these people keep on coming back for more which you have to a) admire and b) think how crazy and commited they are, but seeing people who have been through this all for twice as long (and more..) than I have has really helped me to see that there is a light at the end of the tunnel. Hope, belief and a little bit of crazy. Cheers guys.

In some ways I've been lucky, because I've been fortunate enough to taste the glory (albeit a long, long time ago), and it's well worth the wait I promise you. Hang in there Doreen, we'll be right!

Edited by Deeoldfart

'81 was bad... but we did have JACKO !!!

Well BBB he was an individual!

Gee Wyl you gave me a laugh and brought back fond memories of the old transistors I used to listen to. I've taken a day off work to do some painting at home and jeysus if that wasn't bad enough I took a lunch break and opened this thread and was feeling like necking myself. I read your post and a big smile of childhood memories came back.

With the memories whilst we have been shite most my life there have still been some good times and many good players, our biggest problem was timing mismanagement with the introduction of the new franchises. The compromised drafts have killed us because with all the talent Suns and GWS have picked up don't worry as bad as our recruiting has been we would have fluked one or two.

There have been many occasions since 2011 I have thought that has to be rock bottom, but the club continues to prove me wrong. In my 33 years of following this club this one has hurt the most. I just hope I look back on 2013 as the year we hit rock bottom and started to move back up the ladder and earn back some respect.

Cheers PSD time flies mate. I also remember the Red Everyready batteries that went into that radio. They would leak a disgusting chemical if left inside after they were dead.

I am suprised any of us survived the late 60's & early 70's!!!

If I remember correctly, 81 had great entertainment value. Was Crosswell on board then because I remember him spinning the ball on his fingers after every second mark. It was a bad season but not short of bizarre characters. Alas, the last few seasons have not had that aspect and footy has become life and death.

Going out to VFL Park Waverley was still fun in those days.....bloody day trip!!

pushing cars out of the mud, sweet memories

My old man had a touch of the Clarke Grimshaws about him in that VFL Park was our Lampoons Vacation Wally's World. We'd arrive three hrs before a game (minimum) and park as far away as humanly possible. Long muddy walk to get there and at the end of the game we'd wait for the carpark to clear to be on the safe side.

Hahaha you poor [censored] i can see that nightmare unfolding....My dad was always late, last minute decision...."Let's go to the football, i think we can make it.."

We always did...Bribing car park attendants was an art form!!

Hey RTG did you make it home for Sunday's World of Sport??

I thought last year was our worst year, until this year.

and thetes always a certain reocurring deja vu about that ! :rolleyes:

Hahaha you poor [censored] i can see that nightmare unfolding....My dad was always late, last minute decision...."Let's go to the football, i think we can make it.."

We always did...Bribing car park attendants was an art form!!

Hey RTG did you make it home for Sunday's World of Sport??

Geez, you're testing me here. I thought it started around 12 on a Sunday did it not? And there was a movie segment on channel 9 called Epic Theatre with old movies like the original 'Man in the Iron Mask'. But I digress!

Actually, Epic Theatre was earlier perhaps

I'll bet he didn't wear his Cousin Eddie white patent leather shoes to the footy then. He'd keep those for 'best', maybe for a counter tea at The Village Green.

Geez, you're testing me here. I thought it started around 12 on a Sunday did it not? And there was a movie segment on channel 9 called Epic Theatre with old movies like the original 'Man in the Iron Mask'. But I digress!

Epic Theatre...Now you are talking The Great Sword & Sandal movies..

Frank Thring being fed grapes...even Michael Pate (Senior Seargent Madden) made it into those old movies..I reckon Epic Theatre started about 1.30 PM

I'll bet he didn't wear his Cousin Eddie white patent leather shoes to the footy then. He'd keep those for 'best', maybe for a counter tea at The Village Green.

The Frank Traynor Jazz Band at the Beaumaris pub was a good place for white shoes in the 70's

Strictly for The Swagman Theatre Restaurant

Epic Theatre...Now you are talking The Great Sword & Sandal movies..

Frank Thring being fed grapes...even Michael Pate (Senior Seargent Madden) made it into those old movies..I reckon Epic Theatre started about 1.30 PM

Brilliant! It followed Dyer, Richards etc

Strictly for The Swagman Theatre Restaurant

Which, from memory, burnt down in mysterious circumstances

I only started following VFL footy in '87 when the Eagles came in, prior to that in the West we had 1 hour of Winners each week so VFL no one cared. I realise the MFC had some very lean years through 70's and 80's but I don't know if we have had a 7 year period that has produced only 33 wins and 2 draws, with 15 wins and 2 draws coming in 2 of those 7 seasons. We are facing a hell of a decade, a decade of lost supporters

Brilliant! It followed Dyer, Richards etc

Yep, it was cool to switch over after the Footy Panel...

I only started following VFL footy in '87 when the Eagles came in, prior to that in the West we had 1 hour of Winners each week so VFL no one cared. I realise the MFC had some very lean years through 70's and 80's but I don't know if we have had a 7 year period that has produced only 33 wins and 2 draws, with 15 wins and 2 draws coming in 2 of those 7 seasons. We are facing a hell of a decade, a decade of lost supporters

As a doctor, surely DD you realize that the health of a club is a long term thing. We are sick but we will get better. That's my prognosis anyway