Anyone for cricket?

I talk about individuals and their talents because that's how I see the game. I acknowledge where your emphasis lies but I don't place as much importance in those areas (though it is important of course)

If we were talking about footy and more importantly, the Demons, I would be in almost total agreement with you. Like golf, technique is ultra important in cricket. Specialist coaching is more important in my eyes (that goes for the bowlers as well)

I would acknowledge that you don't want a 'toxic culture' in any team sport but I'm not convinced that the culture is all that different to how it's ever been. Winning can cover up a few things as you well know. Losing exposes all sorts of mud.

Macca I can remember plenty of times when players in shield were scoring heavily & topping the sheets, but were not given a cap, even when other test players were struggling..... word was that some of the good shield players weren't wanted in the test team dressing room,, my take, they weren't liked & not wanted.

there are reasons these things happen, & also why the wrong people at the top of the board, can destroy good things which they don't understand. I think this has happened to us recently.

Macca I can remember plenty of times when players in shield were scoring heavily & topping the sheets, but were not given a cap, even when other test players were struggling..... word was that some of the good shield players weren't wanted in the test team dressing room,, my take, they weren't liked & not wanted.

there are reasons these things happen, & also why the wrong people at the top of the board, can destroy good things which they don't understand. I think this has happened to us recently.

Yeah, you hear lots of rumour and innuendo but was any of that stuff ever substantiated? That stuff has nearly always surrounded the team - it goes way back. The old one was that it was harder to go out of the side than get in it!

We had an absolute golden era for a long time and there were quite a few very good batsmen who just couldn't get into the side. Law, Lehmann, Siddons, Hodge, Di Venuto, Jamie Cox and others were all churning out stacks of runs and couldn't get a look in (we could do with them now hey?)

The tide will turn - you put 2 or 3 very good reliable batsmen into the team and suddenly we'd be a very good outfit again. I still have faith in the Shield system and cricket still has very good participation rates.

deluded.

bobby simpson was still playing grade cricket in nsw when wsc started and the acb needed an older head at the helm

we had a bad team and I would rate it worse than what we have now,so a LEADER was injected to develop and nuture new team ethos

dressing room rumours have been proven many times in the past , going back to tiger oriellys day.its just that the press and former players don't want to krap in their own nest that stops them from writing about it

as for how did we get here . well the main selector was walking his dog on the beach instead of being at a test match.

this gives rise to the theory that the skipper is in charge of selection

as I wrote earlier ponting wouldnt scrub his old mate hayden and it stopped a new player getting tests under belt for the future.in fact hayden got 10 tests to many. then punter went for backstop for batting strength and not wicketkeeper

after the famous changeroom fight he backed MC and the kat was banished. unfortunately they got rid of a leader and kept a gimp

Edited by jazza

I have a lot of hope for the cricket side in about 4 years time.

What really surprised me watching the Ryobi Cup and Shield matches last season was the ages of the players. There were a lot of young guys (18-22) playing and most played quite well, especially in the one dayers.

speaking about leadership.

warner, the little pigface could end up being the one. he has that attitude of I might be wrong but lets do it anyway, and hes got that smartalec attitude that will upset the poms and every other team.

also we need a new start so without a leader on the horizon he could be the fill in that adds spice to the team for 3 years until new leaders appear

deluded.

bobby simpson was still playing grade cricket in nsw when wsc started and the acb needed an older head at the helm

we had a bad team and I would rate it worse than what we have now,so a LEADER was injected to develop and nuture new team ethos

dressing room rumours have been proven many times in the past , going back to tiger oriellys day.its just that the press and former players don't want to krap in their own nest that stops them from writing about it

as for how did we get here . well the main selector was walking his dog on the beach instead of being at a test match.

this gives rise to the theory that the skipper is in charge of selection

as I wrote earlier ponting wouldnt scrub his old mate hayden and it stopped a new player getting tests under belt for the future.in fact hayden got 10 tests to many. then punter went for backstop for batting strength and not wicketkeeper

after the famous changeroom fight he backed MC and the kat was banished. unfortunately they got rid of a leader and kept a gimp

that is the feeling i get,,, but I had no idea that punter was so deep in this Poo as well.

I'm not an avid cricket reader these days, & I barely watch it, as interestingly in the Punter as Captain Era, I've started losing some (a lot) of interest in the game, & tune out. so this is where the tail has begun to wag the Australian test cricket dog...

IMO, players who come into (born into) a powerful Team, somehow develop a born to rule, (get out its mine) attitude to the team & the game...

this is a devastating attitude which can grow into a culture... (see mcc - MFC) Checker smashed this & Smith carried the strong culture...

speaking about leadership.

warner, the little pigface could end up being the one. he has that attitude of I might be wrong but lets do it anyway, and hes got that smartalec attitude that will upset the poms and every other team.

also we need a new start so without a leader on the horizon he could be the fill in that adds spice to the team for 3 years until new leaders appear

yeah, he seems to have that fire in the belly of "attitude" & take it on.... sort of reminds me a little of Ian Chappell in his rebel stature.

rough, but, lets see where he can take his game if he learns some lessons.

at least we have hope and future

poor old cards13 who follows cycling has no hope no future and retrospective doping to worry about

enjoy the 3rd test everybody and watch out for the smartalec warner to upset the poms

Off topic, but good to see the MCG get the rights to stage the final for the 2015 Cricket World Cup.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc-cricket-world-cup-2015/content/current/story/656365.html

Odd though that we're in the same group as New Zealand and we have to play them there! Surely they could have arranged it that we were in different groups.

Aside from New Zealand we've drawn England, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and two qualifiers, usual suspects being Netherlands, Kenya, Afghanistan, Scotland, Canada etc...

Big tournament for Ireland I reckon, if they can make a big showing and get through to the quarters or even semi finals they could mount a strong case for Test inclusion. They've got India & South Africa who you wouldn't think they'll push, but then they've got West Indies, Pakistan, Zimbabwe and another qualifier who they're certainly capable of beating on their day.

Early prediction of our World Cup 15 man squad:

David Warner

Shane Watson

Phil Hughes

Michael Clarke*

Glenn Maxwell

George Bailey

+Matthew Wade

James Faulkner

Pat Cummins

Clint McKay

Xavier Doherty

Michael Beer

Aaron Finch

Mitchell Starc

Adam Voges

Could well be a farewell international tournament for Shane Watson before he vanishes into the world of full time T20 cricketer.

Chappell wants Clarke to bat at one-drop

art-svCHAPPELL-620x349.jpg

Ian Chappell with legendary paceman Dennis Lillee at the official launch of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 in Melbourne on Tuesday. Photo: Getty Images

Former Test skipper Ian Chappell says Michael Clarke's refusal to promote himself to No.3 for the third Ashes Test is crazy. The bold move won't happen because captain Clarke is happier at No.5, despite the inexperience of his top six.

Chappell also wants the Aussies, who trail two-nil in the five-match series, to at least go down fighting if they are going to cop another defeat in Manchester in the match starting on Thursday.

"They need (David) Warner in the side but they don't need him batting at six. He should be opening but I fear he won't be," Chappell said on Tuesday. "His talents won't be entirely wasted but they'll be diluted if he bats down the order, especially at number six.

"I'd be opening with Shane Watson and Warner."

Chappell says a major problem is the key No.3 slot which is currently filled by Usman Khawaja (averaging 30.09 in seven Tests).

"Long term you've got to have a decent number three and Australia hasn't got one," Chappell said.

"I'm biased because I batted a lot of my career there but I think it's the best place in the order to bat. "I don't understand why Michael Clarke doesn't go there."

Chappell says Clarke is not a typical No.3.

"But when you haven't got one who's a prototype then your best player's got to play there," Chappell added.

'Burnt' offering: Cook puts his spin on spin-friendly pitch

England captain Alastair Cook has defended the production of what Australia believes are ''burnt'' patches on the pitch for the third Test, saying it is the host country's right to drum home its territorial advantage.

Australia arrived at Old Trafford in little doubt England was again looking to exploit its weakness against spin bowling, finding a dry, cracking pitch with a scattering of mysterious marks on it.

''It's got a handful of bare patches, which I'm unsure how they get there,'' Australian captain Michael Clarke said.

Wicketkeeper Brad Haddin was equally bemused, saying: ''It looks like it's been burnt, little bits of it. They weren't footmarks, but we know what the wickets they're going to produce are, it's not a secret.''

But Cook strongly defended the Manchester wicket, which has been re-aligned 90 degrees as part of the

redevelopment of the ground that has transformed the venue from the ugly duckling of the English circuit to an appealing mix of polish and character.

''Old Trafford is notorious for having a wicket that is not aesthetically pleasing, if I could put it that way,'' Cook said.

''But I don't think it's going to make any difference at all. I think it's actually a better looking Old Trafford wicket than normally.'' Cook said England, which has included additional spinner Monty Panesar in its 14-man squad was, as the host country, well within its rights to have a wicket prepared that suited it.

''I think that's what home advantage is,'' he said.

''It's very hard to actually just order a wicket. You can ask for a wicket … to try and suit your style of play, but it's very difficult to get it absolutely right with the weather.

''We had a month's worth of rain in three hours the other day, so that obviously changes it a lot.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket/burnt-offering-cook-puts-his-spin-on-spinfriendly-pitch-20130731-2qzma.html#ixzz2agxsDcXv

Warner, Lyon and Starc in for Hughes, Agar and Pattinson. Warner to bat an no.6. Clarke is back up to no.4.

We've won the toss and we're batting so if we play well, England will have to bat last on this wicket.

Mystery burnt pitch greets Aussies for third Test at Old Trafford as spinners expected to prosper

“It looked extremely dry and quite strange to be honest,” Clarke said. “It's got a handful of bare patches which I'm unsure how they get there. “The rest of the wicket has got a pretty good grass covering but it's dead grass. It's going to be dry, pretty flat on day one and two I would imagine, and will end up spinning."

Clarke’s deputy Brad Haddin was similarly bemused. “It’s just a bit different. It looks like it’s been burnt, little bits of it,” said Haddin. “They weren’t foot marks, but we know what the wickets they’re going to produce.

Australia:

Shane Watson

Chris Rogers

Usman Khawaja

Michael Clarke ©

Steven Smith

David Warner

Brad Haddin (W)

Peter Siddle

Mitchell Starc

Ryan Harris

Nathan Lyon

England:

Alastair Cook ©

Joe Root

Jonathan Trott

Kevin Pietersen

Ian Bell Jonathan

Bairstow Matt Prior (W)

Tim Bresnan

Stuart Broad

Graeme Swann

James Anderson

Correct decision to replace Agar with Lyon. I certainly don't think Lyon is going to magically bowl us to a victory, but I think he will not only do better than Agar (with the ball, anyway), but he deserves a crack. Warner for Hughes is much of a muchness, really. Bird's pretty unlucky to miss out, I think.

Good start so far from the openers. Some of Rogers' stroke play has been great. Obviously the key is to get a nice big platform to give the middle order something to work with, but it's been good so far.

Agree TU that Bird should consider pretty unlucky, I would have had him in my XI back for the 1st Test, but I'm sure his time will come. However as for the Lyon in for Agar, I would have stuck with Ashton as I don't think Lyon adds anything to the team.

As for the 1st session:

Lunch Day 1

Australia 2/92

C. Rogers 67*

S. Watson 19

M. Clarke 5*

G. Swann 1/3 (2)

T. Bresnan 1/18 (5)

S. Broad 0/34 (9)

A shocking call by the 3rd umpire to give Khawaja out on that review. Nothing on hotspot, the sound came early and his bat clearly hit his pad with dalight between ball and bat. If that can't get overturned by DRS then what can and there's no point having it! On a positive note though, has been great to see Rogers bat so well. Fingers crossed he can go on to make his maiden test century.

Meanwhile Australia A are really struggling without David Warner against South Africa A.

Midway through Day 2

Australia A 146

N. Maddinson 88

C. Sayers 22

S. Marsh 13

B. Hendricks 5/52 (9.5)

M. De Lange 3/45 (13)

K. Abbott 2/39 (15)

South Africa A 7/321

R. Rossouw 100*

D. Elgar 83

R. Hendricks 37

M. Marsh 2/49 (11)

C. Sayers 2/64 (28)

F. Ahmed 1/57 (14)

Going to take a super effort from Australia A to get out of trouble here! Was good to see Maddinson bat so well though. He could be a bolter for a spot in our top 6 come our home summer.

There needs to be an inquiry into the umpiring..... That was the most corrupt decision I've seen since the second test..... Which also went against the aussie..... Surely they can't get away with this!! These umpires need tobe removed.... I'd even stage a walkout....

Tea on Day 1.

Australia 3/180

C. Rogers 84

M. Clarke 55*

S. Smith 20*

G. Swann 2/37 (13)

T. Bresnan 1/38 (12)

S. Broad 0/50 (13)

It's that time of the week night that I head to bed and hope for the best for the final session. If we can get through to stumps no more then 5 or 6 down for about 300 then I think we're in a reasonable position. Not imposing position, but it's a start. Bad luck on Chris Rogers falling short of his first test century, but good to see Clarke and Smith looking steady at the crease with the likes of Warner & Haddin still to come.

Meanwhile in Africa 8 overs before stumps on Day 2.

Australia A 1st Innings 146

N. Maddinson 88

C. Sayers 22

B. Hendricks 5/52 (9.5)

M. De Lange 3/45 (13)

South Africa A 1st Innings 356

R. Rossouw 115*

D. Elgar 83

F. Ahmed 4/80 (17.4)

M. Marsh 2/56 (14)

Australia A 2nd Innings 2/79

A. Doolan 28*

S. Marsh 24

S. Harmer 1/17 (5)

K. Abbott 1/28 (6)

It's a long way back for Australia A in this one. Will need to bat all day tomorrow and probably till at least lunch on Day 4 to give themselves a chance and make about 450 odd. Pat Cummins took 1/70 off 21 overs and Fawad Ahmed's now taken 15 wickets in his last 4 innings, he's certainly putting his hand up. Let's hope Nic Maddinson and Alex Doolan can make some big scores to give us some batsmen to look forward to on the horizon.

Outstanding Captains knock by Clatke and I'm talking about LEADERSHIP with that effort.

Great support from Rogers and Smith.

Appalling stuff up with Khawaja. It's inexplicable that the 3rd umpire could not conclude the ball did not hit the bat.

Outstanding Captains knock by Clatke and I'm talking about LEADERSHIP with that effort.

Great support from Rogers and Smith.

Appalling stuff up with Khawaja. It's inexplicable that the 3rd umpire could not conclude the ball did not hit the bat.

Yeah hes finally stood up after being pushed up to 4th... after all the grewats knocked his lack of leadership in hiding away @ 5... but you keep on with your fantasies.

everyone else is wrong again, even chappell & lillee.