Changes V Western Bulldogs

Posted

where do we start...

If I were coach I'd rank all the midfielders by the distance they run during the game, and drop those who ran the least distance.

It's a lack of running from our midfield that's our problem, no spread, no getting to contests. While Bate may fumble, Morton may lack some efforts, these don't cost you a ten goal loss to Richmond. We need players that are willing to run hard, all day, for 4 quarters.

Morton showed pace. But he didn't know how to use it. Not sure where I sit with him.

We were too top heavy, one of the talls has to go; for mine it should be Martin. He was subbed off for a reason, and Sellar looked OK at times.

McDonald was poor too.

But shuffling the deck chairs won't get us anywhere.

Actually don't think any changes we make will make ANY difference.

We've had 2 weeks of big changes and have seen NOTHING improve.

IN: Couch, Tynan, Petterd

OUT: Garland, Grimes (inj.), Rivers

Couch has been elevated for a reason. I want to see what that reason is.

Tynan should never have been dropped in the first place

Petterd hopefully shows increased desperation and fitness as a result of this week's VFL game.

Garland's disposal has been wretched for weeks and he's burned up all his credits.

Grimes appears to have concussion and will miss one week

Rivers is too slow and too small to be a good AFL footballer any more. Beaten handsomely by Brad Miller today. That says it all.

Those calling for Morton to be dropped need to realize that he was bad not because of skill errors, but because of nerves. He was afraid to attack the ball, and I think only playing him the seniors will take away that fear.

Not much else should change until the players themselves realize that the entire future of the Melbourne Football Club and all of its employees rests on their timid, flabby shoulders.

Man up Melbourne! It's a catch-cry I've heard more times than I can count. More than ever, Melbourne needs to man up.

before i do my changes can someone tell me how far off sylvia is from playing

At least two weeks I think.

Who gives a crap. Watch us get humiliated and destroy the memory of Jim Stynes.

Those calling for Morton to be dropped need to realize that he was bad not because of skill errors, but because of nerves. He was afraid to attack the ball, and I think only playing him the seniors will take away that fear.

He's had 4 years of playing in the seniors, how many more til he's not scared? BS excuse. Did Martin look scared today? No more excuses for that wet blanket, he just needs to make room on the list now. Done.

Who gives a crap.

There are probably quite a few of us who still give just the smallest amount of crap......

Or at least there should be.

Did you watch the game? His one on one efforts lacked any interest in getting the ball, he avoided competitions, his tackles were ineffectual and half-hearted, his decision making was nearly always poor - numerous hand balls to players with opponents on them. And yes, he seems to also be scared of the contest, scared to take on another player and more importantly there were no second efforts. he is a total failure and we should have traded him years ago.

McDonald was poor, Stef Martin had no impact and very little effort, Cale vindicated everything ever said about him, Watts showed a little but had no impact, and our midfield is just WAY off the pace and skill required. Our defense is probably our only strength. Warnock would have been a better keeper than Garland.

Strengths were Howe, Davey, and Clark.

But the poorness is across the board - no one really stood up in the third quarter or even showed a whimper...

Edited by Norm Smith's Curse

Deck chairs on the Titanic but I cant think of a reason why Morton, Bate or Davey should be selected this week.

I reckon Martin is gone too,

Deck chairs on the Titanic but I cant think of a reason why Morton, Bate or Davey should be selected this week.

I reckon Martin is gone too,

Davey? At least he had crack. As for the rest drop them.

IN: Couch, Green, Moloney.

OUT: Morton, Bate and Garland.

Deck chairs on the Titanic . . .

At least the Titanic sank in pursuit of greatness. We're sinking in pursuit of mediocrity.

This relentless Morton bashing gives me the s##ts. Chooks comment was spot on. He plays now like a bloke terrified of being dropped. Play him every week this year. Rivers needs a rest and Tynan and Couch need a run.

Bartram will never be an integral part of a good side and I would look to replacing him.

Also remember that we have been hit with injuries to our two best midfielders.

Bate must not play in our side! He has no awareness, skill or ability and he has red hair!

Hey ... don't be prejudiced. People with no skill, ability or awareness have feelings, too.

martin is tremendoudly out of form and is miles away from the form of mid last year

Hey ... don't be prejudiced. People with no skill, ability or awareness have feelings, too.

Quality post.

where do we start...

We need players that are willing to run hard, all day, for 4 quarters!

Great place to start! Now where is this team? Casey Scorpions?

Don't know what the hell's wrong with Garland - I'd be reluctant to drop him - stick him on the wing or up forward and bring in Davis or move Sellar back (prefer Davis).

I wouldn't be surprised if the SME is NQR in the hip department (out SME in Fitzy)

In Couch - Out Bate

Morton was fine in the first half apart from one of the worst second efforts I've ever seen - then confidence dropped to round his ankles and game over. Put him forward / wing or Casey

martin had one good season from many and I think we got a head of ourselves. he was a better ruckman than forward.

This relentless Morton bashing gives me the s##ts. Chooks comment was spot on. He plays now like a bloke terrified of being dropped. Play him every week this year.

Exactly, play him to get some currency so we might be able to get a pick 50 for a pick 4 failure... Cause there is a big market for players that fear a contest.

Who gives a crap. Watch us get humiliated and destroy the memory of Jim Stynes.

Yep, 2 hours of crap footy will destroy the memory of Jim Stynes. Get a grip.

We dished up shizen after Troy Broadbridge as well.

watch us destroy the memory of Jim Stynes.

You're kidding right! Spare us the outrageous melodrama...