Any other Magners out there ??

Posted

Well this wouldnt be Demonland I reckon if it wasnt June, mid way through another lamentable and forgetable season and our attention turns to all those 'better' players out there in some often greener field ( or so we imagine )

One of the highlghts and very pleasant surprises has been the on filed exploits of James Magner. Whilst the world focuses on all the kiddy winkies and all their 'potential' here was a bloke almost destined for obscurity having been overlooked some years back but had the temerity ( ne...ambition ) to work hard , develop his game and play good footy. aka a good to go ready made , just neeeding AFL experience and refinement.

Hes not the only one. There will be dozens of others with similar stories, somewhere.

I have no porblem with the club spending time and effort in order to secure great results with our first round picks ( and beyond ) come draft time but id really like to think they willalso have a good look around for others who just might be able to slot in, whether they be rookied or late picks.

Whos out there...??

What about Fev!!!

Kicked a squillion goals in Tassie today. 15 or 18 or something.

Looking as big as Filthy Phil Scully. Must be chewin through the beers.

Luke Blackwell was father son selected by the blues, played a few senior games but is now playin WAFL. Dominates for the tigers week in week out. Wouldn't be out of his depth in afl again. 26

Brent Jane from the Bayswater Football Club in the EFL.

kane mitchell nominated for last years draft but wasnt picked up, he plays alongside luke blackwell at claremont and dominates aswell, he is around 24 yo

+ 1 rate him as well has a great tank already and would benefit from full time training

yes Luke Blackwell (26) Ex Carlton/Claremont, skilled fast onballer, getting 30 possessions a game in WAFL

yes Mitch Wolfindden (19) Port melbourne, fast onballer, great atitude, tackler, probably unlucky not to get drafted in 2011 but his 2012 has ben very good.

yes Adam Cockie (22) ex Eagles/ Sandringham, showed some real skill for eagles, and I was surprised when he was delisted. He could be our new Fwd Pocket wizard in 2013

Tom Sundberg from Collingwood seconds. Apparently had better stats than James last year, and has just returned from a broken foot to be Coll's best player against the Scorps last week. Aged 22. Dedicated to be an AFL player.

• Author

its interesting to see some ideas manifest.

since a recent marraige ive not the opportunity to visit some of the other leagues, nor even had time to see as many afl games as previous so its good to see some blokes being put up as "smokies" in a a way.

they are definitely out there and I feel the footy world has become obesessed with the new under aged kids. This wasnt always the way. . We need balance at Melbourne...a bit of this and some of that. Not all eggs in onebasket me thinks

since a recent marraige ive not the opportunity to visit some of the other leagues, nor even had time to see as many afl games as previous so its good to see some blokes being put up as "smokies" in a a way.

they are definitely out there and I feel the footy world has become obesessed with the new under aged kids. This wasnt always the way. . We need balance at Melbourne...a bit of this and some of that. Not all eggs in onebasket me thinks

Here's assuming it is your marriage Belze?!? Congrats.

As for any talent- i have none and don't know of any either. But a clone of Luke Hodge off half back, Eddie Betts up forward and lets throw in a Patrick Dangerfield clone for the guts...............anyone fitting these profiles?

Firstly congrats on marriage however don't become hen pecked, do as you wanto do, if you are not happy, you cannot make partner happy I was wondering why you were so quiet. I believe we will look at the VFL once again, Tuck at Werribee, Dwyer @ Port, Lockwood @ Willie, are on the rada.Lockwood played under Neeld at Western Jets and has had a great year.He is the smokie, I can guarantee you that.

Personally, I hope we only look for this type of player in the rookie draft as we will have high picks in a supposed super draft. We have plenty of players of Magner's calibre on the list, what we need is more cream. And a lot of it.

• Author

Personally, I hope we only look for this type of player in the rookie draft as we will have high picks in a supposed super draft. We have plenty of players of Magner's calibre on the list, what we need is more cream. And a lot of it.

I did qualify the idea bysuggesting either late picks or rookie selections be used. There may well be a little more competition for this type now.