Bruce named 'Worst on Ground' on Triple M

Posted

Good to see the Triple M boys have clue about footy.

Everyone who voted in the Demonland Player of the Year inclued Bruce in the votes. LOL. How predictable.

Stats mean nothing, especially when your disposal is the worst in the AFL. Must be traded at years end.

• Author
is this true?

if it was BT i dont care either coz he is the biggest [censored] going around

Nope, I am pretty sure it was Jason Dunstall.

Not 100% sure though.

watched his game .... and it was far from bad but not as good as the stats suggest

but he is one of the only players who chases, runs into space, ALWAYS trys to protect the player with the ball

he just needs to work more on his ball useage

wont be traded ... as he will be captain next year

Good to see some others can see the obvious. Name any one esle for whom all those stats equate to so little on a field !!

Apparently named the HBA-NIB player of the year.. No other player offer up as many hospital passes as this guy !!

The Worst on Ground is an outrage IMO and appeals only to idiots. (Maybe MMM know their target audience) Be that as it may, our use of the ball was the marked difference between us and the Bulldogs. We've a long way to go. Bruce isn't the only offender, Jones, Valenti, Wheatley, Sylvia all continued to miss targets yesterday. Even CJ, who continues to rack up big stats too often misses his team mates by foot. Big ticks for endeavour and work rate across the board, but our disposal has to improve.

The Worst on Ground is an outrage IMO and appeals only to idiots. (Maybe MMM know their target audience)

That's brilliant, love your work :lol:

I would have thought Sylvia was a better candidate

You think everyone else is being predicable Y_M?

Pot? Kettle? Black?

MMM use it as sensationalism... and you've only proven, YET AGAIN, Bruce's quality:

Had Jones, or Garland, or CJ, or Dunn played Bruce's game they wouldn't have been mentioned at all. Bruce was marked harshly because he's such a good player. You expect better from him. He's a victim of his own success.

Fair dinkum Y_M, let it go. You're making a tool out of yourself, offending people, and only doing damage to MFC.

If I ever met you, I reckon I'd take out my Bruce badge, and stab you in the eye with the pin.

herald sun named him as best. good thing about footy isn't it YM that it is subjective.

I thought Bruce was ok yesterday. Far from our wort player and if it was Brian Taylor no suprise there. For some reason he hates Melbourne

The Worst on Ground is an outrage IMO and appeals only to idiots. (Maybe MMM know their target audience) Be that as it may, our use of the ball was the marked difference between us and the Bulldogs. We've a long way to go. Bruce isn't the only offender, Jones, Valenti, Wheatley, Sylvia all continued to miss targets yesterday. Even CJ, who continues to rack up big stats too often misses his team mates by foot. Big ticks for endeavour and work rate across the board, but our disposal has to improve.

MMM have correctly struck their target audience so it seems.

Our inability to execute proper disposal by hand or foot crucifies the commendable hard work and endeavour that is happening. Its a fundamental probem that needs to be solved if we are to move upwards in 2009 and beyond.

MMM have correctly struck their target audience so it seems.

Our inability to execute proper disposal by hand or foot crucifies the commendable hard work and endeavour that is happening. Its a fundamental probem that needs to be solved if we are to move upwards in 2009 and beyond.

Bruce's workrate is commendable, despite his shortcomings. A lot of our players could leanr a thing or two of him in that department.

Conversely, the Age have given Bruce 8 votes (out of a theoretically possible but absolutely never given 10 I believe) in their player of the year voting. If you needed any more proof that, when it comes to onfield reporting, the Age are clueless, there you go.

That segment is all about stirring up controversy and keeping people listening to them until 6pm, I wouldn't be too bothered by it if I was brucey!

WOG is given to the person they feel most underachieves. Bruce a definite candidate here. Dont give me al lthis work-rate guff. He is very ineffectual for it all.. His disposal is more miss than hit. Ask Green how good it is..or what his ( Bruces) vision is like !! Most overated player on our list.

Beat me to it.

Good to see the Triple M boys have clue about footy.

Everyone who voted in the Demonland Player of the Year inclued Bruce in the votes. LOL. How predictable.

Stats mean nothing, especially when your disposal is the worst in the AFL. Must be traded at years end.

You're a spanner!

Besides. Sylvia was worst on ground anyway.

You think everyone else is being predicable Y_M?

Pot? Kettle? Black?

MMM use it as sensationalism... and you've only proven, YET AGAIN, Bruce's quality:

Had Jones, or Garland, or CJ, or Dunn played Bruce's game they wouldn't have been mentioned at all. Bruce was marked harshly because he's such a good player. You expect better from him. He's a victim of his own success.

Fair dinkum Y_M, let it go. You're making a tool out of yourself, offending people, and only doing damage to MFC.

If I ever met you, I reckon I'd take out my Bruce badge, and stab you in the eye with the pin.

Take out your badge if you will......Dappa Dan, Bruce's game was average at best!

He had 38 possessions of which 25 were handballs! Hospital handballs, ineffective, resultant turnover handballs. At only 71% efficiency. The stats don't lie. In fact, 32 of his possessions were uneffective.

He kicked 0.2

He also blatantly ignored Cale Morton on a half-forward flank who was as free as an angel with his arms waving, and Bruce elected to go inboard with another clanger (ineffective handball) which guess what ....resulted in a turnover. Goal to the Dogs.

Sometimes these so-called experts, much like the ones on MMM are .......VERY ACCURATE.

Bruce floated around racking up easy possessions. And if you were to alalyse his opponent carefully, you would find out that Bruce wasn't really accountable either.

Take out your badge if you will......Dappa Dan, Bruce's game was average at best!

He had 38 possessions of which 25 were handballs! Hospital handballs, ineffective, resultant turnover handballs. At only 71% efficiency. The stats don't lie. In fact, 32 of his possessions were uneffective.

He kicked 0.2

He also blatantly ignored Cale Morton on a half-forward flank who was as free as an angel with his arms waving, and Bruce elected to go inboard with another clanger (ineffective handball) which guess what ....resulted in a turnover. Goal to the Dogs.

Sometimes these so-called experts, much like the ones on MMM are .......VERY ACCURATE.

Bruce floated around racking up easy possessions. And if you were to alalyse his opponent carefully, you would find out that Bruce wasn't really accountable either.

CORRECTION: 32 of his possessions were uncontested, not "uneffective"......sorry about that one.

WOG is given to the person they feel most underachieves.

Correct.

They don't smash the kids by labelling a debutant 'worst on ground' if he does nothing.

• Author

Two things

1) Who am I offending, and how?

2) You have a Bruce badge? LOL :lol:

• Author

He kicked 0.2

Bingo. And dont forget him shirlking the contested footy with 5 minutes left in the 1st quarter.

Absolutely [censored] himself.

Bruce had his usual game, lots of uncontested possession, horribly ineffective handballs, ran hard all day long and hit the target on most occasions by foot. Was he worst on ground? Absolutely not. Was he in our best players? Absolutely not. The truth lies somewhere in the middle.

On the field he is a decidedly average leader, but he does work hard and runs all day and for that he deserves credit. His skills are average at best, which to me is the most worrying part. When your captain is not hitting targets consistently, what hope have you got? IMO he hasn't really adapted very well to the new game plan, of the senior players only Green and Wheatley have, which is why they are still getting a game and White and Yze etc... aren't.