FORUM FOOTY AND FLOOD RELIEF BBQ

• Author

It's been so long since I logged on here I'd forgotten my password! I'm back and I'm in for the game! I really missed not playing the last one and this one is definitely for a good cause :) Looking forward to the challenge to win the Big Karl Cup (that's right isn't it?)

Anyone thought of making it a facebook event via the Demonology/Demonland page or do we not want that sort of public promotion?

hey, toot...

welcome aboard...

you have been missed...

no, my young friend, it's not the "big carl", that's the trophy we play for against the sainters, named after carl ditterich, who played for both clubs (in your defence, probably before you were born)...

we play against talkingcarlton for the "Duke", named after Earl Spalding, who (you guessed it) played for both clubs...

Jesus, I hope you were born before Earl stated strutting his stuff, or rollo is going to activate his suicide plan...

and nobody has thought about facebook, a creature of the modern world I have heard about with vague horror, but you are welcome to do something about it...

guys, I have been talking to tassie dee on demonology, and we just don't have to worry about numbers...

I have many texts and emails and pm's I have to update, but I am working day and night for the rest of this week...

I will try to update the availability post on the weekend...

regards,

rollo

Edited by rollinson 65

no, my young friend, it's not the "big carl", that's the trophy we play for against the sainters, named after carl ditterich, who played for both clubs (in your defence, probably before you were born)...

we play against talkingcarlton for the "Duke", named after Earl Spalding, who (you guessed it) played for both clubs...

Sorry for the oversight Rollo - clearly too long out of the game.

Anyway, I know you've just said that we might be OK for numbers but I also have a mate who is new to Melbourne and is very keen to come down for a run. His name is Hans (as in Hans from the mighty ducks, quack quack - although I don't think he looks like him)

Anyway, looking forward to the updates and having a run around in the red and blue again!!

I might have to pull on the boots too if we don't have the numbers.

GO ANDY GO-I'll be contacting Pringle to make sure you play on the ball for the whole match as we will need a dedicated true performer.

As we get closer to the game, maybe players should nominate a couple of positions they feel they would be best suited to playing. Obviously not everyone will get what they want, but at least I'll have an idea when selecting a starting 18. From that point on I guess well be able to tweak according to what we see on match day.

I like to play CHF, and have played there in previous forum games, but have also played in the backline, despite my complete lack of manning up and chasing ability

Probably wing-forward(ish)

MR Scully can't attend Sunday at the direction of the FD...

Although he did mention something about not having to put up with demonlanders for much longer :) which was a little strange ;)

I play FB but happy to play anywhere

Whispering Jack should be able to give you some input re previous matches etc..

rollo put my name down but i wont promise anything due to work commitments taking its toll. as you would know it does kill me if i have to miss out again as i get a real enjoyment out of playing for the mighty deelanders!

hey, toot...

welcome aboard...

you have been missed...

Jesus, I hope you were born before Earl stated strutting his stuff, or rollo is going to activate his suicide plan...

and nobody has thought about facebook, a creature of the modern world I have heard about with vague horror, but you are welcome to do something about it...

guys, I have been talking to tassie dee on demonology, and we just don't have to worry about numbers...

I have many texts and emails and pm's I have to update, but I am working day and night for the rest of this week...

I will try to update the availability post on the weekend...

regards,

rollo

Rollo,,, we may need to make this a way bigger deal..

Up in QLD, now is this HUGE monster coming down! They look to be in some Deep trouble.

I think their going to need some big help.

• Author

current player confirmations still come mostly from demonology... :o

this has never happened before... :)

pick up your game, demonlanders... :lol:

Would love to have entered into the recent banter on here, but I would have had to find some creative way to explain to my clients why I was not working but posting on here...

here is the updated list from here and demonology...

A demonland/demonology/talkingcarlton bbq for flood relief and a fantastic forum footy match without Tom Scully as our special guest...

Date: sunday, february 20...

Time: 10.30am...

Venue: Gosch’s Paddock...

Format:

game 2 x 20 minute quarters and 2 x 15 minute quarters…

Players: 45HG16, the russian, the stynes factor, steve, demon tingles, rollo2, demitch, scotty, junior, poseidon burke, funky41, heater, charlesy, mickrocks1, madness, toot182, hans…

Players to be confirmed ("tbc"): bananas, dazzledavey36,...

Apologies (players): wise, wonnabeeri, grimes4, deanox...

Coaches: pringle, god (aka wolfmother)...

Apologies(coaches):(tbc): whispering jack, redleg...

Helpers: rollinson 65, wolfmother (bbq and flood relief collection), supermercado, demonland (cameraman), melbournefc(runner/waterboy)...

Apologies (helpers): do it for robbie, rivvo...

Helpers (tbc): why you little, dee knees...

Status unknown: jaceebee31, dee-luded... (sorry, jcb, your poster name keeps coming up exactly as I have written it)...

Umpires: one quality field umpy confirmed, chasing a second...

Players and helpers please post on here and I will update the list when necessary...

Umpys would like an umpys assistant on the day, somebody put ther hand up, please...

Talkingcarlton are a strong team and it is only their lack of numbers in the past that has got us over the line...

We will be asking everyone to donate $20 (or what they can afford) to the flood relief effort...

I love the forward line, but then, so do most of us. In a lot better shape than last time I had a run, but still probably not fit enough for the midfield. So forward line or backline for me.

• Author

I love the forward line, but then, so do most of us. In a lot better shape than last time I had a run, but still probably not fit enough for the midfield. So forward line or backline for me.

but you don't have a defensive bone in your body... :)

Edited by rollinson 65

• Author

I'll bring a friend along who will have a go....so add 'Fitzy' to the lineup. thanks

thanks, junior...

waiting for a post from tassie dee on the sister thread on demonology, and then I will update the availability thread...

but you don't have a defensive bone in your body... :)

Coff coff best and fairest full back for the wangaratta red devils* under 16s, coff! B)

*a soccer team, admittedly.

Half forward flank please

• Author

Coff coff best and fairest full back for the wangaratta red devils* under 16s, coff! B)

*a soccer team, admittedly.

you answered yourself, rollo2, different code...

Yet nonetheless defensive. But you're right in that I don't really have a clue about AFL defense. So just forward line for me then please coach! Or centre half bench. ;)

• Author

current player confirmations still (still!!) come mostly from demonology... :o

this has never happened before... :)

pick up your game, demonlanders... :lol:

soon the player posts from the justfooty site will exceed those on here...

here is the updated list from here and demonology (or should I say from demonology and here ??)...

A demonland/demonology/talkingcarlton bbq for flood relief and a fantastic forum footy match without Tom Scully as our special guest...

Date: sunday, february 20...

Time: 10.30am...

Venue: Gosch’s Paddock...

Format:

game 2 x 20 minute quarters and 2 x 15 minute quarters…

Players: 45HG16, the russian, the stynes factor, steve, demon tingles, rollo2, demitch, scotty, junior, poseidon burke, funky41, heater, charlesy, mickrocks1, madness, toot182, hans, wonnaberri, fitzy…

Players to be confirmed ("tbc"): bananas, dazzledavey36,...

Apologies (players): wise, grimes4, deanox...

Coaches: pringle, god (aka wolfmother)...

Apologies(coaches):(tbc): whispering jack, redleg...

Helpers: rollinson 65, wolfmother (bbq and flood relief collection), supermercado, demonland (cameraman), melbournefc(runner/waterboy)...

Apologies (helpers): do it for robbie, rivvo...

Helpers (tbc): why you little, dee knees...

Status unknown: jaceebee31, dee-luded... (sorry, jcb, your poster name keeps coming up exactly as I have written it)...

Umpires: one quality field umpy confirmed, chasing a second...

Players and helpers please post on here and I will update the list when necessary...

Umpys would like an umpys assistant on the day, somebody put ther hand up, please...

Talkingcarlton are a strong team and it is only their lack of numbers in the past that has got us over the line...

We will be asking everyone to donate $20 (or what they can afford) to the flood relief effort...

What does an umpy's assistant do?

Umpires' assistant is good only blind in 1 eye

as opposed to competely blind ,to be full time.