Posted

I've got my views on the game plan but would like input from others...if you can be ar$ed. 

Overall Description (how would you describe the gameplan with a mate at the pub)

• Contested
  • overload the f50

Strengths

• Contested posession
  • I50's

Weaknesses

• Two way running
  • No leg pace on the outside
  • transitions currently poor
  • spread currently poor
  • keeping ball in F50
  • cohesion b/w back and mids
  • forward line functioning
  • wide ball movement currently poor

Opportunity

• return of key personnel
  • fitness increasing as season progresses
  • cohesion through direct experience of playing as a unit...

Threats

• fitness decreasing as season progresses

Posted

Reminds me of when l worked.

Bad thread.

Posted

Weakness or threat....FIIK.

Gawn and Weed are good overhead marks.  When windy (Port & Geel) or wet (Geel), their one-wood is gone.  We are left with sluggishness for ground balls, and minimal defensive pressure.

In the dry, Gawn and Weed are big strengths, particularly Gawn.  In the wet, Gawn becomes average and Weed becomes below average.

Joel Smith has massive upside and can address a lot of our deficiencies.

Posted

You can stick this SWOT 'edu-speak' nonsense and gibberish up your clacker.

It's as plain as day what our weaknesses are.

Too many players flying for marks. Half ars...d efforts to chase and apply pressure to opponents.

Lack of patience with the pill in hand.

Bombing the ball to an outnumber ( when we are outnumbered )

Hand balling into congestion. failing to honour leads. Failing to stick most tackles because the opponents not sufficiently impeded or their arms are free.

Coaches not sufficiently proactive to counter oppo tactics.

Opponents roving to the spot Maxy is hitting the ball to.

Posted

Injury has to be added as a threat. It's the same threat for all teams, but nevertheless, can't be ignored because it affects each team differently.

And I don't know whether to put this one in weaknesses or threats but "Confidence". When teams lose, players react differently, but many will start to worry that (a) they are letting the team down and/or (b) their spot in the team is not secure. Either way, a loss of confidence means players play differently.

I like the thread, by the way.

Posted
2 minutes ago, pineapple dee said:

You can stick this SWOT 'edu-speak' nonsense and gibberish up your clacker.

It's as plain as day what our weaknesses are.

Too many players flying for marks. Half ars...d efforts to chase and apply pressure to opponents.

Lack of patience with the pill in hand.

Bombing the ball to an outnumber ( when we are outnumbered )

Hand balling into congestion. failing to honour leads. Failing to stick most tackles because the opponents not sufficiently impeded or their arms are free.

Coaches not sufficiently proactive to counter oppo tactics.

Opponents roving to the spot Maxy is hitting the ball to.

So, you don't like SWOT 'edu-speak' and then list a whole group of Weaknesses and Threats. And one Opportunity.

Posted
4 minutes ago, TGR said:

"Moving forward" this thread should only include insecure middle-management employer speak.

SWOT analysis is very 1990s. But it's also a bit of fun and allows people to categorise what they see as positives and negatives in the current gameplan. And whether they call it a SWOT analysis or not, I'd be astounded if our coaches weren't doing exactly this in what is universally known as the post-game "review". 

Posted
5 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

So, you don't like SWOT 'edu-speak' and then list a whole group of Weaknesses and Threats. And one Opportunity.

yeah but i was just making the observations without some stupid acronym to preface it.

Posted
Just now, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

SWOT analysis is very 1990s. But it's also a bit of fun and allows people to categorise what they see as positives and negatives in the current gameplan. And whether they call it a SWOT analysis or not, I'd be astounded if our coaches weren't doing exactly this in what is universally known as the post-game "review". 

They are using Trello

Posted

I appreciate the support of what this thread is about @La Dee-vina Comedia.

I for one wanted a concise space to come to make sense of what the team does, strategy wise - and I appreciate everyone has their points of view...and many many views are far more forensic than the levels I get to myself.

Nonetheless if the language used feels too cliched or simply [censored]'s you, you don't have to engage in the thread...  

I have no idea what Trello is either...

Posted

Threat and weakness = fragility of confidence.

strength and opportunity = return and stability of confidence. 

Our perceived lack of intent, contested dominance, lack of speed and skill errors all come from this. An off-season is a looooong time in footy. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, Webber said:

Threat and weakness = fragility of confidence.

strength and opportunity = return and stability of confidence. 

Our perceived lack of intent, contested dominance, lack of speed and skill errors all come from this. An off-season is a looooong time in footy. 

I should get hypnotized.  I might then be able to beat Usain Bolt.

Lack of speed is lack of speed; nothing to do with psychobabble.

Posted
33 minutes ago, TGR said:

I should get hypnotized.  I might then be able to beat Usain Bolt.

Lack of speed is lack of speed; nothing to do with psychobabble.

And that’s not an oversimplification at all. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, Webber said:

And that’s not an oversimplification at all. 

I'll give you under-simplification then.

If a tiger or a lion is chasing you, I don't think you gunna be super-confident, and feeling dandy.  But I reckon, you are going to run a PB.

Posted
2 hours ago, TGR said:

Joel Smith has massive upside and can address a lot of our deficiencies.

To me Smith is still a lot like Frost...

Athlete not a footballer, he's done nothing yet to show me he will address a lot of our deficiencies.

When used as a forward last season his running patterns were poor and he ended up competing with teammates for the same ball.

We have this same problem now, he will not fix it only add to it unless he can learn to create space for himself.

He does have the pace to seperate himself from his opponent I just don't think he has the game sense to be able to do it.

...and while we're on speed, which you seem so hung up about.

Speed in football is not just about straight line pace. Frost, Smith & Hunt have it but none are good quality AFL players, probably all decent VFL players.

Speed in football is a lot to do with quick and accurate ball movement, and quickness of mind to make decisions.

Of course it helps to have a line breaker or two but it's not the be all and end all, you can cut the lines with smart ball movement.

At the moment our ball movement is poor and our folly of getting sucked into the contest is killing us.

It's not outside speed that's killing us, it's spread. The Opposition don't have everyone at the ball, they have a good balance with a nice spread on the outside.

Posted
2 hours ago, TGR said:

oel Smith has massive upside and can address a lot of our deficiencies.

Very promising is Joel, rather than possessing '...a massive upside...' but we can all imagine that with him in the side how much stronger we may well have performed against both Port and the Cats. Preuss is needed as a prop and leading *straight line* forward whilst TMac is thrown back to fullback for a few weeks until May is fitter. Put May into the fwd line for a few runs, Petracca out on a wing and Hibberd on the other in a utility role to penetrate the forward entries. Drop OMac. Coaches, get to work and translate that thought into monosyllables that the players can understand. 

Posted
2 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

WAFTAM - Waste of F Time and Money. Sums up the past 12 months.