almost forgot

And 3 of those will be pets, who got in on pet memberships.

I'm going to say 14,987

crazy optimist!

Why is it always the case that Melbourne's home games are played in shocking weather (especially when we're playing an interstate team)? Yesterday was sunny and inviting, hence 60,000 people went to the footy.

Edit: 9.38: Blowing a gale, bucketing down, not exactly warm. Brilliant.

Edited by titan_uranus

Why is it always the case that Melbourne's home games are played in shocking weather (especially when we're playing an interstate team)? Yesterday was sunny and inviting, hence 60,000 people went to the footy.

Edit: 9.38: Blowing a gale, bucketing down, not exactly warm. Brilliant.

Looking out the window...hmmm. Somewhere in excess of 3. Assuming Dad is still coming and bringing his mate.

Just checked, yes Dad and his mate still coming...so yes a crowd somewhere in excess of 3

Edited by Its_A_Nightmare

Looking at the weather now I reckon we'll be lucky to get 12,000.

16500, im going, go demons.

Weather update: 10:21: Still blowing a gale, but the sun is now out. That's Melbourne for you. If it stays like this then maybe we'll get more than 12,000.

What time is the curtain raiser today?

Can't wait to see big Nicho again!

This could break the record for lowest attendance ever.

Weather is not that bad, it's not even raining, but knowing our supporters, they'll stay at home and watch the game live on Foxtel (what is with that, two weeks running our game has been against live pay TV?!)

I'm going with 11,980 and hoping that I'm 10,000 off! :(

Edit: it's now raining so drop the 11,000 and go with 980 :D

The return of Jurrah to the field has brought with it a Jurrahcane

*boom boom tish*

facepalm.jpg

This is why non mods should be allowed to remove posts :lol:

Shut up! :angry: :lol:

I face palmed myself ok?!

OK. It's 11:26 and the rain has just stopped for the time being. It's still pretty abysmal out there.

The lowest ever attendance at the MCG is 3,614, which was at a (you guessed it) Melbourne home game! Melbourne v Hawthorn, 1931. We couldn't possibly set a new record low. Could we?

The lowest attendance in the past 10 years is 11,682, at Hawthorn v Port Adelaide in 2004. That may well come under threat today.

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Featured Content

• GAMEDAY: St. Kilda

It's Game Day and there are only 5 games to go. Can the Demons find some consistency and form as they stagger towards the finish line of another uninspiring season?

• Haha
    • 566 replies
  • PREVIEW: St. Kilda

It seems like only yesterday that these two sides faced off against each other in the centre of the continent. It was when Melbourne was experiencing a rare period of success with five wins from its previous six matches including victories over both of last year’s grand finalists.  Well, it wasn’t yesterday but it was early last month and it remains etched clearly in the memory. The Saints were going through a slump and the predicted outcome of their encounter at TIO Traeger Park was a virtual no-brainer. A Melbourne victory and another step closer to a possible rise into finals contention. Something that was unthinkable after opening the season with five straight defeats.

• Sad
    • 5 replies
  • REPORT: Carlton

I am now certain that the decline in fortunes of the Melbourne Football Club from a premiership power with the potential for more success to come in the future, started when the team ran out for their Round 9 match up against Carlton last year. After knocking over the Cats in a fierce contest the week before, the Demons looked uninterested at the start of play and gave the Blues a six goal start. They recovered to almost snatch victory but lost narrowly with a score of 11.10.76 to 12.5.77. Yesterday, they revisited the scene and provided their fans with a similar display of ineptitude early in the proceedings. Their attitude at the start was poor, given that the game was so winnable. Unsurprisingly, the resulting score was almost identical to that of last year and for the fourth time in succession, the club has lost a game against Carlton despite having more scoring opportunities. 

• 3 replies
  • CASEY: Carlton

The Casey Demons smashed the Carlton Reserves off the park at Casey Fields on Sunday to retain a hold on an end of season wild card place. It was a comprehensive 108 point victory in which the home side was dominant and several of its players stood out but, in spite of the positivity of such a display, we need to place an asterisk over the outcome which saw a net 100 point advantage to the combined scores in the two contests between Demons and Blues over the weekend.

• 0 replies
  • PREGAME: St. Kilda

The Demons come face to face with St. Kilda for the second time this season for their return clash at Marvel Stadium on Sunday. Who comes in and who goes out?

• 310 replies
  • PODCAST: Carlton

The Demonland Podcast will air LIVE on Tuesday, 22nd July @ 8:00pm. Join Binman & I as we dissect the Dees disappointing loss to Carlton at the MCG.
    Your questions and comments are a huge part of our podcast so please post anything you want to ask or say below and we'll give you a shout out on the show.
    Listen LIVE: https://demonland.com/

• 40 replies