Posted

daisycutter, on 12 Jun 2013 - 08:42, said:

Simple

Its no longer the "Peoples Game", its the "TV Networks Game"

One day they will completely take it over

maybe but hopefully not. I think there may evn come a groundswell push one day to have more Sat arvo games...theres an idea.

The 3.20 start is so that it finishes as a lead into the news. Much ratings success on telly revolves around viewers watchign thenews and staying on that channel.

Of course most TV execs and programmers are absolute idiots, problem is many of the people watching it are even more so.

Posted

Or you could aim to have 40,000 MFC Members/Supporters attend an interstate game.

It all depends on how serious the club REALLY is about winning more flags.

The easy way out is to aim small and keep polishing the cups we already have.

I know which way i would prefer.

LOL.

Gee you come out with some absolute thoughtless tripe at times, WYL.

40,000 Demons attend an interstate game...

Wow. Just wow.

Posted

LOL.

Gee you come out with some absolute thoughtless tripe at times, WYL.

40,000 Demons attend an interstate game...

Wow. Just wow.

With your attitude we won't.
Posted

What a [censored] joke you are. You took seriously some other nutter's idea to get you on the board.

You believe 40,000 members should be at interstate games and yet you CBF to go to one MFC game since round 2. The bullshite just doesnt stop.

Seriously its so difficult to sort through the dross on Demonland at present.

Posted (edited)

What a [censored] joke you are. You took seriously some other nutter's idea to get you on the board.

You believe 40,000 members should be at interstate games and yet you CBF to go to one MFC game since round 2. The bullshite just doesnt stop.

A well run winning MFC should easily draw 40,000 to any game we play at the MCG.

What's your problem Frankie??

Posted (edited)

I am very confident the dees in top four form would draw 40 000 to an interstate game

I think Frank that it is so long since we have been in that state you have forgotten.

Posted

The only way you could get Casey Fields to work (personally living near Tullamarine Airport going to Casey wouldn't be a place i would get to every game) is that if you ground share it with other teams such as St Kilda (who would have a large Bayside presence and membership base) Hawthorn, (possibly for GC and GWS games) and Richmond (for the same games).

that way rather than us playing 3 games a year there you could get 8-9 there a year possibly more.

Geelong, North and the Bulldogs could have the same deal @ Kardinia Park.

It allows an opportunity to grow AFL presence in the 2 of the fastest growing areas in Australia as well as enhance the opportunity to increase match day revenue.

Metro has footy special trains running from Flinders down the Werribee / Geelong and Cranbourne lines (or transport could be subsidised by Metro as part of your ticket - Australian open style) to encorage more fans to trek to these two grounds.

Simonds has the infrastucture in place, Casey would need a capacity of 20-25,000 with the same infrastructure as Aurora Stadium.

So where do i sign up for the MFC board on the back of this brilliant win-win idea?

Posted

A well run winning MFC should easily draw 40,000 to any game we play at the MCG.

What's your problem Frankie??

You said 40,000 demon members attend an interstate game.

On a seperate note My problem is not you particularly, its watching my team live. I feel sorry for all those players who win the ball and look up and only finding the opposition spreading out, and jamar (In particular) walking around the centre square looking stuffed. You cant see how pathetic they are on TV.

Yet back on here(DL) you see tally-ho's for playing hard in the 1st qtr.

I think for someone to be as opinionated as you post, you need to see it to embrace the whole catastrophe.

Posted

I am very confident the dees in top four form would draw 40 000 to an interstate game

I think Frank that it is so long since we have been in that state you have forgotten.

Exactly...To many people have been lulled into a scenario where they now totally believe we are a "little club" who must down size.

the reality is this club needs the best people to run it, it has been a long time since that has happened

You pay cheap rates, you get a cheap job.

In the words of our present coach "It is what it is..."

Posted

You said 40,000 demon members attend an interstate game.

On a seperate note My problem is not you particularly, its watching my team live. I feel sorry for all those players who win the ball and look up and only finding the opposition spreading out, and jamar (In particular) walking around the centre square looking stuffed. You cant see how pathetic they are on TV.

Yet back on here(DL) you see tally-ho's for playing hard in the 1st qtr.

I think for someone to be as opinionated as you post, you need to see it to embrace the whole catastrophe.

I can see it Frankie, i have watched some games on big flat screens..you can see a lot when not watching the ball.

I go to the Football to see a contest..we have been unacceptable in that department since mid to late 2010.

In reference to my above comment, 40.000 attendance for any game with an interstate club if we are in the 8 or pushing is not out of reach..

40,000 MFC members would be brilliant..Hard work ahead, but can be done.

Posted

40,000 to an interstate game!?!

To start with - that fills AAMI, Subiaco and overfills the Gabba. Good luck getting them into Metricon, Manuka or Skoda. Doubles the capacity of Launceston and fills the SCG.

But no - not unrealistic! My god - the most basic of logic filters would've stopped this suggestion getting out.

Posted

40,000 to an interstate game!?!

To start with - that fills AAMI, Subiaco and overfills the Gabba. Good luck getting them into Metricon, Manuka or Skoda. Doubles the capacity of Launceston and fills the SCG.

But no - not unrealistic! My god - the most basic of logic filters would've stopped this suggestion getting out.

45, they're referring to getting 40,000 to a match in Melbourne against an interstate club.

Posted

45, they're referring to getting 40,000 to a match in Melbourne against an interstate club.

Correct...i am not quite sure what planet 45 is on today.

The extra coffee on a busy day can tip you off....!

Posted

Correct...i am not quite sure what planet 45 is on today.

The extra coffee on a busy day can tip you off....!

Now we know what your problem is.

Posted

With your attitude we won't.

How about you explain it properly. "We should aim to get 40,000 members at the MCG when we play any interstate club."

Then myself and other posters would hang less sh!t on you.

Posted

How about you explain it properly. "We should aim to get 40,000 members at the MCG when we play any interstate club."

Then myself and other posters would hang less [censored] on you.

We should aim to get 40,000 people to the 'G for an interstate game, great.

40,000 members would probably equate to 50-55,000 attendance.

Now you are talking...isn't that what i originally said?? or did i misplace punctuation..that sends people into a frenzy in here sometimes

Posted

Now you are talking...isn't that what i originally said?? or did i misplace punctuation..that sends people into a frenzy in here sometimes

Posted

The point I was trying to make was that the QB match is not a long history thing it's only been going since 2001. Apparently there was a great match in 1958 between Collingwood and MFC who were top of the table at that time. I wasn't born till the following year so don't know much about it. Was this the basis for the modern QB "tradition"?

Posted

It sends people into a frenzy because it looks like you are arguing one thing when really you are on a completely different page.

It would help to proofread wyl.

Now that you've clarified we should be aiming to get 40 000 for an interstate game at the MCG, I can definitely agree. It will take at least a few years of success to build up to that though.

Posted

It sends people into a frenzy because it looks like you are arguing one thing when really you are on a completely different page.

Now that you've clarified we should be aiming to get 40 000 for an interstate game at the MCG, I can definitely agree. It will take at least a few years of success to build up to that though.

i don't quite follow....i just read my original post on the matter...it reads the same way..

i will leave it there...it's friday. We are about to get a new President.

Posted

Or you could aim to have 40,000 MFC Members/Supporters attend an interstate game.

It all depends on how serious the club REALLY is about winning more flags.

The easy way out is to aim small and keep polishing the cups we already have.

I know which way i would prefer.

Ok this was the original post unedited. It is clear to me that to attend an interstate game means you travel interstate.

Seeing you dont attend any matches (even Bubs goes to the 'G) it is preposterous.

Posted

Hey! I went to GCS vs. Melbourne! ;)

Posted

Assistance is futile.