Posted
Bell basher's... God do they annoy me. Bell has twice the kicking skills, speed and awareness as someone like Bate.

Bell has earned his spot in the side and he is a great player who had a bad run of form last year.

Bell is so much better than people make out on this forum. I find it ridiculous with the amount of slagging he gets.

I really hope this week he shows people why he was picked.

Couldn't agree anymore. I'm sick and tired of people judging players and criticizing players like bell. Give him a chance!

He's had a terrible run with injuries of late so you have no right to bag and complain about him until he's played a game or two. Many of you were saying Garland was one of the worst players to put on the MelbourneFc jumper....and now look at him. I can't wait for him to play a good game this week to prove people like DemonTraveller wrong!

where should bell play, he`s not a forward or a mid and backs are holding their own, settling nicely as a unit.

You will see him probably playing as a defensive midfielder this week or he might push forward depending on the matchups.

• Replies 86

Posted
I kind of have come to expect him to go the gold coast when he can. Just a feeling..

I'd throw Petterd to the GC for a half eaten ham sandwich if it means they'll keep their grubby hands off Sir Cale Morton.

Posted

I love it how people say Bell's done nothing and isn't a part of the future. The preseason he was in Bailey's 22... in with a bullet. The only reason he wasn;t included this year is injury. He had a VERY strong preseason, and THAT'S why Bailey's picking him. He earned the spot early this year and has evidently done the hard work on the track to come back into the team with the same favour he had before round one. At least with Dean anyway. We can applaud Robbo's dumping as a "no bulltish" approach by Bailey, and when a youngish player works hard we should ignore him, just because he's the least popular player on the list among the fans? Fair go. I love Bell for his work ethic and the fact that he's never walked onto the field and not tried his hardest. He may not be Ablett, but he earns his place, and as SOME posters have suggested, HAS played good footy when his body is right.

Posted
Gee....I can hardly wait to see Daniel Bell's silky smooth skills and great general awareness light up our forward line.........

He was dead wood by the end of last year and should have been delisted. Play the kids and stop wasting time with a guy who we all know is a dud!

Unfortunately ...too true
Posted
She/he shouldn't do it, it's that simple, it's a breach of trust and it has the potential to hurt the club. If you don't understand that I can't help you.

Dribble. It doesn't hurt the club. It makes absolutely no difference to anyone that a few Forum posters know club information a little early.

Posted
I love it how people say Bell's done nothing and isn't a part of the future. The preseason he was in Bailey's 22... in with a bullet. The only reason he wasn;t included this year is injury. He had a VERY strong preseason, and THAT'S why Bailey's picking him. He earned the spot early this year and has evidently done the hard work on the track to come back into the team with the same favour he had before round one. At least with Dean anyway. We can applaud Robbo's dumping as a "no bulltish" approach by Bailey, and when a youngish player works hard we should ignore him, just because he's the least popular player on the list among the fans? Fair go. I love Bell for his work ethic and the fact that he's never walked onto the field and not tried his hardest. He may not be Ablett, but he earns his place, and as SOME posters have suggested, HAS played good footy when his body is right.

I like the way Bell goes about his footy too, but surely both he and Jamar are borderline to get the boot. Both have produced game-swaying football only once or twice.

Posted
I love it how people say Bell's done nothing and isn't a part of the future. The preseason he was in Bailey's 22... in with a bullet. The only reason he wasn;t included this year is injury. He had a VERY strong preseason, and THAT'S why Bailey's picking him.

Having a great work ethic, the right attitude/commitment, and ultimately a great preseason is only part of it. The acid test comes when the real stuff starts. Bell is being tried in the midfield for one reason, he failed at half back. The club realises that he's running out of chances to make a position his own and he's taken the opportunity to run in the midfield with vigour and determination, albeit he's still making similar mistakes.

The club giving him an opportunity at the beginning of the year doesn't mean curt and dried that he was best 22. It's the club giving him every chance as a seven season player to show he can make the transition. The rest is up to him. And yes, he probably earnt the opportunities he was getting.

Fwiw, I don't think he's good enough, but I admire his application. And the club is rightfully giving him this chance before they make a final call on him.

Posted
I like the way Bell goes about his footy too, but surely both he and Jamar are borderline to get the boot. Both have produced game-swaying football only once or twice.

Look, saying a player is borderline is something that gets repeated a lot around websites. Early this year Wrecker and Robbo were gawn. FWIW, I reckon a LOT of people get carried away saying players are on the way out ONLY because they haven't been playing good footy... When truth be told it's just because they've been out injured, or are returning from injury. Woebetide the player who is close to thirty and is out injured for a few weeks.

So going on our list, whoever the 10-15 names that are NOT playing for MFC at this stage are basically "borderline." There are some posters, and I don't need to name who, that jump on a players back and call them "done" well before that time has come. Bell is a very good example. He played an exemplary preseason (3 out of 4 very good games as I recall, but I may be wrong) and was cherry ripe for the start of '09. Then he got hurt. End of story. Yes we've had a bunch of kids come through this season that will compete with him, but we've also lost a lot of guys too, to retirement, delisting, and some who just bailed.

So I reckon it's up to everyone to make their assessment. Bell is like Bartram. Is not flashy and in-your-face, and so does not get the cult-status that every MFC player deserves, and seemingly gets these days. But that doesn't mean he's not required, and seen as important by Bailey and co.

Jamar, as far as I am concerned, is in your "borderline" group. Many rate him. I don't. That's fair enough... The same with Bell. We'll know more in 5-10 weeks.

Fwiw, I don't think he's good enough, but I admire his application. And the club is rightfully giving him this chance before they make a final call on him.

Yeah. I am by no means PREDICTING anything with Bell. Like you say, the club gives him his shot, and if he delivers, then what more is there to say? There'll be less room for mediocre players to stay at years end, so if Bell gets hurt again, then I would be worried for him. I'm not sure what's going to happen with him, as I have faith ONLY that he'll give his all, not that it'll come off favourably. I'd say given his application he's half a chance to maintain his spot in a few weeks. Nothing more. My HOPE is that he gets back his form from 2007, as it seemed he might early this year. Read into that what you will.

I also like the idea of him in the midfield. He has pace and is a good-very good kick once he has a half-decent target. He may just slot in very well. Lord knows we need a bit of toe.

Posted
The club has not contacted me or anyone associated with Demonland as far as I know and as far as I can ascertain Deegirl doesn't post at all on Demonland.

Deegirl has released a significant amount of information on Demonology, including James McDonald's appointment as Captain, often well before it becomes public knowledge and in every case that I've seen it the information has been correct. My guess is that Deegirl is either an employee of the club or closely associated with one of the players.

She/he shouldn't do it, it's that simple, it's a breach of trust and it has the potential to hurt the club.

Or associated with one of the employees. My guess too. If that is the case then it is a breach of trust. I also agree it has the potential to hurt the club.

Posted

Obvious comment here, but I really hope Bell plays well.

I love his attitude and spirit. He seems really hard on himself (going by body language and meeting him a couple of times) and is a confidence player IMO

Guest hangon007
Posted
Sorry mate, its just my opinion he will be targeted fiercely by the gold coast football club.

Again this is just an opinion of myn mate, its not fact. The forums are used for opinions?

Sorry m8

No problems ... no offense taken.

Posted
Maybe our Dees are keeping him away from contacts up there. Convenient or Coincidence?

Nice work, I love the conspiracy theory !!!!

IMO Robbo deserved to be dropped for one of the most selfish games I've witnessed. Ricky Petterd also warranted, He has tapered off in the last couple of weeks. I really like the hard line approach Bailey is taking.

Posted
Having a great work ethic, the right attitude/commitment, and ultimately a great preseason is only part of it. The acid test comes when the real stuff starts. Bell is being tried in the midfield for one reason, he failed at half back. The club realises that he's running out of chances to make a position his own and he's taken the opportunity to run in the midfield with vigour and determination, albeit he's still making similar mistakes.

The club giving him an opportunity at the beginning of the year doesn't mean curt and dried that he was best 22. It's the club giving him every chance as a seven season player to show he can make the transition. The rest is up to him. And yes, he probably earnt the opportunities he was getting.

I agree with it being up to Bell to make the transition to the midfield. For him to make that transition, he'll need to be super fit and run all day, as well as working on his recovery, second & third efforts and then some. His awareness which has been spoken of plenty of times and his quick decision making with and without the ball and minimising his errors. I hope he can improve in these areas. But between 'hope' and 'know' is a huge gulf.

He's played 63 games, it's time for Belly to show the club his worth IMO.

Posted
Or associated with one of the employees. My guess too. If that is the case then it is a breach of trust. I also agree it has the potential to hurt the club.

Refer yourself to post 2 of this thread. (Well Done deegirl)

FWIW I reckon that Belly will play well this week and surprise quite a few on here that don't think he's up to it. Perhaps a midfield role is all he's needed.

Posted
Bell is being tried in the midfield for one reason, he failed at half back.

It's a shame as he played one of the best defensive games I've ever seen on Scott Welsh in 2007. He then followed up with a good game V Didak and Collingwood the next week. Then a fornight later he caused a magnificent spoil on Scott Lucas (Daniher farewell game) and tore a 4 week hammy in the process which wrecked all his momentum.

Posted

bells problem was never the defensive side of his game. as a spoiler from behind on the lead he is top notch. he has fantastic pace which means he plays well on those sorts of small-medium forwards who play leading games.

he doesn't have great sideways agility or peripheral awareness which means he struggles on smalls who make a habit of running around to get kicks (ie crumbing forwards) and struggles when he is trying to carry it out of defence and no options present up field - his lack of awareness is caught out.

i believe he has reasonable disposal, but like others in our side is often faced with a lack of options. while some players just bang long without waiting for an option to present, bell waits too long for the perfect option and often gets caught out. he needs to find that balance and needs to improve his awareness.

i wonder if there shouldn't be more effort from teammates to let him know when he is 'hot' given that there is a clear deficiency in that area?

Posted
bells problem was never the defensive side of his game. as a spoiler from behind on the lead he is top notch. he has fantastic pace which means he plays well on those sorts of small-medium forwards who play leading games.

he doesn't have great sideways agility or peripheral awareness which means he struggles on smalls who make a habit of running around to get kicks (ie crumbing forwards) and struggles when he is trying to carry it out of defence and no options present up field - his lack of awareness is caught out.

i believe he has reasonable disposal, but like others in our side is often faced with a lack of options. while some players just bang long without waiting for an option to present, bell waits too long for the perfect option and often gets caught out. he needs to find that balance and needs to improve his awareness.

i wonder if there shouldn't be more effort from teammates to let him know when he is 'hot' given that there is a clear deficiency in that area?

Good summary of Bell here. What irks me in addition to all this, is when he's beaten by an opponent (not necessarily his direct opponent either) - Bell's turning circle seems huge, he doesn't turn sharp and sprint, its sometimes a gradual turn that makes him appear top heavy and slow initially, before straightening up and chasing down opponent, by this time the opponent is well gone. TBH Brock is like this too.

Posted

Yes, I think this is the issue, his decision making is poor as it were because of his long range vision upfield. While he takes his time looking upfield for a option, whilst in possession, he gets caught or pressured into a mistake with the ball.

Obviously, well to me, there trying to see if they can use the positives he possess in a different role, midfielder, where he can spot a short range target by hand, as he plays the inside & under role.

Good luck to him, as this could be his last season if it doesn't workout.

Posted

I haven't had time to read the other posts on Bell, but I don't think he's ever going to be good enough and I would have prefered Cheney. Having said that, at least Bailey is rewarding those who play well at Casey. Hopefully Newton and Robertson will see what hard work can get you.

Posted

Shortly off to the MFC FRIDAY NIGHT FUNCTION ON THE GOLD COAST where the guests will be dining with selected MFC coaching and senior football staff.

Includes a two course sit down dinner, beverage package (?) and exclusive match preview from Dean Bailey. Dress Code: smart casual (Collar required). I have the wife busily sewing a collar onto my t-shirt and then it's off we go ...

If the iphone's up to it I'll post a few messages here if possible but I won't be giving away any match secrets that the coach might give away to the audience.

Posted
I haven't had time to read the other posts on Bell, but I don't think he's ever going to be good enough and I would have prefered Cheney. Having said that, at least Bailey is rewarding those who play well at Casey. Hopefully Newton and Robertson will see what hard work can get you.

I'd say we'll see all the possible delistees playing over the second half of the year. It gives them all one last chance. Those who in my opinion should go at year's end or would probably be on a "possible delist" list include Wheatley, Whelan, Robertson, Bell, Dunn, Jamar, Meesen, Newton, JMac, Zomer(rookie) Hughes(rookie) Clear this lot out we'd have the youngest, most potential filled list in the league. Tough decisions ahead.

Posted

Just picked up a rumour that serial pest Stephen Milne is very unlikely to play tomorrow night and that Jason Gram will replace him. The source was a Saint fan so the information could have been "leaked" to me in the knowledge that it would probably be passed on to Dean Bailey.

Posted

Thanks WJ.

The rain has started to fall here in brisbane, hope it clears up for tomorrow night.

Posted
I'd say we'll see all the possible delistees playing over the second half of the year. It gives them all one last chance. Those who in my opinion should go at year's end or would probably be on a "possible delist" list include Wheatley, Whelan, Robertson, Bell, Dunn, Jamar, Meesen, Newton, JMac, Zomer(rookie) Hughes(rookie) Clear this lot out we'd have the youngest, most potential filled list in the league. Tough decisions ahead.

Just a question, if you get rid of both Jamar and Meesen who will you play in the ruck and who will you have as a back up if either of our two remaining (that is if there are two remaining) rucks get injured?