FearTheBeard 1,234 Posted April 20, 2024 Posted April 20, 2024 (edited) Ticket sales in the public reserve are doing really well now. Ponsford level 4 looks like it will be all sold out well before the game on Wednesday. MCC is a disaster, they sold out the available level 4 seats this morning, but because its the weekend they havent released any more and wont do so until Monday 8am. Wonder how many people are going to look to try reserve across the two day weekend in the lead up to the game. FWIW MCC level 4 is only around 65% sold. Edited April 20, 2024 by FearTheBeard Quote
FearTheBeard 1,234 Posted April 22, 2024 Posted April 22, 2024 Updated expected GA areas for Wednesday: Ponsford: None Olympic: None Shane Warne: Q1-Q12 rows P-DD AFL Reserve: Q15 1/2-Q22 rows U-DD, Q23-Q28 rows K-DD (Expect this to be opened up to public on the night) MCC walk up areas: Usual level 1, 2 and 3 areas as well as as Q37-Q48 rows DD-MM (first time Anzac eve has had potential level 4 walkup in the MCC since 2017) 1 2 Quote
FearTheBeard 1,234 Posted April 23, 2024 Posted April 23, 2024 GA areas are: Q1-Q3 rows T-DD. Yes, that is all. afl reserve is going to be opened up on the night Quote
roy11 4,076 Posted April 23, 2024 Posted April 23, 2024 On 22/04/2024 at 13:32, FearTheBeard said: Updated expected GA areas for Wednesday: Ponsford: None Olympic: None Shane Warne: Q1-Q12 rows P-DD AFL Reserve: Q15 1/2-Q22 rows U-DD, Q23-Q28 rows K-DD (Expect this to be opened up to public on the night) MCC walk up areas: Usual level 1, 2 and 3 areas as well as as Q37-Q48 rows DD-MM (first time Anzac eve has had potential level 4 walkup in the MCC since 2017) Thanks for the update. Never know what time to get there to try snap a Seat on Level 3 MCC. Mate bailed on me so will be a Nigel, he's a tigers fan so maybe i am better off alone? Quote
FearTheBeard 1,234 Posted April 23, 2024 Posted April 23, 2024 13 minutes ago, roy11 said: Thanks for the update. Never know what time to get there to try snap a Seat on Level 3 MCC. Mate bailed on me so will be a Nigel, he's a tigers fan so maybe i am better off alone? For level 3 MCC I reckon you’ll be able to get a single seat an hour before the game easily. Quote
Dee Zephyr 19,311 Posted April 23, 2024 Posted April 23, 2024 11 hours ago, FearTheBeard said: GA areas are: Q1-Q3 rows T-DD. Yes, that is all. afl reserve is going to be opened up on the night What crowd are you predicting FTB? Quote
FearTheBeard 1,234 Posted April 23, 2024 Posted April 23, 2024 1 hour ago, Dee Zephyr said: What crowd are you predicting FTB? The MCC are predicting 78K. im a little less, weather this morning will turn a few away as well. Reckon 70-75 sort of range. Very much depends on how empty the Richmond reserved areas are. Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,547 Posted April 23, 2024 Posted April 23, 2024 (edited) 13 hours ago, FearTheBeard said: GA areas are: Q1-Q3 rows T-DD. Yes, that is all. afl reserve is going to be opened up on the night I get the need to maximise crowds but at the same time I’m not 100% onboard with the MCG opening up the AFL members to the public at GA prices, given AFL members pay for the privilege of prime seating. I can remember pre COVID they wouldn’t allow you to sneak a mate into the AFL reserve to some random Melbourne V Freo game. Now anyone can sit in the reserve. Edited April 23, 2024 by Bring-Back-Powell Quote
FearTheBeard 1,234 Posted April 23, 2024 Posted April 23, 2024 25 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: I get the need to maximise crowds but at the same time I’m not 100% onboard with the MCG opening up the AFL members to the public at GA prices, given AFL members pay for the privilege of prime seating. I can remember pre COVID they wouldn’t allow you to sneak a mate into the AFL reserve to some random Melbourne V Freo game. Now anyone can sit in the reserve. as an AFL member myself, I am completely fine with it if: Level 1, 2 and 2a are not diluted it is only opened up on the night if the rest of the ground is completely full They make it clear to AFL members that this is going to happen and if members want to revolt, they can. Its most likely a lot of Melbourne home/away access members are going to be the people that are let in Remember the MCC gives up Q37-Q40 to the Public for pretty much all non-Melbourne games these days 2 Quote
RedLegs23 1,139 Posted April 23, 2024 Posted April 23, 2024 45 minutes ago, FearTheBeard said: The MCC are predicting 78K. im a little less, weather this morning will turn a few away as well. Reckon 70-75 sort of range. Very much depends on how empty the Richmond reserved areas are. Yeah it’ll be chili tonight FTB, but there’ll be no rain. Would be pretty sad if people are turned off by the cooler conditions. Should be a ripping night of footy. If anything, it’ll be the poor form of the tiges that will have the crowd a bit unders tonight. Turn up Dees! 🔴🔵 2 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted April 23, 2024 Posted April 23, 2024 14 hours ago, roy11 said: Thanks for the update. Never know what time to get there to try snap a Seat on Level 3 MCC. Mate bailed on me so will be a Nigel, he's a tigers fan so maybe i am better off alone? Same deal for me. Will likely give up and head straight to Level 4 though. Quote
roy11 4,076 Posted April 23, 2024 Posted April 23, 2024 28 minutes ago, layzie said: Same deal for me. Will likely give up and head straight to Level 4 though. If i cant secure Seating on 2 or 3 I just go down and stand in one of the terraces at the back of Level 1, do enjoy leaning against the railing with a tin in my hand ha Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted April 23, 2024 Posted April 23, 2024 2 minutes ago, roy11 said: If i cant secure Seating on 2 or 3 I just go down and stand in one of the terraces at the back of Level 1, do enjoy leaning against the railing with a tin in my hand ha Oh if you get a railing it's fantastic! Had to go 3 'standing rows' deep for the Carlton final last year with a bad ankle, could have used that railing support. Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,547 Posted April 24, 2024 Posted April 24, 2024 4 hours ago, FearTheBeard said: as an AFL member myself, I am completely fine with it if: Level 1, 2 and 2a are not diluted it is only opened up on the night if the rest of the ground is completely full They make it clear to AFL members that this is going to happen and if members want to revolt, they can. Its most likely a lot of Melbourne home/away access members are going to be the people that are let in Remember the MCC gives up Q37-Q40 to the Public for pretty much all non-Melbourne games these days All fair points, particular if the remainder of the ground is full. It’s just a bit annoying that pre COVID they always had someone at the gate checking to see that nobody from the public would be sneaking into the AFL reserve and you basically had to beg and steal for your MCC mate to come into the reserve with you. Now any old “Joe” can help themselves into the reserve. I’d also point out that guests are getting ripped off by paying double the price for a guest pass into the AFL reserve while some bloke who paid $28 GA is permitted cross over into the AFL and get prime seats on the wing, on level 1, 2A or 4. That’s a post COVID loophole that should be looked at IMO. Quote
FearTheBeard 1,234 Posted April 24, 2024 Posted April 24, 2024 37 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: All fair points, particular if the remainder of the ground is full. It’s just a bit annoying that pre COVID they always had someone at the gate checking to see that nobody from the public would be sneaking into the AFL reserve and you basically had to beg and steal for your MCC mate to come into the reserve with you. Now any old “Joe” can help themselves into the reserve. I’d also point out that guests are getting ripped off by paying double the price for a guest pass into the AFL reserve while some bloke who paid $28 GA is permitted cross over into the AFL and get prime seats on the wing, on level 1, 2A or 4. That’s a post COVID loophole that should be looked at IMO. So we always sit on 2A in the AFL, usually in P21 but if we are playing an interstate side or North/St Kilda we will sit in the unused medallion club P16-P20. I also have my Redlegs seats in P7 and since Covid i have been able to move in and out the AFL with no questions asked. Quote
Bonkers 994 Posted April 24, 2024 Posted April 24, 2024 2 minutes ago, FearTheBeard said: So we always sit on 2A in the AFL, usually in P21 but if we are playing an interstate side or North/St Kilda we will sit in the unused medallion club P16-P20. I also have my Redlegs seats in P7 and since Covid i have been able to move in and out the AFL with no questions asked. What time do we find out when the AFL reserve will be opened up to GA and what bays do they usually allocate for GA on the night? Quote
FearTheBeard 1,234 Posted April 24, 2024 Posted April 24, 2024 (edited) 3 minutes ago, Bonkers said: What time do we find out when the AFL reserve will be opened up to GA and what bays do they usually allocate for GA on the night? From my understanding it happened in 2017 and 2023 when the GA areas in the Public reserve were full, usually just before the bounce. The AFL reserve general Admission areas for tonight are: Q15 1/2-Q23 Rows U-DD Q24-Q28 Rows K-DD They will basically let people sit anywhere in those AFL GA areas as long as its not yet full. But first have to exhaust the normal GA areas which I think are going to be extended to Q1-Q7 rows T-DD Edited April 24, 2024 by FearTheBeard Quote
danielE288 781 Posted April 24, 2024 Posted April 24, 2024 I've got a GA AFL members ticket cheap if anyone wants it Quote