Away clash strip

Posted

IPB Image

Mero on BF knocked up this design as an alternate strip, any comments? I personally think it is excellent.

• Author

friggen sick, just get rid of the sponsers and i'll wear it out ;)

Your odds of picking up in a night club in a footy jumper are about roughly the same as picking up while hanging out on an AFL forum at 11pm on a Friday night. ZERO :D

It looks good.

I didn't mind the training jumper we had a few years back with the 'flaming demon' similar to the one pictured, and a mostly navy/grey design.

I'm no fashion expert, but I'd suggest that Byron's... excess, shall we say... will only be axacerbated by this outfit. I'm not sure I'd want our more rotund players looking as though they'd been on a good paddock over the break. Having said that, aside from that one criticism it does look awesome. I'd love to get a few ideas rolling around, I've always thought that, unlike some clubs (Hawthorn, Freo, Adelaide) the red and blue in its traditional form really lends itself to variations such as these. And I reckon the flaming "M" demon is a great symbol for the club. Whoever came up with that one should be recruited to design another away gurnsey, if they haven't already been recruited.

PS, I appreciate the touch of making it Moloney's number.

My one misgiving about the design is the Demon face logo. I'd like to see it looking a bit more ferocious. The one on the logo looks a little bored. He needs some sharp nasty looking fangs or something!

That's sick.

I'd buy one of those.

Your odds of picking up in a night club in a footy jumper are about roughly the same as picking up while hanging out on an AFL forum at 11pm on a Friday night. ZERO :D

Unless you actually play for Melbourne, I suggest you stay out of Melbourne gear when not attending games.

I like the jumper, but I'd hate to be a red-head and have to wear that jumper. Bater will look like a giant 'stop sign' :lol:

I like it, but it defeats the purpose of a clash jumper. The whole point is to make a jumper that does not clash with the teams our home jumper clashes with (Essendon, Carlton, Freo). It is fine against Carlton and Freo as they don't have much red, but I think it will still clash with Essendon (like our current one does).

The clash is based on colour so it doesn't seem to make much sense to create an alternate design but with the same colours.

Richmond's is a joke and I'm sure Essendon's will be one too.

IPB Image

Mero on BF knocked up this design as an alternate strip, any comments? I personally think it is excellent.

OK by me.

i like it

as a alternative to this i remember (i think it was dandenong) that had a white jumper with a red and blue v and i thought that was cool, of course this was about 15 odd years ago

I will look DYNAMITE in that strip, come ot think of it, who wouldn't look mint in such a sick outfit?

Even Mark Holden could pick up a chick wearing that jumper!

I love it....maybe change the logo to the official melbournefc {current} Otherwise - PERFECT!

Who said anything about picking up? I've worn my other pre season tops out, I think I may even be getting a reputation of some kind.

So what I'm saying, is i'll wear this, out. *pun here*

• 2 months later...
Who said anything about picking up? I've worn my other pre season tops out, I think I may even be getting a reputation of some kind.

So what I'm saying, is i'll wear this, out. *pun here*

There's an item in the news about the Bulldogs' alternative strip being leaked illegally on BF.

What's happened with ours?

Just about the same as your chances hanging around big footy!

Sorry, but it's been done. Many many years ago, prior to meeting the girl i'll be marrying, after a bulldogs/demons game at the dome I was crawling through some bars in Fitzroy where I was still in my melbourne jumper, Royal blue and red scarf from the 80's, and demons cap. My mate was in a doggies jumper. We went into the next bar where we met a bunch of american girls. Both of us picked up an american girl each. We later found out this bar was a gay bar too, so we are now able to say that we picked up girls in a gay bar, wearing footy jumpers.

My god. You must be hung like a donkey....

Sorry, but it's been done. Many many years ago, prior to meeting the girl i'll be marrying, after a bulldogs/demons game at the dome I was crawling through some bars in Fitzroy where I was still in my melbourne jumper, Royal blue and red scarf from the 80's, and demons cap. My mate was in a doggies jumper. We went into the next bar where we met a bunch of american girls. Both of us picked up an american girl each. We later found out this bar was a gay bar too, so we are now able to say that we picked up girls in a gay bar, wearing footy jumpers.

are you sure they were chicks :lol:

MelbPSMero.gif

I think the demon could look more ferocious. There's plenty of concepts around of mythical "demons" that would scare the pants off the opposition more than this limp fellow. He just looks glum rather than angry.

I also think more could be done graphically with the shapes and contrast between the red and blue to look like flames. At the moment they just look like waves. Our current clash strip has better graphic elements.