Jimmy Mac to play for GWS

timmy

Posted

From twitter: Spyandsource:

GWS presser tomorrow to announce that James McDonald will be coming out of retirement in a playing/coaching role for the next 2 years.

Posted

hardly confirmed, looking at that twitter account it comes out of hibernation around trade week, and not always on the mark...

Posted

Did he play anywhere this year?

Surely would have had to if returning for 2 years.

Sports news first were spot on with the reliable piece on R Lyon too!

Posted

Did he play anywhere this year?

Half way through the year he started playing with Old Xavs in the VAFA. He didn't set the world on fire. Word has it that the standard of VAFA A Grade is somewhere between VFL 1st and VFL 2nds

Posted

From twitter: Spyandsource:

GWS presser tomorrow to announce that James McDonald will be coming out of retirement in a playing/coaching role for the next 2 years.

James would be 35-36 now???

Highly unlikely, it is a very fast game now.

Posted

Junior comes to wagga every week as he buys livestock for someone. Looks in ripper shape and has all year.

Is he more than happy to talk about his Demon Days?? I hope he is not bitter at all.

Junior was a gun, a Blue Collar Gun, but all class.

Posted

I would have thought this is very unlikely. They're already in to Luke Power, Chad Cornes and Dean Brogan, I'm not sure how many more already retired players they can handle......

Posted

My old man talks to him a fair bit. Junior said he was disappointed to be let go as he had a fair bit of footy left in him but holds no grudges towards the dees.

Posted

Just heard from my mate whose brother is with GWS that Paul Wheatley, Matty Whelan and Byron Pickett will all be lining up with GWS next year.

Posted

My old man talks to him a fair bit. Junior said he was disappointed to be let go as he had a fair bit of footy left in him but holds no grudges towards the dees.

Good, i want Junior to work back at the MFC before too long....He is one we do need to keep, but let him learn a bit from Sheeds first.

All Helps.

Posted

Just heard from my mate whose brother is with GWS that Paul Wheatley, Matty Whelan and Byron Pickett will all be lining up with GWS next year.

Byron pickett would be fat as.

Posted

Alistair Nicholson has been seen to be growing his beard back and ready to take on some gorillas for the Giants as well. Good Luck Nicho!

Posted

No chance.

Junior is up there with my favourite players to ever wear the Red and Blue but, sadly i watched him play at Elsternwick Park in the A Section prelim final on Sunday and he is very much past it now.

I hope he doesn't play, i want to remember him as a Melbourne great.

Posted

Byron pickett would be fat as.

They are going to be putting him between the big sticks to try and stop the ball getting through. Expect him to see a lot of action.

Posted

Must be April 1st. Must check the calendar.

Or Google it!

I'm sure there are more important issues to discuss.

Posted

Junior comes to wagga every week as he buys livestock for someone. Looks in ripper shape and has all year.

if by ripper shape you mean very slim/skinny, i'd say you'd be spot on. He has definitely lost a bit of weight from his playing days. He is very light on, too much so imo.

Posted

And they intend to get Natham Carroll as well.

Posted

No chance.

Junior is up there with my favourite players to ever wear the Red and Blue but, sadly i watched him play at Elsternwick Park in the A Section prelim final on Sunday and he is very much past it now.

I hope he doesn't play, i want to remember him as a Melbourne great.

What if he played as a listed AFL player in they're seconds team as captain? With good money???