Posted

ANOTHER Beamer bashing thread... Bravo guys, gutsy...

Funny how so many other players who are struggling get all the excuses in the book, but 'Land's favourite whipping boy (when Morton's not playing) gets a new thread every few days.

Weak effort guys, and I hope the mods shut this thread down like they do for other players.

It's a shame the thread has morphed from a 'being dropped' to a beat-up on Brent.

Agree with Ben_Hur though. Good analysis of a variable that just might mean the end for players like Brent.

Posted

Not bashing Beamer at all...luv the guy, as he supported the Dees as a kid. Just seems awfully quiet this season, and have a feeling he may leave. Nothing derogatory.

But possibly inflammatory .

The haters will come out to play . They always do .

Posted

It's a shame the thread has morphed from a 'being dropped' to a beat-up on Brent.

Agree with Ben_Hur though. Good analysis of a variable that just might mean the end for players like Brent.

There's some really insightful posts and opinions in this thread, but there's a bunch of 'Landers who seem to really have a hate for the guy for some reason

Posted

There's some really insightful posts and opinions in this thread, but there's a bunch of 'Landers who seem to really have a hate for the guy for some reason

Shopping yourself out to other clubs via the media when your own club was winless didn't exactly endear him to the supporters.

Posted

So can a new role for Brent not be successful eventually ? I would say there are probably about 15 - 20 on our list who are struggling with their new roles . Do we rule a line through all of them as well ?

Or is there just a separate rule for Moloney ?

Posted

Is it wrong of me to not care if he goes?

Past years if he left I would have been shattered but after this year I couldn't care less.

I feel like he is easily replaceable, although his older head/footy experience isn't as much.

Am I a bad person?

youre terrible Song !!! lol

I dont think youre alone by a long shot mate

Posted

Shopping yourself out to other clubs via the media when your own club was winless didn't exactly endear him to the supporters.

And when did he do that?! Show me source of Brent Moloney saying he's looking at other clubs?

Not someone reporting that they heard it, not someone implying his manager said it, but Moloney himself saying it.

Posted

And when did he do that?! Show me source of Brent Moloney saying he's looking at other clubs?

Not someone reporting that they heard it, not someone implying his manager said it, but Moloney himself saying it.

Not going to re-open this old wound, Stuie.

His manager was directly quoted as saying it. He employs his manager. Ipso-facto ... he approved it.

Posted

Not going to re-open this old wound, Stuie.

His manager was directly quoted as saying it. He employs his manager. Ipso-facto ... he approved it.

Right, so his MANAGER who's job it is to get the most money/years out of the club said he mayyyy go to another club....?

You know, I have a lot of interest in some magic beans too, if you want to join in on the bidding....

Posted

i remember some other bloke who was , we thought , a dinky Di Demon.. A 'champion ' of the club and all things Demon.. Swore his allegiance to us and spent up big supporting us too.

Funny how that ended up hey !!!

Posted (edited)

Right, so his MANAGER who's job it is to get the most money/years out of the club said he mayyyy go to another club....?

You know, I have a lot of interest in some magic beans too, if you want to join in on the bidding....

Stue, sorry but that's facile. He put himself out there for trade bait, via his manager yes, but his manager is him. He pays him and if he didn't authorise it then more fool him. His manager is his representative and speaks for him.

Don't get me wrong, i've got nothing against Beamer, he has plenty of credits in the bank, has been terrific at the dees and a loyal servant, but none the less he shopped himself and IIRC at a very poor time for the dees (ie when everything was bad news and we had just been flogged).

Compare that to Jamar who had much more trade value and was heavily rumoured to be going. He kept stum and quietly did the deal to stay a demon.

I have to say i was very disappointed in Beamer's effort when he came on against the tiges. he was given the opportunity to really influence that game - fresh, you'd hope fired up and against a team who was struggling - and barely fired a shot.

I suspect he won't be dropped as i think Neeld will figure it won't help. Magner more likely to go but jeez he must be close.

Posted

Behind closed doors, fine. But brokering yourself out publicly to other clubs while your own is in the gutter is and will always be, poor form.

On top of this, he's on top dollar and has nowhere near earned it this season. I have little sympathy for him.

Posted

Moloney out, Couch to debut, Watts injured.

MELBOURNE has named Tom Couch for his first AFL match, lost in form defender Jack Watts with an ankle injury and left out midfielder Brent Moloney for Saturday’s clash against Fremantle at Etihad Stadium.

In an eventful Thursday team selection, the Demons have made five changes for its round 16 clash.

Former skipper Brad Green, who kicked six goals for Casey last round, returns, while the Dees have regained ruckman Mark Jamar and Tom McDonald from injury, and recalled forward Ricky Petterd.

The Demons have also lost utility Lynden Dunn through suspension, and have left out nominated rookie James Magner and ruckman Jake Spencer.

teams announced.

http://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/7415/newsid/141250/default.aspx

Posted

Is it wrong of me to not care if he goes?

Past years if he left I would have been shattered but after this year I couldn't care less.

I feel like he is easily replaceable, although his older head/footy experience isn't as much.

Am I a bad person?

i know what you mean
Posted (edited)

Looks like Brent's been dropped . Another thread required for that , no doubt .

"Moloney dropped ! Could be the end " .

On his recall

"Moloney back in ! It's not over yet"

Posted

I've had a gut feel all year that Brent Moloney is just going through the motions.

Doesn't seem happy, hasn't been playing well, hasn't signed yet, declaring his wanting to stay

Iike Jamar.

Hasn't been doing his boxing camp, and isn't twittering much anymore.

Reckon we will trade him to the Bombers.

Maybe your gut feel was the vindaloo you had last night.

I would like him to stay.

Posted

Are you Beamers Brother or old school mate Stuie?

What is all your love for the Bloke? He is not that good. We can do better. Scott Thompson was 3 times the player Beamer is.

Posted

Havent you heard he bleeds Red and Blue... ( how novel huh )

Posted

Never been a huge Maloney fan until the auskick clinic on Wednesday. Was having a kick with my boy, he's 6, about 20 mins after the clinic. After I pin pointed a pass onto my boys chest was surprised to see Brent lay a bear hugging tackle on the little guy. Lifted him off his feet. Both had ear to ear grins as Brent walked away. I suspect my sons smile lasted the longer of the two, however Maloney looked happy, and seemed to appreciate my sons love of the red and blue. Got me thinking, just possibly, he's a good person. 2011 b & f, poor year so far, but perhaps deserves more time to impress the coach than some of his team mates. Hope he finds some form soon

Posted

Never been a huge Maloney fan until the auskick clinic on Wednesday. Was having a kick with my boy, he's 6, about 20 mins after the clinic. After I pin pointed a pass onto my boys chest was surprised to see Brent lay a bear hugging tackle on the little guy. Lifted him off his feet. Both had ear to ear grins as Brent walked away. I suspect my sons smile lasted the longer of the two, however Maloney looked happy, and seemed to appreciate my sons love of the red and blue. Got me thinking, just possibly, he's a good person. 2011 b & f, poor year so far, but perhaps deserves more time to impress the coach than some of his team mates. Hope he finds some form soon

Of course he's a good person, I don't think thats ever been in question... But is he still enamored with the Dees, or does he want out?

Guest KingDingAling
Posted

He might want to stay, but for what he would want - I'd let him go.

Money better spent elsewhere.

Posted

Whats all this talk of trading him? You guys are aware that we cant trade him as he is a free agent? Any other club can just take him for free if they want....

Posted

Gut feel its not only moloney. With the ins this week, and with Morton not making the cut, I'd suspect he is gone too.

There's gonna be a fair few more to come too.