View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Big Bob Johnson inducted into the AFL Hall of Fame

I had the privilege of playing against Big Bob in the Diamond Valley League when I was a 17yo and he was 43. He'd lost a yard or two by then - but I was in awe.

i wish we could clone him !

I had the privilege of playing against Big Bob in the Diamond Valley League when I was a 17yo and he was 43. He'd lost a yard or two by then - but I was in awe.

Who in the DVFL did Bob and yourself play for ??

Fantastic to see appropriate recognition for this great Dee .... a true champ in our Golden era.

I can remember him playing for Oakleigh. Didn't get out of the goalsquare much. Didn't have to.

Think he played for Greensborough in the Diamond Valley. Reckon a bloke I know mentioned playing with him. Will have to check

Edited by Go the Biff

Who in the DVFL did Bob and yourself play for ??

Big Bob played for Greensborough. I played for a team that is now in the EFL (3rd or 4th Division I think).

'Borough had a heap of ex-VFL players such as Jerker Jenkins and Twiggy Dunne. We had none. We did have the less talented brothers of Mark 'Jacko' Jackson and Rene Kink for a season though.

Big Bob played for Greensborough. I played for a team that is now in the EFL (3rd or 4th Division I think).

'Borough had a heap of ex-VFL players such as Jerker Jenkins and Twiggy Dunne. We had none. We did have the less talented brothers of Mark 'Jacko' Jackson and Rene Kink for a season though.

Thanks TD, I played at Diamond Creek in the DVFL for many years not that long ago.

Grimes Times - one of the biggest brawls I witnessed during my playing time was vs Creek. Crowd got involved and it was on for young and old. Fortunately my older brother was able to step in and take out the players who were bashing me. Worst ever was against Lalor - it seems they are still up to their old tricks.

Creek benefited financially from having Mike Brady as a benefactor - they had Jock O'Connell (former Blues Premiership player) as Captain Coach for a few years.

This has bought back so many memories. My dad used to take me to see Oakleigh play back in the late 60s and 70s and I clearly remember being in awe of Big Bob. During the quarter and three quarter huddles, Dad used to put his hands over my ears to protect me from the language - oh those were the days. So glad he has been honored.

BIG BOB. My dad told me of his glorious career.

I remember him playing for Oakleigh when channel 0 did the VFA with Ted Henry & Phil Gibbs.

Legend Big Bob. We need him now.

BIG BOB. My dad told me of his glorious career.

I remember him playing for Oakleigh when channel 0 did the VFA with Ted Henry & Phil Gibbs.

Legend Big Bob. We need him now.

channel 0 wyl that takes me back a way.

Those were the glory days of the VFA, only football on sundays back then.

Was a regular for me and a few mates, barbie for sunday lunch then a few cans while watching the televised game on Channel 0.

I have memories of big Bob playing in 1960 and a couple after that, used to think him and "tassie" bob were rels for a while till dad pointed out the error of my ways.

Oh for those glory years when we just seem to roll over every body.

The MFC shall Roll again old dee. I saw a lot of good signs last monday.

We scored our goals in blocks, once those blocks become longer & more frequent, we will destroy good sides.

Listen to Buckleys presser. The did not take us lightly at all. He knows who Mark Neeld is.

The MFC shall Roll again old dee. I saw a lot of good signs last monday.

We scored our goals in blocks, once those blocks become longer & more frequent, we will destroy good sides.

Listen to Buckleys presser. The did not take us lightly at all. He knows who Mark Neeld is.

I keep dreaming wyl

Good. Means your brain is still warm & functioning OD. We need you for the next tilt.

Seiously hope so for a considerable time yet mate.

I reckon I need to make it to the 3rd decade what do you think?

Longer the Better mate. Our dynasties do last when they roll. You want to catch all of it (sorry,Them)

I was at the Hall of Fame dinner last night and it was great to be there when an MFC boy was being inducted. The footage they showed of his playing days and his wifes acceptance speech were excellent. The event is being shown tonight at 10:30pm on FOX FOOTY for those who have access and are interested.