View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

For Sydney Based D’Landers or Those in Sydney Late August or Mid September…

Posted

This is not footy related, but has been passed by @Demonland for approval to post, and given the green light.

For those not in the know, the back story is that I’m a stage four colorectal cancer sufferer with traces in the lungs and liver. Don’t worry, being the pragmatist that I am, I’m all good with it, and certainly am not using this post (or my other in the General Discussion forum) to garner sympathy or pity… I’m a happy man… at least I was until watching last Saturday’s game against Hawthorn.

The reason I’m posting, is that I’ve been given a break from chemo which means that I’m able to perform with my band (yes, I’m in a band), albeit temporarily, so I thought I’d pass the details of our gigs on to any Sydney based D’Landers or any interstaters/out of towners who might be interested in dropping by for a bit of a look and listen, and to say hello. The music is a bit of a mash up of country, rockabilly, punk and anything else that takes our fancy.

Members of the band have performed in bands such as (you’ll need to be old to recognise these) the Lime Spiders, the Cruel Sea, Chain, Grooveyard, the Prannies, and 50 Million Beers, among others. We will also have the guitarist from both the Sunnyboys and Saints sitting in at the second gig (Butchers Brew Bar). Anyway, the following images have the details on them. Hope to see and meet, some of you there.

You may now resume normal transmission.

CB05F492-44EE-429A-93A0-5D4DCD3352DB.jpeg

C30D1A65-B1AF-4991-9A70-7D9964AD9783.png

0D0593E6-5ABD-4C2A-941C-3CCA99F69EFE.jpeg

Edited by hardtack

3 hours ago, hardtack said:

This is not footy related, but has been passed by @Demonland for approval to post, and given the green light.

For those not in the know, the back story is that I’m a stage four colorectal cancer sufferer with traces in the lungs and liver. Don’t worry, being the pragmatist that I am, I’m all good with it, and certainly am not using this post (or my other in the General Discussion forum) to garner sympathy or pity… I’m a happy man… at least I was until watching last Saturday’s game against Hawthorn.

The reason I’m posting, is that I’ve been given a break from chemo which means that I’m able to perform with my band (yes, I’m in a band), albeit temporarily, so I thought I’d pass the details of our gigs on to any Sydney based D’Landers or any interstaters/out of towners who might be interested in dropping by for a bit of a look and listen, and to say hello. The music is a bit of a mash up of country, rockabilly, punk and anything else that takes our fancy.

Members of the band have performed in bands such as (you’ll need to be old to recognise these) the Lime Spiders, the Cruel Sea, Chain, Grooveyard, the Prannies, and 50 Million Beers, among others. We will also have the guitarist from both the Sunnyboys and Saints sitting in at the second gig (Butchers Brew Bar). Anyway, the following images have the details on them. Hope to see and meet, some of you there.

Very sorry to hear about ur health hardtack and kudos for ur positive attitude.

I am not based in Sydney but good luck with the band and all the best with ur treatment in the future.

• Author
24 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

Very sorry to hear about ur health hardtack and kudos for ur positive attitude.

I am not based in Sydney but good luck with the band and all the best with ur treatment in the future.

Thanks D.O… the band is pretty much what keeps me sane, so not being able to do it for the last few months, has been a bit upsetting, but now I’ll make the most of it while I can.

12 minutes ago, hardtack said:

Thanks D.O… the band is pretty much what keeps me sane, so not being able to do it for the last few months, has been a bit upsetting, but now I’ll make the most of it while I can.

Good to have something to distract you and who knows u may be the next boy band to make it big!!

Edited by DemonOX

Phuk me @hardtack

Wishing you nothing but good things.

Will be the in spirit - I'll have a scotch or 2 down here in Melbourne. Enjoy the break from treatment - not sure but sometimes it looks like the treatment is worse than the disease. Hope its a ripper night

• Author

Thanks SB… the actual treatment is not so bad in itself, but the cumulative affect of the toxic waste they keep pouring into me each fortnight, does tend to wear me out. I’ve been doing this now, for a total of 12 months, spread over almost 2 years.

The gigs should be very good… I’ve just been offered a third gig now, at the beginning of October, so things are looking good musically.

• Author
27 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

Good to have something to distract you and who knows u may be the next boy band to make it big!!

We might just be the first boy band to comprise a bunch of guys in their second childhood.

Would love to be there mate...it's going to be a blast.

There's nothing like getting out there and playing music with good people.

Enjoy!

• Author
1 hour ago, rjay said:

Would love to be there mate...it's going to be a blast.

There's nothing like getting out there and playing music with good people.

Enjoy!

Yes! My family love it too, because it means I’m not there 😉

Hardtack, mate. You’re a bloody legend. Takes great bravery to face such adversity head on and not complain.

Rock on man!

• Author
11 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Hardtack, mate. You’re a bloody legend. Takes great bravery to face such adversity head on and not complain.

Rock on man!

Thanks, but not even close to being a legend… there are plenty of others doing it a hell of a lot tougher than I am. I don’t complain because I’m essentially a pragmatist 😁

But sincerely, I do appreciate your kind words.

Not too much to say really, so sorry that you have the condition and congratulations for your approach.

Music is the greatest antidote for most issues. One of my major regrets is not learning any music. I have accepted and embraced my role as an audience and have invested heavily in live music over my lifetime.

The guitarist from the Saints that I revered was Ed Kueper, is he playing with you. Would love to hear him. Last saw him in Adelaide and thought it might be his last gig. He was anchored behind a keyboard and dispensed his musical ability fantastically.

On 20/08/2025 at 17:02, hardtack said:

Hope you get a great turnout for the gig on Sunday 'hardtack', wouldn't miss it if I was in Sydney.

Enjoy!

• Author
4 hours ago, rjay said:

Hope you get a great turnout for the gig on Sunday 'hardtack', wouldn't miss it if I was in Sydney.

Enjoy!

Thanks so much mate!

So far our event page on Farcebook is showing about 120 going or interested, so hopefully it might end up being a reasonable crowd… but I’d still love to see (and meet) a few Sydney Demons coming along. It’s free entry which makes it affordable for all!!

• Author
On 21/08/2025 at 12:20, dpositive said:

Not too much to say really, so sorry that you have the condition and congratulations for your approach.

Music is the greatest antidote for most issues. One of my major regrets is not learning any music. I have accepted and embraced my role as an audience and have invested heavily in live music over my lifetime.

The guitarist from the Saints that I revered was Ed Kueper, is he playing with you. Would love to hear him. Last saw him in Adelaide and thought it might be his last gig. He was anchored behind a keyboard and dispensed his musical ability fantastically.

Sorry to be so late in replying (I got no notification). Firstly, thanks for your kind wishes. Secondly, yes, music is a great antidote for everything that is going wrong. I’ve been involved in bands for over fifty years now (first gigs in Werribee in 1972), and have never lost my love of it… whether it be performing, practicing or or just simply throwing on some headphones and listening to it.

Like you, I’ve spent a lifetime attending gigs and that has helped me in musical pursuits, enabling me to connect with musicians I’ve been watching. The guitarist from the Saints who sits in with us is not the original, that was Ed Kuepper… the person who plays with us occasionally is Richard Burgman, who played with the version of the Saints that had the late Janine Hall on bass (she was another friend from the music circle that I mixed with when I first moved to Sydney and lived in Darlinghurst). Richard was also the guitarist with The Sunnyboys. Our regular guitarist/pedal steel player is a guy named Ged Corben, who played guitar with The Lime Spiders way back in the day, and was later a founding member of The Cruel Sea… they started as an instrumentals band.

I saw The Aints which is Ed Kuepper’s band and they were fantastic! He’s still doing shows in various guises, so I’m sure you’d be able to catch him somewhere around Melbourne at some time.

Well certainly some musical legacy there. Yes Sunny boys, Lime Spiders, and Cruel Sea. All seen somewhere some times ago.

We were blessed in Melbourne having a choice of numerous great bands every night of the week. All played at the numerous pubs in town and most cost less than an ounce of dope.

I last saw the Cruel Sea when they supported The Stones at the MCG and Tex and the band were outstanding on what was a remarkable night . I gained anew respect for the Stones especially Keef who was the maestro conductor.

Im in the country now but Tanswells in Beechworth is a well known stopover for bands on an inland tour. If theres a chance the Aints might be there then so will I.

. Our Airbnb house Lochwood Cottage ( you can look it up there0 can take a band (sleeps 8) with 3 bed rooms . It was offered in the Melbourne members raffle but dont believe its been taken up yet. Beechworth is also a great place to reflect, refresh and recuperate.

I would be happy to offer you a special deal if it could help you through your current condition and treatment. Give me a call on 0448110212 to make arrangements. It would be great to share some wine and music tales with you.

On 20/08/2025 at 20:32, hardtack said:

Dees can't have helped with keeping you sane this year HT. All the very best with the gig and the treatment. It sounds like a great line-up with your crew. Wish I was in Sydney for it.

Nonetheless Hardtack you have my sympathy.

I wish you all the best in your treatment. I applaud your courage and wish you a great outcome.

• Author
10 hours ago, dpositive said:

Well certainly some musical legacy there. Yes Sunny boys, Lime Spiders, and Cruel Sea. All seen somewhere some times ago.

We were blessed in Melbourne having a choice of numerous great bands every night of the week. All played at the numerous pubs in town and most cost less than an ounce of dope.

I last saw the Cruel Sea when they supported The Stones at the MCG and Tex and the band were outstanding on what was a remarkable night . I gained anew respect for the Stones especially Keef who was the maestro conductor.

Im in the country now but Tanswells in Beechworth is a well known stopover for bands on an inland tour. If theres a chance the Aints might be there then so will I.

. Our Airbnb house Lochwood Cottage ( you can look it up there0 can take a band (sleeps 8) with 3 bed rooms . It was offered in the Melbourne members raffle but dont believe its been taken up yet. Beechworth is also a great place to reflect, refresh and recuperate.

I would be happy to offer you a special deal if it could help you through your current condition and treatment. Give me a call on 0448110212 to make arrangements. It would be great to share some wine and music tales with you.

Thanks for the offer DP, I’ll definitely give that some consideration if I can talk the rest of the band into a trip down that way (or even my son, if it’s not for music related reasons). I think we chatted about Beechworth a while back as friends of mine moved there some time back… Steve Burrell and his partner Debbie, and guitarist Jeff Mercer. Should you leave your mobile number exposed here, or is that a business number?

Yes, Melbourne was always the music centre and up until I left for Sydney in 1979, with inordinate amounts of time spent at the Station Hotel, the Tiger Room and Tiger Lounge, the Kingston Hotel, the London Tavern and the Crystal Ballroom.

As for Ged’s time in the Cruel Sea, he and his brother started it as an instrumentals band, so when Tex Perkins came along, he decided to call it quits and filled in time with a ‘tribute’ band of sorts, called the Green Spiders who had a Melbourne based frontman, Ripley Hood.

Hope to catch up in the not too distant future.

• Author
4 hours ago, Roger Mellie said:

Dees can't have helped with keeping you sane this year HT. All the very best with the gig and the treatment. It sounds like a great line-up with your crew. Wish I was in Sydney for it.

Haha… very true Rog! But I pride myself on my ability to sit through an entire season of that rubbish, without necking myself.

Thanks for your best wishes… I’m looking forward to the gig and whether I can make it through to the end.

Have just booked AFLW tickets for this Saturday, to watch the daughter of a family friend run out for the Giants against Kuwarna. We're excited to head to your gig after the match, @hardtack , and enjoy your music! Hope you're enjoying the break between treatments and that your health continues to improve 🤩

• Author
2 hours ago, Previously known as LITD. said:

Nonetheless Hardtack you have my sympathy.

I wish you all the best in your treatment. I applaud your courage and wish you a great outcome.

Thanks so much for your best wishes PKaL!! It’s maybe a bit odd, but I’ve never really considered myself to be courageous (or any of those other superlatives), as I just go about my life as best I can and whenever I reflect on my condition, I usually consider how lucky I’ve been compared to so many others… it’s my inner pragmatist 😉

I think this break I’m on for the next couple of months, is a great outcome, and if it gets extended like it did early last year, then break out the party favours!! 😉

Again, thanks for your kind words.

• Author
7 minutes ago, DeelightfulPlay said:

Have just booked AFLW tickets for this Saturday, to watch the daughter of a family friend run out for the Giants against Kuwarna. We're excited to head to your gig after the match, @hardtack , and enjoy your music! Hope you're enjoying the break between treatments and that your health continues to improve 🤩

Our gig this week is on the Sunday from 4’ish, so you’ll have plenty of time to head over to the gig after Saturday’s game 😉 if you do make it along, please make sure you say hello… I’ll be the guy wearing a beanie and sitting down while singing 🤣